Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Playing a discarded Village Green no longer in the Discard Pile  (Read 860 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CaptainTheo

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Playing a discarded Village Green no longer in the Discard Pile
« on: September 12, 2020, 07:39:16 pm »
+1

Say I play Cartographer, and reveal two Village Greens, discarding them. I choose to play the first one and take +1 card +2 actions immediately, which happens to cause a reshuffle, meaning that the second is no longer in the discard pile - in fact let's saw I draw the second one as a result of playing the first one. Am I still able to play the second one, even though I cannot put it into play (as it's no longer in the discard pile)?

I would have thought that this is allowed as it would be similar to Vassal as that allows you to play discarded cards even if they are not there any more. Indeed, the example on the Wiki for Vassal - http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Village_Green - refers to Village Green specifically.
Logged

mxdata

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 859
  • Respect: +906
    • View Profile
Re: Playing a discarded Village Green no longer in the Discard Pile
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2020, 09:41:15 pm »
0

No, the lose-track rule would apply there I believe.  Since your second Village Green got reshuffled, you've lost track of it and can't trigger its reaction

Unless the discarding is actually one at a time?  Discard VG #1, trigger its reaction, reshuffle, then discard VG #2, which is not in the reshuffle, and trigger its reaction.  I don't think that's the case though, I think they're all discarded at the same time
Logged
They/them

LordBaphomet

  • Moneylender
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 158
  • Shuffle iT Username: LunarLynx498
  • Respect: +110
    • View Profile
Re: Playing a discarded Village Green no longer in the Discard Pile
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2020, 09:58:16 pm »
0

Even if they are discarded at the same time, by revealing one you must play it to finish the reaction, then move on to the next possible reaction "input", which has now been lost track of? Is this right?
Logged
Hail Satan, hail yourself!

CaptainTheo

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Re: Playing a discarded Village Green no longer in the Discard Pile
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2020, 10:54:47 pm »
0

Interesting - there seem to be two different versions of the writing on the card. The 'print' version doesn't say that you have to reveal it, but the 'digital' version says that you do need to reveal it. Presumably if one has the version that says 'reveal' it cannot be played.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9141
  • Respect: +9987
    • View Profile
Re: Playing a discarded Village Green no longer in the Discard Pile
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2020, 10:43:33 am »
0

Basically the same question here: http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=20165.0

Basically itís no; the Village Green must still be in your discard for it to work. Donald mentioned the possibility of Village Green updated wording in that thread; I didnít know before now that it actually happened though.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Ingix

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 246
  • Shuffle iT Username: Ingix
  • Respect: +325
    • View Profile
Re: Playing a discarded Village Green no longer in the Discard Pile
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2020, 03:49:32 am »
+2

The idea (from the game development perspective) is to minimize the number of occasions where you play a card but don't have the physical card present to put intom play. This possibility exists since the original base set (Throne a Feast), but at that time the effect was shortlived (you just do it now, no need to remember anything), while Village Green is a Duration card.

The "reveal" version gets rid of the problem of the Village Green "vanishing" from wherever it was put into. I assume it will arrive on the next printed version if Menagerie.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9141
  • Respect: +9987
    • View Profile
Re: Playing a discarded Village Green no longer in the Discard Pile
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2020, 08:35:07 am »
0

I suppose the Tunnel question is only the same as updated Village Green; while original Village Green is basically the same as Throne Room + Feast, but weirder. Not only weirder because Village Green is a duration; but also because the Trash pile is visible to all so you can see the Feast you are playing, while the Village Green is hidden away in your deck.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.063 seconds with 20 queries.