Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: How do you set up the game IRL?  (Read 4683 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

^_^_^_^

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • Crazy, You Have Been Warned
  • Respect: +110
    • View Profile
How do you set up the game IRL?
« on: March 14, 2012, 04:24:47 pm »
0

How do you guys set up the game in real life games? Do you put it vertically like the image ver of Iso, horizontally like the text ver, or something totally different? I'm thinking of finally buying the base and 1-3 expansions some time between now and November. I will of course buy Cornucopia just in time for Thanksgiving :) . I want to think of some different ways to set it up.

edit: Also, what about the mats? What do you do with those? Island, Trade Route, NV, etc.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 08:44:58 pm by ^_^_^_^ »
Logged
"Chicken Chicken Chicken"-Doug Z
"Chicken Chicken Chicken"-Donald X
The cost to buy me is 5Copper. What's Your Cost?

jonts26

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2746
  • Shuffle iT Username: jonts
  • Respect: +3657
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2012, 04:29:03 pm »
0

Usually something like this. The kingdom cards are grouped typically by cost in each line. So the 3-4-3 structure is only approximate. Could be 4-3-3 or 2-5-3 or whatever.

[E]   [] [] []     [C]
[D] [] [] [] []   [Si]
[P]   [] [] []     [G]
Logged

Deadlock39

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1722
  • Respect: +1754
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2012, 04:39:29 pm »
0

I've always done this:
Code: [Select]
[C] [S] [G] (Pl) (Po) [Trash]
[E] [D] [P] (C) [Curse]
[0] [1] [2] [3] [4] 
[5] [6] [7] [8] [9]

Kingdom cards 0-9 in increasing order of cost.

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9118
  • Respect: +9966
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2012, 04:41:00 pm »
0

I do a row of Treasures + Victories at the top, then 3 rows of the Kingdom cards, with the most expensive in the top row and the cheapest in the bottom row. I try to keep same-costed Kingdom cards in the same row; when possible.

Basics
$5-$7 Kingdoms
$4 Kingdoms
$2-$3 Kingdoms

Or so. What's in which row depends on how many of each cost.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Axxle

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1664
  • Most Valuable Serial Killer
  • Respect: +1958
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2012, 04:59:31 pm »
0

I play with a lot of people not familiar with all the cards, so having each card price on it's own line is very very helpful for them.

[Col] [Pl]     [7]
[P]   [G]   [6] [6]
[D]   [Si]   [5]  [5]
[E]   [C]   [4] [4] [4]
[Cu]         [3] [3]
                 [2]

(With cards row shifted upwards if there aren't cards of a specific value available)

edit: Added Curse pile, And Trash is usually way far away like on top of the box or something.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 05:59:40 pm by Axxle »
Logged
We might be from all over the world, but "we all talk this one language  : +1 card + 1 action +1 buy , gain , discard, trash... " - RTT

Robz888

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2634
  • Shuffle iT Username: Robz888
  • Respect: +3347
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2012, 05:13:03 pm »
+1

             [] [] []    [G] [P]
 [trash]   [] [] []    [Si] [D]
             [] [] []    [C] [E]
                []             [Curses]

Kingdom cards alphabetical by price.

Edit: No idea why I'm getting strikethrough effect. I like how incompetent it makes me seem.
Edit: Fixed! Sneaky Silver pile..
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 06:12:04 pm by Robz888 »
Logged
I have been forced to accept that lackluster play is a town tell for you.

Ozle

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3625
  • Sorry, this text is personal.
  • Respect: +3356
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2012, 05:39:55 pm »
0

Curses, victory and money down one side. Then the kingdom cards in a sort of line grouped by price
Logged
Try the Ozle Google Map Challenge!
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=7466.0

Sullying players Enjoyment of Innovation since 2013 Apparently!

ftl

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2056
  • Shuffle iT Username: ftl
  • Respect: +1342
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2012, 05:48:30 pm »
0

Top row, treasures, sorted by price. Trash off to the side of coppers.
Second row, basic victory cards and curses, sorted by price.
Rows 3-5, the kingdom cards, sorted by price; usually trying to keep cards of one price together in one row.

Just buy the sets and set it up. There'll be something which comes naturally.
Logged

^_^_^_^

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • Crazy, You Have Been Warned
  • Respect: +110
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2012, 08:43:50 pm »
0

Oh also, what do you do with the mats? I forgot to include this in the original question. What if you turn up a board with every mat in the game?!? (Island, Trade Route, NV, etc.)
Logged
"Chicken Chicken Chicken"-Doug Z
"Chicken Chicken Chicken"-Donald X
The cost to buy me is 5Copper. What's Your Cost?

Fuu

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Shuffle iT Username: Fuu
  • Respect: +87
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2012, 10:20:44 pm »
0

Mats just get handed out at the start as required. This was never a consideration until I bought seaside as my first expansion two weeks ago :chuffed:. In rows from top to bottom:

Basic victory cards
Basic treasure cards (trash card somewhere to the side of these first two rows)
Kingdom cards in two rows and grouped by cost

When I play with family or friends who don't know the game so well (which is most of the time) I try and face the set up away from myself, so that they can better read the costs and effects of cards they aren't familiar with. However the work-around for this which we use at my parents' place is using a small rotatable table with a chess board placed on top - then everyone can spin the board around to face them on their turn (knocking all the drinks over in the process). Of coarse with such a comparatively small and square shaped space to lay the cards out on, the layout becomes less organised. In that case it's likely to be victory cards and treasures in adjacent columns, trash card nearby, with the kingdom cards clustered by cost as best as possible.
Logged

^_^_^_^

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • Crazy, You Have Been Warned
  • Respect: +110
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2012, 10:28:40 pm »
0

Hmm ok. Also, if I have enough space to say, just fit a game of Risk on my table(w/ drinks), I would be able to fit Dominion(W/ Drinks), yes?
Logged
"Chicken Chicken Chicken"-Doug Z
"Chicken Chicken Chicken"-Donald X
The cost to buy me is 5Copper. What's Your Cost?

O

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 836
  • Respect: +605
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2012, 12:54:24 am »
0

Hmm ok. Also, if I have enough space to say, just fit a game of Risk on my table(w/ drinks), I would be able to fit Dominion(W/ Drinks), yes?

Yes.
Logged

Robz888

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2634
  • Shuffle iT Username: Robz888
  • Respect: +3347
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #12 on: March 15, 2012, 12:58:01 am »
0

Hmm ok. Also, if I have enough space to say, just fit a game of Risk on my table(w/ drinks), I would be able to fit Dominion(W/ Drinks), yes?

What's a good Dominion drink? Wine, I suppose... if you have the Vineyards ;)
Logged
I have been forced to accept that lackluster play is a town tell for you.

Julle

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 118
  • Respect: +570
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2012, 02:29:03 am »
0

  [Co][Pr][Du][Es]
[Pl][Go][Po][Si][Co]
[Trash][Bm-deck][Cu]

[ $ ][ $ ][ $ ][ $ ][ $ ]
[ $ ][ $ ][ $ ][ $ ][ $ ]

Kingdom cards sorted by price starting from the cheapest. Mats and tokens wherever they fit.
Logged

Davio

  • 2012 Dutch Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4733
  • Respect: +3331
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #14 on: March 15, 2012, 04:01:14 am »
0

How do you guys set up the game in real life games? Do you put it vertically like the image ver of Iso, horizontally like the text ver, or something totally different? I'm thinking of finally buying the base and 1-3 expansions some time between now and November. I will of course buy Cornucopia just in time for Thanksgiving :) . I want to think of some different ways to set it up.

edit: Also, what about the mats? What do you do with those? Island, Trade Route, NV, etc.
Both questions are easy to answer: I just do whatever feels right for that moment, I don't have a set layout. That's also because I don't always play Dominion in the same location.

When I played Dominion at the Dutch championship, some people wanted to fiddle with the setup and have the layout a certain way and that was fine with me. I didn't care either way, as long as the Provinces - of which I would get a lot of course - were within arm's reach. Same for my opponents and their Curses. ;)
Logged

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea

Rodafowa

  • Herbalist
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Respect: +10
    • View Profile
    • Blue Man Sings The Whites
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2012, 08:09:58 am »
+1

It honestly hadn't occurred to me to lay out the Kingdom cards by cost before reading this thread.

Yes, I've just registered on the forum specifically to highlight the fact that I'm an idiot.  :D
Logged

BaruMonkey

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
  • Respect: +187
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2012, 12:27:34 pm »
0

I've always done this:
Code: [Select]
[C] [S] [G] (Pl) (Po) [Trash]
[E] [D] [P] (C) [Curse]
[0] [1] [2] [3] [4] 
[5] [6] [7] [8] [9]

Kingdom cards 0-9 in increasing order of cost.

Our setup is very similar to this, except:
- Rows 1 and 2 are swapped
- Rows 3 and 4 are swapped
- Curses go on the other side
- Trash is at the top in its own (messy) row
Logged

Ozle

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3625
  • Sorry, this text is personal.
  • Respect: +3356
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #17 on: March 15, 2012, 12:30:58 pm »
+1

I've always done this:
Code: [Select]
[C] [S] [G] (Pl) (Po) [Trash]
[E] [D] [P] (C) [Curse]
[0] [1] [2] [3] [4] 
[5] [6] [7] [8] [9]

Kingdom cards 0-9 in increasing order of cost.

This would bug the hell out of my anal mind having the Curse at the high end rather than the low end of the victory points.
It doesnt matter of course, but then I cant walk past a painting at a slightly odd angle either! (Caused havoc during my trip to the Louvre!)

I always face the cards the right way up for other people, because I can read upside down or I know what the cards are and they might not, speeding the game up.
Logged
Try the Ozle Google Map Challenge!
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=7466.0

Sullying players Enjoyment of Innovation since 2013 Apparently!

Kuildeous

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3834
  • Respect: +2202
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #18 on: March 15, 2012, 01:42:55 pm »
0

I'm an odd duck, it seems. I put the kingdom cards on the outside. So, it would look like:


{01}  {Po}  {Cu}  {Ag}  {Au}  {Pt} {10}
{02}  {Cr}  {Es}  {Du}  {Pr}  {Co}  {09}
   {03}  {04}  {05}  {06}  {07}  {08}


I couldn't say why I started doing it this way. I think it was because kingdom cards were generally bought more often than treasure cards, so they were kept more accessible. As the game grew, we just kept it this way.

Like others, I arrange the cards in ascending cost order.

Edit: Oh, and I keep the mat in front of me with my deck. I make sure it's not too close to my discard pile so that if a card gets knocked around, I don't wonder if it was on my Native Village/Island or not. Trash is usually in some dark corner away from the kingdom cards and not too close to any one person's deck (lest someone wonders why he ended up with 20 Coppers, 9 Estates, and 25 Curses).
« Last Edit: March 15, 2012, 01:45:16 pm by Kuildeous »
Logged
A man has no signature

Ozle

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3625
  • Sorry, this text is personal.
  • Respect: +3356
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2012, 01:52:26 pm »
0

I'm an odd duck, it seems. I put the kingdom cards on the outside. So, it would look like:


{01}  {Po}  {Cu}  {Ag}  {Au}  {Pt} {10}
{02}  {Cr}  {Es}  {Du}  {Pr}  {Co}  {09}
   {03}  {04}  {05}  {06}  {07}  {08}


I couldn't say why I started doing it this way. I think it was because kingdom cards were generally bought more often than treasure cards, so they were kept more accessible. As the game grew, we just kept it this way.

Like others, I arrange the cards in ascending cost order.

Edit: Oh, and I keep the mat in front of me with my deck. I make sure it's not too close to my discard pile so that if a card gets knocked around, I don't wonder if it was on my Native Village/Island or not. Trash is usually in some dark corner away from the kingdom cards and not too close to any one person's deck (lest someone wonders why he ended up with 20 Coppers, 9 Estates, and 25 Curses).

Does that not make some of the cards a bit far away to reach though, as people tend to sit opposite each other.

So if you are sitting front and back all the Kingdom cards are not as easily to hand to one player. And if you sit end to end then you have to reach a fair bit to the other side.
Logged
Try the Ozle Google Map Challenge!
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=7466.0

Sullying players Enjoyment of Innovation since 2013 Apparently!

Kuildeous

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3834
  • Respect: +2202
    • View Profile
Re: How do you set up the game IRL?
« Reply #20 on: March 15, 2012, 02:24:24 pm »
0

Does that not make some of the cards a bit far away to reach though, as people tend to sit opposite each other.

So if you are sitting front and back all the Kingdom cards are not as easily to hand to one player. And if you sit end to end then you have to reach a fair bit to the other side.

That has come up before. Usually we ask the player at that end to toss a Cellar or a King's Court.

Seems like any setup will have someone reaching for something unless you can put it on a rotating surface. In that case, I would pursue a more square setup.

I actually had a setup when I'd pull out the square card table. I cannot remember how exactly it went. It usually had the three base treasures and three base victory cards in a 3x2 array. I put kingdom cards on the outside, but they kind of doubled up at the bottom. I turned the Potion/Curse/Platinum/Colony cards orthogonal along the bottom. That usually gave us about 6-10 inches of play space.

We no longer use the square table. Oh, that's why I used the long set upI usually played at long, narrow tables so I needed the real estate at the top and bottom. The tradition just stuck.
Logged
A man has no signature
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.08 seconds with 21 queries.