Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Command cards + Distants Lands  (Read 583 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

walwb

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Command cards + Distants Lands
« on: January 25, 2020, 04:41:03 pm »
0

How do the new command cards from the 2019 errata work with Distant Lands? For instance, if you Overlord a Distant Lands do you put a Distant Lands from the supply onto your tavern mat (and thus gain 4 VP at the end of the game)?
Logged

crj

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1415
  • Respect: +1573
    • View Profile
Re: Command cards + Distants Lands
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2020, 05:13:34 pm »
+2

If you play a Distant Lands from the supply, putting it on your Tavern mat is not "leaving it there". :-p
Logged

mxdata

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 461
  • Respect: +482
    • View Profile
Re: Command cards + Distants Lands
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2020, 06:15:45 pm »
+1

Like crj said, putting it on your Tavern mat isn't leaving it there.  Since the only thing Distant Lands does as an action is move itself to the Tavern mat, and you can't do that, you would've just used an action to accomplish absolutely nothing.  Worse even then playing a Ruined Village, since at least a Ruined Village gives you back your action
Logged
They/them

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5827
  • Respect: +23474
    • View Profile
Re: Command cards + Distants Lands
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2020, 07:40:14 pm »
0

How do the new command cards from the 2019 errata work with Distant Lands? For instance, if you Overlord a Distant Lands do you put a Distant Lands from the supply onto your tavern mat (and thus gain 4 VP at the end of the game)?
Distant Lands tries to move itself from play, and doesn't find itself there, so it doesn't move.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1913
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1283
    • View Profile
Re: Command cards + Distants Lands
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2020, 12:25:30 pm »
0

This doesn't just apply to the three Command cards, but also to Inherited Estates, and Necromancer (from the trash).

(But I think it would have been good to make all five "leaving it there" cards Command cards, to make the rules and talking about them easier.)

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8862
  • Respect: +9645
    • View Profile
Re: Command cards + Distants Lands
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2020, 11:52:44 am »
+3

If you play a Distant Lands from the supply, putting it on your Tavern mat is not "leaving it there". :-p

This is a misleading answer. The "leaving it there" part isn't (directly) what stops Distant Lands from going to your Tavern Mat. "Leaving it there" just means "don't put it into play". Anything that happens (or doesn't happen) after that is a result of it not being in play.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.064 seconds with 22 queries.