Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Outpost and Mission interaction  (Read 73 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Udzu

  • Herbalist
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Respect: +4
    • View Profile
Outpost and Mission interaction
« on: January 09, 2019, 11:21:59 am »
+1

According to http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Mission, if you play both Outpost and Mission on the same turn you get to choose which happens first, and it's the Outpost turn that always starts with 3 cards.

However, I'm sightly confused how that could work. Doesn't the decision of which extra turn to take first occur after the turn has finished (an 'after-turn reaction'), and therefore after the clean up phase is already over? By this reasoning, you should always draw 3 cards in that clean up phase, and still be able to choose to have the Mission turn resolved first, saving the Outpost turn for the 5 card start.

Where am I going wrong?
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7463
  • Respect: +8280
    • View Profile
Re: Outpost and Mission interaction
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2019, 11:48:04 am »
+2

According to http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Mission, if you play both Outpost and Mission on the same turn you get to choose which happens first, and it's the Outpost turn that always starts with 3 cards.

However, I'm sightly confused how that could work. Doesn't the decision of which extra turn to take first occur after the turn has finished (an 'after-turn reaction'), and therefore after the clean up phase is already over? By this reasoning, you should always draw 3 cards in that clean up phase, and still be able to choose to have the Mission turn resolved first, saving the Outpost turn for the 5 card start.

Where am I going wrong?

You're misreading the sentence; your actual understanding of the rules is correct.

It says:

Quote
you can choose whether the Mission turn or the Outpost turn happens first; whichever one does will start with a 3 card hand

"Whichever one does" meaning "whichever one happens first"... so the Outpost turn doesn't always have 3 cards; the one that happens first does.

So Outpost/Mission creates an interesting combo where you can get a full regular extra turn (start with 5 cards, and you can buy cards).
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Udzu

  • Herbalist
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Respect: +4
    • View Profile
Re: Outpost and Mission interaction
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2019, 12:17:38 pm »
0

D'oh! Thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.069 seconds with 21 queries.