Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Swindler Question  (Read 342 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

basicallyatomato

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Swindler Question
« on: June 09, 2019, 07:02:34 pm »
0

So I was playing a game of Dominion with my family and stumbled upon this little rule dispute regarding the Swindler, an attack from Intrigue. Basically my brother Throne Roomed a Swindler and I only had one card left in my deck when he did this. His Swindler trashed this last card, leaving my deck empty and triggering the dispute.

He argued that since his attack required me to have cards in my deck and since my deck was empty, I should shuffle my discard pile and form a new deck for him to perform his second Swindler. I thought that because it was an attack from another player talking about my deck and not me myself playing a card that said something about my own deck, I didn't have to shuffle and his Swindler should just be sad that the deck was empty.

The Swindler is part of Intrigue, which emphasizes choices that you may not be able to comply with, so I thought my suggestion made sense. Also, I couldn't find much on this specific scenario. Obviously, if you yourself played a card that required you to trash the top card of your own deck and your deck was empty, you would shuffle your discard pile and make a new deck. I just didn't know if it would be different when it was another player's attack doing this. Does anyone have any insight on what to do here?
Logged

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3384
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2639
    • View Profile
Re: Swindler Question
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2019, 07:12:04 pm »
+4

Whenever cards are required from your deck for any reason, you reshuffle.
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

basicallyatomato

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Swindler Question
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2019, 07:23:44 pm »
0

Alrighty then. Makes sense. Thank you!
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1438
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1030
    • View Profile
Re: Swindler Question
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2019, 10:05:43 am »
+4

Just to address your logic:

The rules say, "If you have to do anything with your deck ... and you need more cards than are left in your deck, first shuffle your discard pile ..."

You are questioning whether you are the one doing something with your deck when another player plays Swindler. The answer is yes. Swindler says, "Each other player trashes the top card of their deck ..." So your opponent plays Swindler, but you are the one trashing the card.

This also matters for cards that say "when you trash this". They trigger when a Swindler attack makes you trash them.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.063 seconds with 22 queries.