Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?  (Read 1179 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

spineflu

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1145
  • Shuffle iT Username: spineflu
  • Head Empty, Heart Worms, Can't Lose
  • Respect: +927
    • View Profile
    • my instagram, where i paint things
Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« on: July 22, 2021, 11:37:49 am »
0

Visit, for those who need a refresher
Does your relative pass or get passed cards during Masquerade? if so, where do they sit in the player order?
« Last Edit: July 22, 2021, 12:08:11 pm by spineflu »
Logged

Ingix

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239
  • Shuffle iT Username: Ingix
  • Respect: +320
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2021, 12:51:42 pm »
0

Sure they pass cards (if they have some in hand), why wouldn't they?

And player order is of course relevant for many things, not jut Masquerade. The details are not mentioned on the card, so that has to be decided by the "real" players.
Logged

AJD

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3105
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +4059
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2021, 01:09:53 pm »
+1

Sure they pass cards (if they have some in hand), why wouldn't they?

I don't think this is right. Masquerade passes cards to the "next player"; the Relative isn't a player.
Logged

Ingix

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239
  • Shuffle iT Username: Ingix
  • Respect: +320
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2021, 01:25:41 pm »
0

Sure they pass cards (if they have some in hand), why wouldn't they?

I don't think this is right. Masquerade passes cards to the "next player"; the Relative isn't a player.

What do you think the relative is, for the game rules? It isn't spelled out on the card, but what other interpretation is there than that it is a fake player that is controlled by you (just as you control another player during a Possession turn). If it isn't a player, what is the phrase "You play for them,..." supposed to mean?
Logged

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7350
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +10342
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2021, 02:42:36 pm »
+2

 I guess the most basic question about Visit is: Does your relative take turns in turn order even if you don't play Visit? I assume not.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9119
  • Respect: +9966
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2021, 03:14:37 pm »
0

Yeah I was confused about the intent as well; it isn't at all clear what Relative does in a game when nobody buys or plays Visit (it's clear that Relative is only in the game when Visit is in the game).
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

spineflu

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1145
  • Shuffle iT Username: spineflu
  • Head Empty, Heart Worms, Can't Lose
  • Respect: +927
    • View Profile
    • my instagram, where i paint things
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2021, 03:16:54 pm »
0

I guess the most basic question about Visit is: Does your relative take turns in turn order even if you don't play Visit? I assume not.

I assumed this also, as sort of a "possession but possessing a player who's not in the game" scenario

Ingix

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239
  • Shuffle iT Username: Ingix
  • Respect: +320
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2021, 04:41:28 pm »
0

In my understanding, Relatives are full players the moment Visit is in the Supply, and take turns from the start of the game. Visit just grants them extra turns.

But I see that the interpretation that they only take turns when a Visit was played is also very compelling.
Logged

AJD

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3105
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +4059
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2021, 06:40:41 pm »
+1

The card Visit doesn't say the Relative takes turns at any time other than when you play Visit. It says who plays the turn when the Relative does have a turn (you do), and it says what their starting deck is; but the card text provides no mechanism for your Relative to take any other turns.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1986
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1318
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2021, 10:08:18 am »
+1

I also assumed that the Relative only gets a turn when you play Visit. But I still think the Relative needs to be a player. Otherwise they can't even play Oracle as written. Oracle assumes that "you" are a player. Same with Scrying Pool and others. And otherwise it's kind of undefined that they have a hand, a discard pile - and all the other game rules for that matter, all of which are for players.

What I'm saying is a bit contradictory though, because players per definition get a turn every round. But I do think that this is the intent: The Relative is a player without turns.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2021, 04:11:07 pm by Jeebus »
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5939
  • Respect: +23900
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2021, 12:28:54 pm »
+4

Visit, for those who need a refresher
Does your relative pass or get passed cards during Masquerade? if so, where do they sit in the player order?
No; your Relative has no position in the turn order.
Logged

Ingix

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239
  • Shuffle iT Username: Ingix
  • Respect: +320
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2021, 02:37:57 pm »
0

Interesting. So they get their turn while you resolve Visit? And how are they affected by attacks, are they affected at all?
Logged

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7350
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +10342
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2021, 03:33:57 pm »
+2

Interesting. So they get their turn while you resolve Visit? And how are they affected by attacks, are they affected at all?

I'm guessing they're too busy reading a book or knitting to notice when they get attacked.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2021, 11:19:08 pm by LastFootnote »
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5939
  • Respect: +23900
    • View Profile
Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« Reply #13 on: July 24, 2021, 11:53:53 am »
+6

The rules do not need to support Visit. I can only give so much scrutiny to a joke card.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.122 seconds with 22 queries.