Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Dismantle + Wayfarer  (Read 329 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

David Goldfarb

  • Herbalist
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Shuffle iT Username: David Goldfarb
  • Respect: +8
    • View Profile
Dismantle + Wayfarer
« on: July 25, 2020, 02:05:24 pm »
0

Dismantle says "gain a cheaper card and a Gold". Do you have to gain them in that specific order? This matters when Wayfarer is in play.
Logged

popsofctown

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5477
  • Respect: +2843
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2020, 02:11:49 pm »
0

This is like a good question
Logged

Dominionaer

  • Moneylender
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 161
  • Respect: +49
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2020, 03:51:00 pm »
+1

Dismantle says "gain a cheaper card and a Gold". Do you have to gain them in that specific order? This matters when Wayfarer is in play.

Yes. It is short for "Gain a cheaper card. Gain a Gold."
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8740
  • Respect: +9544
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2020, 04:54:50 pm »
0

Pretty sure this has been asked about Treasure Trove before.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

gambit05

  • Spy
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
  • Respect: +34
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2020, 07:59:21 am »
0


Demand has a similar wording for gaining two cards. The rule book says: "The Horse goes on top first, then the card costing up to does".
Thus, I would say there is no choice. The cheaper card is gained first, and then the Gold.

Edit: Spelling.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2020, 09:04:00 am by gambit05 »
Logged

silverspawn

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4405
  • Shuffle iT Username: sty.silver
  • Respect: +2066
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2020, 09:12:12 am »
+1

This is as good a place as any to mention that the picture of demand is really funny.
Logged

gambit05

  • Spy
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
  • Respect: +34
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2020, 09:55:30 am »
+4

This is as good a place as any to mention that the picture of demand is really funny.

She is Pooka's mom:
Logged

Jeebus

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1898
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1264
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2020, 04:38:46 pm »
0

This was originally (I think) asked years ago about Mountebank. You first gain a Curse, then gain a Copper.

mxdata

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 442
  • Respect: +449
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2020, 06:41:15 pm »
0

This was originally (I think) asked years ago about Mountebank. You first gain a Curse, then gain a Copper.

Would the order ever actually be relevant for Mountebank?
Logged
They/them

LaLight

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 762
  • Shuffle iT Username: LaLight
  • Because I'm a potato
  • Respect: +953
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2020, 07:00:54 pm »
+1

This was originally (I think) asked years ago about Mountebank. You first gain a Curse, then gain a Copper.

Would the order ever actually be relevant for Mountebank?

Maybe you want to topdeck Copper first, Curse second with Watchtower, so you can draw a Curse first and giving it to your opponent via ambassador
Logged
Wins: 14, 10
Losses: 10, 5, 1
Draws: 1
MVPs: 4
Mod/Co-mod: 18

I always have a limited access to forum on weekends.

Jeebus

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1898
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1264
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2020, 07:02:43 pm »
+1

This was originally (I think) asked years ago about Mountebank. You first gain a Curse, then gain a Copper.

Would the order ever actually be relevant for Mountebank?

I'm sure there are several corner cases. Here it is in any case.

Isis

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Respect: +1
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2020, 05:10:10 pm »
0

Disappointing outcome
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8740
  • Respect: +9544
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2020, 08:07:18 pm »
+1

This was originally (I think) asked years ago about Mountebank. You first gain a Curse, then gain a Copper.

Would the order ever actually be relevant for Mountebank?

Maybe you want to topdeck Copper first, Curse second with Watchtower, so you can draw a Curse first and giving it to your opponent via ambassador

Yeah even without things like Ambassador, order of top-decking can easily matter.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

mxdata

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 442
  • Respect: +449
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #13 on: July 27, 2020, 09:48:46 pm »
0

This was originally (I think) asked years ago about Mountebank. You first gain a Curse, then gain a Copper.

Would the order ever actually be relevant for Mountebank?

Maybe you want to topdeck Copper first, Curse second with Watchtower, so you can draw a Curse first and giving it to your opponent via ambassador

Yeah even without things like Ambassador, order of top-decking can easily matter.

Yeah, for some reason it slipped my mind that you could topdeck gained cards when I asked that
Logged
They/them

Chris is me

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2730
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +3418
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2020, 12:31:45 pm »
0


Demand has a similar wording for gaining two cards. The rule book says: "The Horse goes on top first, then the card costing up to does".
Thus, I would say there is no choice. The cheaper card is gained first, and then the Gold.

Edit: Spelling.

This actually came up in a game I was in yesterday, but I opted not to try it. The Horse gain would have made Destrier cost $4, and I wanted to know if the target could be chosen after gaining the Horse or not...
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

pm me if you wanna do stuff for the blog

they/them

Mic Qsenoch

  • 2015 DS Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1683
  • Respect: +4297
    • View Profile
Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« Reply #15 on: July 28, 2020, 02:10:26 pm »
0


Demand has a similar wording for gaining two cards. The rule book says: "The Horse goes on top first, then the card costing up to does".
Thus, I would say there is no choice. The cheaper card is gained first, and then the Gold.

Edit: Spelling.

This actually came up in a game I was in yesterday, but I opted not to try it. The Horse gain would have made Destrier cost $4, and I wanted to know if the target could be chosen after gaining the Horse or not...

The Horse is gained as soon as you click Demand, and the Destrier price changes accordingly and is choosable.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.136 seconds with 21 queries.