Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Can you Banquet a Ghost?  (Read 355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

guidobass

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Shuffle iT Username: guidobass
  • Respect: +29
    • View Profile
Can you Banquet a Ghost?
« on: October 01, 2018, 06:57:02 pm »
0

Banquet: Gain 2 Coppers and a non-Victory card costing up to 5.

I could not find anything in my searches on this site. I could not find anything in Empires or Nocturne rule books. Banquet does not specify a card from the Supply.

If the answer is in DSF somewhere please let me know where I missed it.
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5137
  • Respect: +21062
    • View Profile
Re: Can you Banquet a Ghost?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2018, 07:03:06 pm »
+1

Banquet: Gain 2 Coppers and a non-Victory card costing up to 5.

I could not find anything in my searches on this site. I could not find anything in Empires or Nocturne rule books. Banquet does not specify a card from the Supply.

If the answer is in DSF somewhere please let me know where I missed it.
All gainers can only gain from the Supply unless they specify otherwise. Banquet doesn't and Ghost isn't in the Supply, so Banquet can't gain it.
Logged

guidobass

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Shuffle iT Username: guidobass
  • Respect: +29
    • View Profile
Re: Can you Banquet a Ghost?
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2018, 07:06:07 pm »
0

My wife will be happy to know I was right.

Thanks for the quick response. Thanks for a great game.
Logged

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7089
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +9345
    • View Profile
Re: Can you Banquet a Ghost?
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2018, 08:11:47 pm »
0

All gainers can only gain from the Supply unless they specify otherwise. Banquet doesn't and Ghost isn't in the Supply, so Banquet can't gain it.

I feel like this rule needs to be on the first page of every rulebook. It's so often misunderstood.  Everyone knows you can't buy it, but gaining it through non-specific means is not obvious (to people who aren't paying attention).
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1236
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +912
    • View Profile
Re: Can you Banquet a Ghost?
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2018, 08:56:55 am »
0

Well, in this case the mistake was looking in two expansion rulebooks, and not the rulebook of the actual basegame. There are of course many rules not covered by the expansion rulebooks.

The original Dominion rulebook is not completely clear about this though. It says gained cards "usually" come from the supply. You have to look up each card, e.g. Feast, to get a clear answer. So if you only have the first edition rulebook and then buy newer expansions, it could be a bit unclear. The second edition Dominion rulebook is very clear though.

jamfamsam

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 706
  • Shuffle iT Username: jamfamsam
  • Respect: +1183
    • View Profile
Re: Can you Banquet a Ghost?
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2018, 06:47:21 pm »
0

My wife will be happy to know willing to grudgingly accept I was right.

Thanks for the quick response. Thanks for a great game.

FTFY
Logged
"There is no extra charge for awesomeness..."
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.09 seconds with 21 queries.