Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Gain copy of heirlooms?  (Read 454 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

KevinP

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Gain copy of heirlooms?
« on: August 13, 2018, 07:51:55 pm »
0

When Mint or Changeling are in play, can you gain a copy of an heirloom card?

My feeling is that this is against the intent of heirloom cards but not actually against any rule. There are only six copies of each, which is the maximum number of players. Clearly the intent was starting hand only, and these cards are not 'available.' But the way Mint and Changeling are written, I see no reason why you couldn't copy one if they were available.
Logged

silvern

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 110
  • Respect: +147
    • View Profile
Re: Gain copy of heirlooms?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2018, 08:25:01 pm »
+4

Gaining ALWAYS happens from the supply, unless specifically specified otherwise on the card.
Logged

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8058
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +9368
    • View Profile
Re: Gain copy of heirlooms?
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2018, 10:27:43 pm »
0

There is no Goat pile, or Pouch pile, or Cursed Gold pile.  There is no way to gain an Heirloom, just as there is no way to gain a Shelter.  You can be passed one by Masquerade, or it can start in your starting deck: that's it.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Mic Qsenoch

  • 2015 DS Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1665
  • Respect: +4240
    • View Profile
Re: Gain copy of heirlooms?
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2018, 11:18:06 pm »
+6

There is no Goat pile, or Pouch pile, or Cursed Gold pile.  There is no way to gain an Heirloom, just as there is no way to gain a Shelter.  You can be passed one by Masquerade, or it can start in your starting deck: that's it.

You can gain Lucky Coin and Cursed Gold from the trash with Rogue/Graverobber.
Logged

crj

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 935
  • Respect: +1036
    • View Profile
Re: Gain copy of heirlooms?
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2018, 10:00:04 am »
0

Or, for that matter, Necropolis using Lurker. If you really want.
Logged

Simon Jester

  • Navigator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
  • Shuffle iT Username: hockeysemlan
  • Respect: +101
    • View Profile
Re: Gain copy of heirlooms?
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2018, 10:03:10 am »
0

Or, for that matter, Necropolis using Lurker. If you really want.

If you don't want you can't. Because you prolly won't do it..

DG

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4022
  • Respect: +2558
    • View Profile
Re: Gain copy of heirlooms?
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2018, 10:05:36 am »
0

The online bots will happily play a masquerade and give you a magic lamp.
Logged

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2908
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3679
    • View Profile
Re: Gain copy of heirlooms?
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2018, 10:13:59 am »
+2

There is no Goat pile, or Pouch pile, or Cursed Gold pile.  There is no way to gain an Heirloom, just as there is no way to gain a Shelter.  You can be passed one by Masquerade, or it can start in your starting deck: that's it.

You can gain Lucky Coin and Cursed Gold from the trash with Rogue/Graverobber.

Or, indeed, any of them with Thief, if you insist on playing with Thief.
Logged

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4691
  • Respect: +5044
    • View Profile
Re: Gain copy of heirlooms?
« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2018, 04:52:08 pm »
+2

Or, for that matter, Necropolis using Lurker. If you really want.

If you don't want you can't. Because you prolly won't do it..

This is not logically sound. You only do if you want and can, or must and can. You don't do if you can't, or neither want nor must. If you must and can but don't want, you do, which is obviously distinguishable from the case where you can't, and don't do. If there is no situation where you ever must, can't and don't want produce equal outcomes, but that doesn't make them equal expressions.

At least that's how I' d formulate this.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.095 seconds with 20 queries.