Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Dominion Paradoxes  (Read 2432 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Doom_Shark

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 429
  • Shuffle iT Username: Doom_Shark
  • Respect: +395
    • View Profile
Dominion Paradoxes
« on: March 27, 2020, 12:24:57 am »
+3

So, whilst working on the whole "number of possible kingdoms thing," specifically Black Market, I realized that when Young Witch is in the Black Market deck, there is one or card that can never be the bane: Black Market itself. But what if it was? Just for giggles, I mean. Generate a normal kingdom, then add Black Market, put Young Witch in the deck, and say Black Market is the bane. You have a paradox: You can't have a Black Market deck without Black Market, but Black Market wouldn't have been in the kingdom without the Young Witch in the Black Market deck, which wouldn't have been there without Black Market.....

Can anyone think of any other paradoxes in Dominion? Or is this the only one?
Logged
"I swear to drunk I'm not officer, God."
Generation 33 The first time you see this, copy it, add 1 to the generation number, and add it to your signature. (On any forum) Social experiment.

mxdata

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1089
  • Respect: +1216
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2020, 12:31:51 am »
+3

That's not even a paradox, really, since that's not consistent with the rules.  I mean, you can probably come up with a lot of paradoxes if you ignore the actual rules ...
Logged
They/them

flynd

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Respect: +12
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2020, 02:56:10 am »
0

This makes me wonder about the following scenario:

If Black Market is in the kingdom and the Black Market deck includes Young Witch. What happens if the randomized Bane card is already present in the Black Market deck?
The rules and FAQ on the wiki for Young Which does not say anything about excluding cards already used in the Black Market deck when selecting the Bane card.
If cards in the Black Market deck are not excluded, the supply pile for Bane would then only contain 9 cards.

If the above is resolved by excluding cards from the Black Market deck when selecting a Bane card, what happens if there are no unused 2-3 cost cards left after the Black Market deck is created? (Since it's up to each group how many cards to put in the Black Market deck, this is a possibility.)
Should this be resolved by playing without the Bane pile, removing a card from the Black Market deck to make a complete supply pile for Bane, or treating the single copy of the card in the Black Market deck as the only Bane card in the game?
Logged

hhelibebcnofnena

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
  • he/she
  • Respect: +407
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2020, 08:47:39 am »
0

This makes me wonder about the following scenario:

If Black Market is in the kingdom and the Black Market deck includes Young Witch. What happens if the randomized Bane card is already present in the Black Market deck?
The rules and FAQ on the wiki for Young Which does not say anything about excluding cards already used in the Black Market deck when selecting the Bane card.
If cards in the Black Market deck are not excluded, the supply pile for Bane would then only contain 9 cards.

If the above is resolved by excluding cards from the Black Market deck when selecting a Bane card, what happens if there are no unused 2-3 cost cards left after the Black Market deck is created? (Since it's up to each group how many cards to put in the Black Market deck, this is a possibility.)
Should this be resolved by playing without the Bane pile, removing a card from the Black Market deck to make a complete supply pile for Bane, or treating the single copy of the card in the Black Market deck as the only Bane card in the game?

I expect the Bane takes precedent over the Black Market deck, so you would pick the Bane without giving any regard to the BM deck, and if they clashed, then you would just take the Bane card out of the BM deck. (So you might want to pick the Bane card first, just to save some trouble).

Although, you could probably have the Way of the Mouse card inside the BM deck. Nobody would buy it, because it would be strictly worse than all other cards in the game. But you could have it there.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2020, 08:49:09 am by hhelibebcnofnena »
Logged
Hydrogen Helium Lithium Beryllium Boron Carbon Nitrogen Oxygen Fluorine Neon Sodium

Jeebus

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2285
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1536
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2020, 05:31:13 pm »
+1

I don't think either the Way of the Mouse card or the Bane card can be in the Black Market deck, based on the rules. First you choose 10 kingdom cards and 0-2 landscape cards. If you now have YW, BM and Mouse, you do the setup for each in turn, and they all say to choose unused cards. If instead you ended up with just BM and Mouse, and then got YW in the BM deck, it would be the same.

flynd

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Respect: +12
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2020, 02:38:44 am »
0

If instead you ended up with just BM and Mouse, and then got YW in the BM deck, it would be the same.

But what if there are no 2-3 cost cards left after setting up the BM deck (and YW was the last card added to the BM deck), do you play without a Bane card or randomly remove one of the cards already added to the BM deck?
Logged

Gherald

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 624
  • Awe: +35
  • Respect: +1306
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2020, 06:30:00 am »
+2

But what if there are no 2-3 cost cards left after setting up the BM deck (and YW was the last card added to the BM deck), do you play without a Bane card or randomly remove one of the cards already added to the BM deck?
In this scenario what you do is go out and buy more Dominion expansions, since you clearly need them ;)
Logged
thank you for participating in this enrichment center activity

silverspawn

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5119
  • Shuffle iT Username: sty.silver
  • Respect: +2885
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2020, 07:37:24 am »
+7

But what if there are no 2-3 cost cards left after setting up the BM deck (and YW was the last card added to the BM deck), do you play without a Bane card or randomly remove one of the cards already added to the BM deck?
In this scenario what you do is order more dominion expansions online since you clearly need them ;)

ftfy
Logged

hhelibebcnofnena

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
  • he/she
  • Respect: +407
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2020, 12:44:38 pm »
+1

But what if there are no 2-3 cost cards left after setting up the BM deck (and YW was the last card added to the BM deck), do you play without a Bane card or randomly remove one of the cards already added to the BM deck?
In this scenario what you do is go out and buy more Dominion expansions, since you clearly need them ;)

What if you have all the expansions and promos and you just decided to use every card in existence in the BM deck? Do you expect me to wait for DXV to come out with another expansion before I can start my game? Menagerie just came out; who knows when the next one is?
Logged
Hydrogen Helium Lithium Beryllium Boron Carbon Nitrogen Oxygen Fluorine Neon Sodium

Gherald

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 624
  • Awe: +35
  • Respect: +1306
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2020, 04:26:29 pm »
+1

Of course not; in Dominion when you can't do something you proceed with the next step, so in that game you play without a Bane card.
Logged
thank you for participating in this enrichment center activity

KingPeter

  • Baron
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • Shuffle iT Username: KingPeter
  • When in doubt, engine
  • Respect: +121
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2020, 06:31:54 pm »
+2

Start the game with a cost-reducer in play so Young Witch can be its own bane!
Logged

dghunter79

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 279
  • Respect: +318
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Paradoxes
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2020, 08:16:02 pm »
+1

Start the game with a cost-reducer in play so Young Witch can be its own bane!

Relatable.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.071 seconds with 22 queries.