Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Shouldn't Trader be listed with Possession in the Triggered effects page?  (Read 268 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DaveS

  • Herbalist
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
0

http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Triggered_effects#When_you_would_gain

Trader's effect happens at "would gain" time, not "when you gain" time.

I suppose in most cases Trader can be included with other "when you gain" cards like Watchtower. If playing online, it would be a bit more efficient to allow the player to choose between his Trader and Watchtower.

I'm not familiar with all cards out there, but the new cards Black Cat and Falconer really can force a Trader effect to resolve BEFORE the Watchtower effect.  When the gained card triggers another player's Black Cat or Falconer, it could be wrong to offer the gaining player both Trader and Watchtower together. (Wrong when the Black cat/Falconer player is closer to the current player than the gaining player)

Is my thinking correct?
Logged

hhelibebcnofnena

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 522
  • he/him
  • Respect: +397
    • View Profile
0

I don't follow your example completely, but I think you are correct. Trader's effect does technically occur before Watchtower's, Black Cat's, or Falconer's effects (and can even prevent them from occurring, in the case of Black Cat or Falconer).
Logged
Hydrogen Helium Lithium Beryllium Boron Carbon Nitrogen Oxygen Fluorine Neon Sodium

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8740
  • Respect: +9544
    • View Profile
+1

Note that Trader will actually be changing so that it is the same timing as Watchtower, etc. See details here. But without the Exchange mechanic, which didn’t exist at the time, the problem with simply making it happen at the same time as things like Watchtower is that the card you want to replace with Silver would already be gained; it would be in your discard pile. At this point, how do you gain something else “instead”? You can’t go back in time and change the fact that you’ve gained the original card. So it can work with new wording, but you can’t simply take the idea of “instead” and give it the same timing as when-gain.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

hhelibebcnofnena

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 522
  • he/him
  • Respect: +397
    • View Profile
0

Cool, I must have missed the Trader errata thing.
Logged
Hydrogen Helium Lithium Beryllium Boron Carbon Nitrogen Oxygen Fluorine Neon Sodium
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.117 seconds with 20 queries.