Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Treasury and Cavalry  (Read 258 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

majiponi

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 719
  • Respect: +620
    • View Profile
Treasury and Cavalry
« on: June 30, 2022, 06:14:28 am »
+2

One Japanese player told me.

play 5 Treasuries
buy and gain a Cavalry
topdeck those Treasuries
play them again
play Cavalry as Horse

infinite coins

Is it a correct behavior?
Logged

Ingix

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 295
  • Shuffle iT Username: Ingix
  • Respect: +390
    • View Profile
Re: Treasury and Cavalry
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2022, 07:31:54 am »
+2

Sounds legit.
Logged

mxdata

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1078
  • Respect: +1206
    • View Profile
Re: Treasury and Cavalry
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2022, 11:10:23 am »
0

One Japanese player told me.

play 5 Treasuries
buy and gain a Cavalry
topdeck those Treasuries
play them again
play Cavalry as Horse

infinite coins

Is it a correct behavior?

Would work better with Villa, but yes, that does seem to be valid. And while this particular combo wouldn't come up very often, Villa/Cavalry + Treasury with any kind of draw in your hand would allow you to play your Treasuries multiple times

Which makes me wonder why Treasury was changed from "at the end of your turn" to "at the end of your buy phase"

That errata on Treasury, I just realized, means also that it doesn't work nearly as well with Changeling, since you can't trash a Changeling for a Treasury unless you don't topdeck it
« Last Edit: June 30, 2022, 11:18:50 am by mxdata »
Logged
They/them

vidicate

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 148
  • Shuffle iT Username: vidicate
  • Something clever goes here
  • Respect: +110
    • View Profile
Re: Treasury and Cavalry
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2022, 11:11:33 am »
+1

Damn, Seaside 2E be cwazy. Put Seaway or Peasant in the kingdom, slap a +Buy token on Cavalry (or Treasury), and buy the whole supply. Yeet!
Logged
WHERE ARE THE TURTLES?!!! …WHERE ARE THEY?!
-----
Felix: Let's see if you guys are as good as they say.
Grif: Prepare to be sorely disappointed.
-----
Who da man? I da man. I always suspected. -Dr. House

vidicate

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 148
  • Shuffle iT Username: vidicate
  • Something clever goes here
  • Respect: +110
    • View Profile
Re: Treasury and Cavalry
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2022, 11:23:56 am »
0

One Japanese player told me.

play 5 Treasuries
buy and gain a Cavalry
topdeck those Treasuries
play them again
play Cavalry as Horse

infinite coins

Is it a correct behavior?

Would work better with Villa, but yes, that does seem to be valid. And while this particular combo wouldn't come up very often, Villa/Cavalry + Treasury with any kind of draw in your hand would allow you to play your Treasuries multiple times

Which makes me wonder why Treasury was changed from "at the end of your turn" to "at the end of your buy phase"

I assume the described method is with an empty deck, so that you draw the Cavalry, and Way of the Horse is also implied. I couldn’t figure an easy way to do infinite coin with Villa substituting for Cavalry. You need the Buys, which you won’t get if you WotH, and otherwise you need a way to not empty the Villa pile. There are of course ways to do it with Villa, but I’m dubious about your claim of it “working better” than the Cavalry+WotH method.
Logged
WHERE ARE THE TURTLES?!!! …WHERE ARE THEY?!
-----
Felix: Let's see if you guys are as good as they say.
Grif: Prepare to be sorely disappointed.
-----
Who da man? I da man. I always suspected. -Dr. House

mxdata

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1078
  • Respect: +1206
    • View Profile
Re: Treasury and Cavalry
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2022, 12:13:08 pm »
+1

One Japanese player told me.

play 5 Treasuries
buy and gain a Cavalry
topdeck those Treasuries
play them again
play Cavalry as Horse

infinite coins

Is it a correct behavior?

Would work better with Villa, but yes, that does seem to be valid. And while this particular combo wouldn't come up very often, Villa/Cavalry + Treasury with any kind of draw in your hand would allow you to play your Treasuries multiple times

Which makes me wonder why Treasury was changed from "at the end of your turn" to "at the end of your buy phase"

I assume the described method is with an empty deck, so that you draw the Cavalry, and Way of the Horse is also implied. I couldn’t figure an easy way to do infinite coin with Villa substituting for Cavalry. You need the Buys, which you won’t get if you WotH, and otherwise you need a way to not empty the Villa pile. There are of course ways to do it with Villa, but I’m dubious about your claim of it “working better” than the Cavalry+WotH method.

Oh, you're right of course, you'd need the +buy from Cavalry for that trick, I somehow overlooked that and was just looking at Villa going straight to your hand as opposed to Cavalry
Logged
They/them
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.061 seconds with 21 queries.