Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Groundskeeper, Inheritance and Innovation  (Read 474 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1497
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1046
    • View Profile
Groundskeeper, Inheritance and Innovation
« on: January 11, 2019, 03:27:07 pm »
0

I have Inherited Groundskeeper, and I have bought Innovation.
I gain an Estate, playing it via Innovation on when-gain. The Estate ("Groundskeeper") is now in play, and I'm still resolving when-gains for gaining the Estate. Does the Groundskeeper when-gain trigger now, giving me 1 VP token? If it said, "when you gain a Victory card, if this is in play," there would be no question that it's "yes". But as it is I'm not sure. ...But I guess it should still work?

« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 03:46:14 pm by Jeebus »
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1497
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1046
    • View Profile
Re: Groundskeeper, Inheritance and Innovation
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2019, 03:32:56 pm »
0

I checked, and online it does give you the VP token.

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1497
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1046
    • View Profile
Overlord, Inheritance and Duplicate/Changeling
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2019, 03:44:38 pm »
0

This is a bit different, but kinda related. I have bought Innovation. I buy an Overlord, playing it on when-gain as a Village. Can I now call Duplicate, or exhange it for a Changeling? I'm pretty sure the answer is "no". The Overlord currently has the right cost for this, but I assume that the trigger includes the cost: "When you gain a card costing $x" is different from "when you gain a card, if it costs $x".



Checked and behaves correctly online according to my assumption.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 09:26:18 pm by Jeebus »
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5493
  • Respect: +22131
    • View Profile
Re: Groundskeeper, Inheritance and Innovation
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2019, 03:28:05 am »
+1

I checked, and online it does give you the VP token.
This is correct.
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5493
  • Respect: +22131
    • View Profile
Re: Groundskeeper, Inheritance and Innovation
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2019, 03:29:53 am »
+2

This is a bit different, but kinda related. I have bought Innovation. I buy an Overlord, playing it on when-gain as a Village. Can I now call Duplicate, or exhange it for a Changeling? I'm pretty sure the answer is "no". The Overlord currently has the right cost for this, but I assume that the trigger includes the cost: "When you gain a card costing $x" is different from "when you gain a card, if it costs $x".
Duplicate looks for a card costing up to $6 being gained, which didn't happen, so you can't use it.

Changeling additionally requires that the card didn't move from where it was gained, so you extra can't use it.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1497
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1046
    • View Profile
Re: Groundskeeper, Inheritance and Innovation
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2019, 09:15:56 am »
0

Duplicate looks for a card costing up to $6 being gained, which didn't happen, so you can't use it.

Changeling additionally requires that the card didn't move from where it was gained, so you extra can't use it.

Right. Of course I've been thinking about Innovation not working with Changeling (or Watchtower, Cargo Ship, etc.) all along, and then somehow forgetting when writing this question. Anyway, thanks for your replies!

Incidentally, this means the Triggered Effects page on the wiki needs to be corrected, for anybody reading this that wants to.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.068 seconds with 23 queries.