Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?  (Read 348 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jeebus

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1986
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1318
    • View Profile
The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?
« on: September 10, 2021, 07:07:09 am »
0

Another question about the new rule for playing cards.

This rule is about abilities expecting cards to be certain places, exactly like the lose-track (stop-moving) rule. The lose-track rule is specifically about losing track though, which means that it doesn't matter if the card moved back, it's still lost track of. Does the same apply for the playing-card rule?

Play Vassal. Discard the top card of your deck, a Village Green.
Play Village Green as Way of the Mouse with Embargo. Village Green is trashed, triggering Sewers.
Trash Catacombs with Sewers, gaining Lurker, triggering Innovation.
Play Lurker with Innovation, gaining the Village Green from trash.
The Village Green is put in the discard pile.

EDIT: This doesn't work, but I posted a couple of scenarios below that do.

The Vassal has lost track of the Village Green. But the Village Green is in the expected place - your discard pile. Can the Vassal play it?

If it can, it seems it would still not be able to put it into play, per the stop-moving rule. This makes me think that it makes most sense if the Vassal can't play it, so that the playing-card rule and the stop-moving rule function similarly. (Then I would consider them both subsets of the lose-track rule.)
« Last Edit: September 10, 2021, 11:03:35 am by Jeebus »
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9119
  • Respect: +9966
    • View Profile
Re: The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2021, 08:24:09 am »
+1

Iím pretty sure all the conditions match the lose track rule; because the entire point is to stop cards from getting played without being in play. I of course donít know the exact official wording; but it should basically be something that says that if playing a card wouldnít result in you putting it in play, then you donít play the card.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

AJD

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3105
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +4059
    • View Profile
Re: The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2021, 09:46:37 am »
0

(This is tangential to the point, but Jeebus, the scenario you describe would not cause Village Green to be trashed.)
Logged

Jeebus

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1986
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1318
    • View Profile
Re: The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2021, 09:50:29 am »
0

(This is tangential to the point, but Jeebus, the scenario you describe would not cause Village Green to be trashed.)
Right. I'll have to think of something cleverer.

Jeebus

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1986
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1318
    • View Profile
Re: The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2021, 11:01:57 am »
0

(This is tangential to the point, but Jeebus, the scenario you describe would not cause Village Green to be trashed.)
Right. I'll have to think of something cleverer.

Play Vassal. Discard the top card of your deck, a Village Green.
Play Village Green as Way of the Butterfly, returning it to the supply.
With Way of the Butterfly, gain a $5 gainer (Upgrade, Butcher, Displace), triggering Innovation.
Play the $5 gainer with Innovation, gaining the Village Green.
The Village Green is put in the discard pile.

This requries three cards less than the original (faulty) scenario.

Alternatively, instead of Innovation and the $5 gainer, play Sheepdog (or Falconer), using Way of the Mouse to play a gainer (like Workshop or many others). This requires two Ways though.

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5939
  • Respect: +23900
    • View Profile
Re: The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2021, 01:16:21 pm »
+2

Play Vassal. Discard the top card of your deck, a Village Green.
Play Village Green as Way of the Butterfly, returning it to the supply.
With Way of the Butterfly, gain a $5 gainer (Upgrade, Butcher, Displace), triggering Innovation.
Play the $5 gainer with Innovation, gaining the Village Green.
The Village Green is put in the discard pile.

This requries three cards less than the original (faulty) scenario.

Alternatively, instead of Innovation and the $5 gainer, play Sheepdog (or Falconer), using Way of the Mouse to play a gainer (like Workshop or many others). This requires two Ways though.
It's just like lose-track I mean stop-moving; the card not only has to be where it's expected to be, it also has to have stayed there.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9119
  • Respect: +9966
    • View Profile
Re: The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2021, 04:46:13 pm »
0

Does the new rule mean no more Throne Room + one-shot?
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Jack Rudd

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1248
  • Shuffle iT Username: Jack Rudd
  • Respect: +1239
    • View Profile
Re: The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2021, 08:35:54 pm »
+2

Does the new rule mean no more Throne Room + one-shot?
No, it specifically allows Throne Room + one-shot; it has a clause explicitly saying that.
Logged
Centuries later, archaeologists discover the remains of your ancient civilization.

Evidence of thriving towns, Pottery, roads, and a centralized government amaze the startled scientists.

Finally, they come upon a stone tablet, which contains but one mysterious phrase!

'ISOTROPIC WILL RETURN!'
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.064 seconds with 22 queries.