Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: New Overlord with Highway  (Read 367 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MatthewCA

  • Thief
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
  • Respect: +85
    • View Profile
New Overlord with Highway
« on: December 10, 2019, 04:15:34 pm »
0

Quote
Overlord

Play a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to $5, leaving it there.


Quote
Highway

+1 Card
+1 Action
While this is in play, cards cost $1 less, but not less than $0.


I play an Overlord with the new errata ( with the Command type) to play Highway. Since Highway isn't in play, do I still get the cost reduction?

I can't seem to find the answer on the wiki or in the thread about the rules tweaks and errata if "while this is in play" stuff still works with new Overlord and BoM
Logged

scolapasta

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 393
  • Respect: +387
    • View Profile
Re: New Overlord with Highway
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2019, 04:32:19 pm »
+4

The Highway never gets into play, so you do not get the cost reduction.
Logged
Feel free to join us at scolapasta's cards for discussion on any of my custom cards.

Wolphmaniac

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • Shuffle iT Username: DividedSpy
  • Respect: +262
    • View Profile
Re: New Overlord with Highway
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2019, 10:41:49 pm »
+1

Another example of "while this is in play" vs. "when you play this".

Any effect that says "while this is in play" won't work with Overlord.  The card isn't in play... the Overlord is.  For Highway, you would get +1 Card / +1 Action but you wouldn't get the cost reduction.  Another big one is Groundskeeper.  No bonus VP when buying green, as no Groundskeeper is in play.  Same with Goons if you can manage to Overlord a Goons.  You get +1Buy and +$2 and the opponent discards down to 3 cards, but no bonus points for your buys, as no Goons is in play. 

The classic "when you play this" card that does work with Overlord would be Bridge.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.056 seconds with 20 queries.