Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Exception to the rule  (Read 4723 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jotheonah

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 989
  • Respect: +948
    • View Profile
Exception to the rule
« on: March 30, 2012, 01:42:34 am »
0

Can you think of a situation where you have two treasure maps in hand and all the actions you need, but choose not to activate them?

The one that actually happened to me was a city stack game where I was workshopping maps for lack of a better second pile and then trashing them, but I already had plenty of Gold and I figured only buying 1 province (rather than drawing my whole deck) would actually feel like a waste of a turn.
Logged
"I know old meta, and joth is useless day 1 but awesome town day 3 and on." --Teproc

He/him

ftl

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2056
  • Shuffle iT Username: ftl
  • Respect: +1344
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 02:27:51 am »
0

Perhaps when you'd Rather play a Tactician (your hand is Tac, TM, TM) to aim for a mega-turn next turn rather than gaining four golds and having a one-colony turn next turn. Or, on a related note, when you would rather discard-for-benefit (Cellar, Warehouse, Secret Chamber) or trash for benefit (Salvager, Bishop, Upgrade, Remake, Remodel), possibly because the game is ending this turn and you don't have the draw power to draw the golds from the top of your deck.

Obviously, one answer is When golds would run out, and you don't want to end the game yet.

Hmm, just looked at your answer. I guess it's sort of like the first thing I said, but without the Tactician since your deck is good enough without it.
Logged

Davio

  • 2012 Dutch Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4784
  • Respect: +3401
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 03:58:56 am »
0

Well, obviously there are a lot of answers in the form of: You don't want to mess up your deck.

For example: there is 1 Colony left, you have Venture in hand and need to draw a Platinum which you know you would draw if you wouldn't put the Golds on top.

It could even be that you know your opponent's hand has something like KC-Smugglers (you played a Bureaucrat or Cutpurse to see it) and he needs the Golds more than you do. He could have a Watchtower in hand and some Margraves/Councilrooms or something to get lots of $ with lots of Buys and potentially end the game.
Logged

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea

Ozle

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3625
  • Sorry, this text is personal.
  • Respect: +3357
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2012, 08:32:05 am »
0

When you would rather have your combo next trun
Your 7 points behind, you know your deck is full of grand markets and Markets and other cool stuff.

Putting the 4 golds on top will only give you one buy, theres only one province left so you cant buy that. However, liklihood is that if you have 5 cards you'll kick off your combo.


Or of course you have just put cards back on your deck with that remodel style card and you really want to draw both (Throne Room/Goons or something)
Logged
Try the Ozle Google Map Challenge!
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=7466.0

Sullying players Enjoyment of Innovation since 2013 Apparently!

jotheonah

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 989
  • Respect: +948
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2012, 11:51:44 pm »
0

Don't forget though, an ideal solution will also explain why you have two maps in your deck anyway if you're not going to use them.
Logged
"I know old meta, and joth is useless day 1 but awesome town day 3 and on." --Teproc

He/him

ftl

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2056
  • Shuffle iT Username: ftl
  • Respect: +1344
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2012, 02:18:17 am »
0

Generic answer to that: Opponent's swindler.
Logged

jomini

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1053
  • Respect: +758
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2012, 11:19:21 am »
0

My simplest solution:

I have two upgrades in hand and upgrading both maps to dukes gets me 16 points. Maps are the only 4's on the board and I've been upgrading my silvers to maps to duchies.
Logged

pst

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 584
  • Respect: +906
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2012, 12:13:53 pm »
+1

Or you're ending the game this turn anyway, so who cares about that Gold. But those Treasure Maps are good for your Fairgrounds or Vineyards.
Logged

Ozle

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3625
  • Sorry, this text is personal.
  • Respect: +3357
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2012, 06:58:20 pm »
+1

Don't forget though, an ideal solution will also explain why you have two maps in your deck anyway if you're not going to use them.

Because you decided to try for treasure maps early but it never worked and you gave up. Works for evey deck type!
Logged
Try the Ozle Google Map Challenge!
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=7466.0

Sullying players Enjoyment of Innovation since 2013 Apparently!

DG

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4074
  • Respect: +2623
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2012, 07:50:13 pm »
0

Throne + salvager in hand.
Logged

jotheonah

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 989
  • Respect: +948
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2012, 07:52:07 pm »
0

Throne + salvager in hand.

Late game, definitely. Early game, the Gold might be preferable.
Logged
"I know old meta, and joth is useless day 1 but awesome town day 3 and on." --Teproc

He/him

jimjam

  • Moneylender
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 172
  • Respect: +57
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2012, 04:13:51 am »
+1

You know your opponent has possession. Simple and realistic.
Logged

Markov Chain

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 115
  • Respect: +77
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2012, 11:17:50 pm »
+2

Tactician turn: draw Forge, two Treasure Maps, seven Curses.  Forge everything into a Province for 15 VP and a much better deck.
Logged

Captain_Frisk

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1257
  • Respect: +1262
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2012, 03:23:43 pm »
+1

Don't forget though, an ideal solution will also explain why you have two maps in your deck anyway if you're not going to use them.

Because you decided to try for treasure maps early but it never worked and you gave up. Works for evey deck type!

Logged
I support funsockets.... taking as much time as they need to get it right.

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9184
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2012, 03:57:26 pm »
0

Tactician turn: draw Forge, two Treasure Maps, seven Curses.  Forge everything into a Province for 15 VP and a much better deck.

You mean 13, right? :)
Logged

Axxle

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1664
  • Most Valuable Serial Killer
  • Respect: +1964
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2012, 04:05:55 pm »
0

Tactician turn: draw Forge, two Treasure Maps, seven Curses.  Forge everything into a Province for 15 VP and a much better deck.

You mean 13, right? :)
He has a single Fairgrounds in his deck.
Logged
We might be from all over the world, but "we all talk this one language  : +1 card + 1 action +1 buy , gain , discard, trash... " - RTT

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9184
    • View Profile
Re: Exception to the rule
« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2012, 04:15:20 pm »
+1

Tactician turn: draw Forge, two Treasure Maps, seven Curses.  Forge everything into a Province for 15 VP and a much better deck.

You mean 13, right? :)
He has a single Fairgrounds in his deck.

I suppose he also has an eighth curse and third TM then;)
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.088 seconds with 22 queries.