Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Mastermind + Mastermind + X + X + Mastermind  (Read 199 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sc0UT

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 130
  • Shuffle iT Username: sc0UT
  • Respect: +105
    • View Profile
Mastermind + Mastermind + X + X + Mastermind
« on: November 15, 2020, 02:33:27 pm »
0



At the start of my turn, I mastermind a Mastermind and both are set aside.

Next Turn, I mastermind two, let's say, simple action cards like Smithy and another Mastermind. What happens during clean up?

i) Do I set aside the three Masterminds and discard the Smithies or
ii) do I set aside only two Masteminds and discard the rest or
iii) do i set aside all five cards, 3 Masterminds and 2 Smithies?

i) is correct, I guess. The Mastermind's duration effects aren't resolved at this point but the Smithies have done their work. Am I right?

Dominion online says i) but that could be a bug :)
« Last Edit: November 15, 2020, 03:18:25 pm by sc0UT »
Logged

Ingix

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 217
  • Shuffle iT Username: Ingix
  • Respect: +301
    • View Profile
Re: Mastermind + Mastermind + X + X + Mastermind
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2020, 03:45:20 pm »
+3

The key in understanding this is that there a two sets of rules that govern how long Mastermind (MM) stays in play:

1) The rules for a Duration card staying in play, and
2) The rules for a "Throne Room"-like card staying in play.

The rules for a Duration card staying in play would just keep the Mastermind out for 1 turn, after that time, it did it's job of playing another card 3 times. But the rules for "Throne Room"-like cards say that such a card playing a Duration card an additional time means they stay out as long as the Duration card does.

MM1 is played on turn X. On turn X+1 MM1 plays MM2 3 times. MM1 stays out as long as MM2, according to the rules for 2) above. Since MM2 is a Duration card that has things left to do, MM1 stays at for another turn (X+2), on which MM2 plays Smithies (no relevance for staying out) and MM3. By the same argument as above, MM2 stays in play as long as MM3 does, so is staying at least until turn (X+3), which means MM1 also stays in play until at least that turn.

So your option i) is correct.
Logged

sc0UT

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 130
  • Shuffle iT Username: sc0UT
  • Respect: +105
    • View Profile
Re: Mastermind + Mastermind + X + X + Mastermind
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2020, 08:19:49 am »
0

Alright, thanks!
Logged

Jeebus

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1924
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1291
    • View Profile
Re: Mastermind + Mastermind + X + X + Mastermind
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2020, 09:05:00 am »
+1

(Except that no Mastermind is ever "set aside". Setting them aside would mean that they are not in play. What happens is that they stay in play instead of being discarded. This matters for any ability, e.g. Horn of Plenty or Peddler, that cares about cards in play.)
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.131 seconds with 22 queries.