Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: What happens if you Mastermind a Tactician?  (Read 515 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Perkl

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
What happens if you Mastermind a Tactician?
« on: August 01, 2021, 04:04:10 pm »
0

Does it trigger three times at start of the next round?
Logged

AJD

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3105
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +4059
    • View Profile
Re: What happens if you Mastermind a Tactician?
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2021, 07:05:42 pm »
+6

Usually no. Tactician's effect is only triggered if you discard a card when you play it. So Mastermind plays your Tactician three times: first you discard your hand, then you are told to discard your hand but have no cards to discard; last the same thing happens again. So only the first time you played Tactician has an effect for your next turn.

Now, if for some reason you have the +1 Card token from the Adventures expansion on Tactician, then it would trigger three times on the next turn: each time you played Tactician, you would draw a card and then discard your hand, so each play of Tactician would successfully discard your hand, and so all three plays would activate on your next turn.
Logged

CaptainTheo

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Re: What happens if you Mastermind a Tactician?
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2021, 04:34:14 pm »
+3

For completeness's sake I might as well add that this could also happen if one of the cards you discarded was Village Green, as you have the option to play that card and choose to draw the +1 card (and get +2 actions) immediately.
Logged

NoMoreFun

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1740
  • Respect: +1492
    • View Profile
Re: What happens if you Mastermind a Tactician?
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2021, 02:06:06 am »
+2

If you are playing with a Way that draws cards (Pig, Mole, Otter, Owl) you can play the Tactician as itself, the Way, then itself again to trigger it twice
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.061 seconds with 21 queries.