Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: New Trader with Black Market  (Read 1004 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

infangthief

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 353
  • Shuffle iT Username: infangthief
  • Respect: +10000 (I wish)
  • Respect: +633
    • View Profile
New Trader with Black Market
« on: March 15, 2021, 04:25:02 pm »
+2

I've had a look and can't see this clarified anywhere so...

With the new (2020) Trader wording, what happens if you buy a card from the Black Market, gain it and reveal Trader from your hand?

Presumably Trader does nothing here? You gain the card you bought from the Black Market, and can't exchange it for a Silver because it has no pile to go back to?
Logged

mxdata

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1168
  • Respect: +1296
    • View Profile
Re: New Trader with Black Market
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2021, 04:50:22 pm »
+2

I've had a look and can't see this clarified anywhere so...

With the new (2020) Trader wording, what happens if you buy a card from the Black Market, gain it and reveal Trader from your hand?

Presumably Trader does nothing here? You gain the card you bought from the Black Market, and can't exchange it for a Silver because it has no pile to go back to?

Exchanging only works if there's a pile to return the original card to, so I think you're right.  Nothing would happen
Logged
They/them

Jack Rudd

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1304
  • Shuffle iT Username: Jack Rudd
  • Respect: +1365
    • View Profile
Re: New Trader with Black Market
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2021, 05:27:05 pm »
+4

I've had a look and can't see this clarified anywhere so...

With the new (2020) Trader wording, what happens if you buy a card from the Black Market, gain it and reveal Trader from your hand?

Presumably Trader does nothing here? You gain the card you bought from the Black Market, and can't exchange it for a Silver because it has no pile to go back to?

Exchanging only works if there's a pile to return the original card to, so I think you're right.  Nothing would happen
And the same would be true if you revealed a Trader when gaining a Shelter, Heirloom or Zombie.
Logged
Centuries later, archaeologists discover the remains of your ancient civilization.

Evidence of thriving towns, Pottery, roads, and a centralized government amaze the startled scientists.

Finally, they come upon a stone tablet, which contains but one mysterious phrase!

'ISOTROPIC WILL RETURN!'

Jeebus

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2435
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1591
    • View Profile
Re: New Trader with Black Market
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2021, 09:04:21 am »
+2

This is also in my rules document:

Quote
Trader
2020 errata (points 4Ė8 ):
7. You may exchange a non-Kingdom card, as long as it belongs to a pile. You may not exchange cards that donít belong to a pile, such as Heirlooms, Shelters or Zombies, or cards from the Black Market deck.

Holger

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 709
  • Respect: +411
    • View Profile
Re: New Trader with Black Market
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2021, 04:49:44 pm »
0

I've had a look and can't see this clarified anywhere so...

With the new (2020) Trader wording, what happens if you buy a card from the Black Market, gain it and reveal Trader from your hand?

Presumably Trader does nothing here? You gain the card you bought from the Black Market, and can't exchange it for a Silver because it has no pile to go back to?

Exchanging only works if there's a pile to return the original card to, so I think you're right.  Nothing would happen
And the same would be true if you revealed a Trader when gaining a Shelter, Heirloom or Zombie.
As an aside, is there actually any way to gain a Shelter other than Necropolis?
Necropolis and the Zombies can be gained from the trash by Lurker (Zombies also by Graverobber and Rogue), and the Heirlooms by Treasurer and Thief.
Logged

mxdata

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1168
  • Respect: +1296
    • View Profile
Re: New Trader with Black Market
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2021, 08:07:21 pm »
+1

I've had a look and can't see this clarified anywhere so...

With the new (2020) Trader wording, what happens if you buy a card from the Black Market, gain it and reveal Trader from your hand?

Presumably Trader does nothing here? You gain the card you bought from the Black Market, and can't exchange it for a Silver because it has no pile to go back to?

Exchanging only works if there's a pile to return the original card to, so I think you're right.  Nothing would happen
And the same would be true if you revealed a Trader when gaining a Shelter, Heirloom or Zombie.
As an aside, is there actually any way to gain a Shelter other than Necropolis?
Necropolis and the Zombies can be gained from the trash by Lurker (Zombies also by Graverobber and Rogue), and the Heirlooms by Treasurer and Thief.

Necropolis is the only Shelter that can be gained at present

Cursed Gold and Lucky Coin can also be gained from the trash by Graverobber and Rogue
Logged
They/them
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.043 seconds with 21 queries.