Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Trashing an Estate for Pirate Ship  (Read 500 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ingix

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 113
  • Shuffle iT Username: Ingix
  • Respect: +119
    • View Profile
Trashing an Estate for Pirate Ship
« on: April 08, 2019, 05:26:52 am »
+1

This is inspired by a bug on Dominion Online, but applies IRL as well:

If you play Pirate Ship in "each other player reveals..." mode and you choose to trash a revealed Estate that is also a Treasure, this does give you a Coin token for the Pirate Ship mat, right? A Treasure was trashed, it just isn't a Treasure any more.
Logged

Dominionaer

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
  • Respect: +38
    • View Profile
Re: Trashing an Estate for Pirate Ship
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2019, 06:42:18 am »
+1

I assume you meant with Inheritance and Capitalism? So other player has bought Inheritance and inherited lets say Militia. You have bought Capitalism. I think you are correct then.
Logged

ben_king

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 176
  • Shuffle iT Username: ben.king
  • formerly grsbmd
  • Respect: +581
    • View Profile
Re: Trashing an Estate for Pirate Ship
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2019, 12:06:23 pm »
+2

Based on the ruling that playing Band of Misfits as a Treasure Map does get you 4 Golds, it would seem that the "if you/anyone trashed..." wording checks what was trashed at the time it was trashed, rather than what the card currently is.  So I agree that you are correct.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1446
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1034
    • View Profile
Re: Trashing an Estate for Pirate Ship
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2019, 09:54:47 pm »
+1

Or Inherit Crown, with cost reduction.

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8164
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Let me tell you a secret...
  • Respect: +9539
    • View Profile
Re: Trashing an Estate for Pirate Ship
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2019, 11:34:53 am »
0

It depends on when Pirate Ship is checking if it's a Treasure.  If it checks "on-trash", then yes, you should get a Coin token.  If it checks the card after it's been trashed (i.e., when the card is no longer player B's and thus no longer an Inherited Action and thus no longer a Treasure), then you would not get a Coin token.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.077 seconds with 21 queries.