Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11]  All

Author Topic: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities  (Read 5489 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • Respect: +85
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #250 on: September 10, 2018, 12:50:10 pm »
0

Hehe, good point -- I somehow didn't notice that it was far more easy to accomplish the loop with Somewhat more Straightforward Mastermind than with Very Wacky Mastermind.

A solution, although less fun and glitzy, is to steal some lingo from Scheme:

Quote
Somewhat less Straightforward Mastermind - Action - $5
+1 Action
+1 Card
+1 Buy
At the start of Clean-up this turn, you may choose two cards you have in play. If you discard them from play this turn, put them on the bottom of your deck in any order.
-
You may play this by discarding or trashing another card from your hand.

This version can move non-Actions as well... which makes it more powerful.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2018, 01:11:19 pm by Neirai the Forgiven »
Logged

Holunder9

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 447
  • Respect: +181
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #251 on: September 10, 2018, 01:32:59 pm »
+1

This doesn't look all th atexciting. Scheme is so good because it reduces risk whereas this doesn't. It is really more of a Market Square with some cherry on top.
I don't get the below-the-line stuff, it indicates that this card allows you to trash/discard a card to play it which would make it far too strong (cantrip trasher).

When one of your cards is trashed or discarded, you may play this from your hand.

This might be the wording you are looking for and it is simply a mess rule-wise due to the discard phase and due to trashing out of your turn.
Logged

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4541
  • Respect: +4884
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #252 on: September 10, 2018, 01:56:57 pm »
+1

This doesn't look all th atexciting. Scheme is so good because it reduces risk whereas this doesn't. It is really more of a Market Square with some cherry on top.
I don't get the below-the-line stuff, it indicates that this card allows you to trash/discard a card to play it which would make it far too strong (cantrip trasher).

When one of your cards is trashed or discarded, you may play this from your hand.

This might be the wording you are looking for and it is simply a mess rule-wise due to the discard phase and due to trashing out of your turn.

I agree to most of what you said, but this isn't unsolvable. You could do something like just adding "during your Action phase" and probably specifying that the card has to be discarded/trashed from your hand. Yes, it allows drawing a card and getting an Action in the middle of another card, but the draw at least isn't worse than e.g. Overgrown Estate. I think the fact that the card itself is nonterminal introduces tracking annoyances, though. Somehow I'd like it better terminal. Drawing also has the issue of drawing further Masterminds and using them on the same trigger. Here's my (not so great) attempt at a version:

Mastermind, Action - Reaction
+3$
You may put one of the cards you discard from play this turn onto your deck when you do.
---
When you trash a card from your hand during your Action phase, you may play this from your hand.

Holunder9

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 447
  • Respect: +181
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #253 on: September 10, 2018, 04:30:48 pm »
+2

When you trash a card from your hand during your Action phase, you may play this from your hand.
This wording works but I feel like Neirai is not really sure what he actually wants. If that is really what he is after it feels pretty weird, play from your hand triggers feel like they belong on terminals and Somewhat less Straightforward Mastermind seems to be now more about being a conditional Working Village than that Pearl-Diver-Scheming thingy.
Logged

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • Respect: +85
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #254 on: September 10, 2018, 06:06:13 pm »
0

Quote
I feel like Neirai is not really sure what he actually wants.
You're not wrong!

I mean, I'm in the discovery phase for this card. I feel like it accidentally became a restart village and I like it in that spot, but I also like the idea of it being the scheme thing. For the time being I'm probably posting too much about it in its nascent form, since it's still evolving a lot, but I'd like to know about the pitfalls in it before going too much further down that road.

Quote
it indicates that this card allows you to trash/discard a card to play it which would make it far too strong (cantrip trasher).
Good point, it shouldn't be a cantrip trasher.

The intention of the bottom half is to let you play it from a dead hand. I'm thinking it makes more sense to steal text from Royal Carriage to make it more straightforward (wait I used that word already.)

Quote
Still evolving Mastermind - Action - $5
+1 Action
+1 Card
+1 Buy
At the start of Clean-up this turn, you may choose two cards you have in play. If you discard them from play this turn, put them on the bottom of your deck in any order.
-
Directly after resolving an Action, you may discard a card to play this.
Logged

Holunder9

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 447
  • Respect: +181
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #255 on: September 11, 2018, 03:27:58 am »
+1

Quote
Still evolving Mastermind - Action - $5
+1 Action
+1 Card
+1 Buy
At the start of Clean-up this turn, you may choose two cards you have in play. If you discard them from play this turn, put them on the bottom of your deck in any order.
-
Directly after resolving an Action, you may discard a card to play this.
The village effect looks like Hamlet at the first glance but it is much stronger, has similarities with the upcoming Action tokens and like with Sauna you can now play terminal draw before the village.
Logged

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • Respect: +85
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #256 on: September 11, 2018, 10:13:45 am »
0

Holunder9, you bring up a very good point. I should treat this card lightly given the upcoming expansion; it's possible that I think it has a cool gimmick now but it gets very lame when Renaissance comes out. Once Action tokens are in, the benefit of a discard-to-start-again card is questionable.
Logged

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • Respect: +85
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #257 on: September 11, 2018, 10:39:48 am »
0

More blathering:

What I like about this is that it feels interesting as part of the same "Directly after resolving an Action" mechanical set as Coin of the Realm and Royal Carriage. But those cards are both Reserve cards, for a reason. Royal Carriage is entirely set up to be a card that you can only "play" as "Directly after resolving an Action" by having a top that is just +1 Action, put this on your Tavern mat.

I purposely chose not to include Durations and Reserves in Antiquities. Sometimes I realize I'm designing them anyhow.

I haven't had a chance to play with Still evolving Mastermind yet, I think it's probably overpowered (more like a $6 than a $5) but I'm not sure yet. Comparing it to Hamlet and Sauna are both rather enlightening.
Logged

Holunder9

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 447
  • Respect: +181
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #258 on: September 11, 2018, 03:18:54 pm »
+1

I don't think that one shouldn't do something just because it might be remotely similar to cards that come up in Renaissance.
I also don't think that this is too pricey for $5.
It is worse than Working Village as you gotta discard a card, it is better due to the Sauna effect and it is better due to the Pearl Diver Scheme thingy.

No idea which of these 3 effects outweighs which but $5 seems to be roughly right.
Logged

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4541
  • Respect: +4884
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #259 on: September 12, 2018, 08:03:49 am »
0

Quote
Still evolving Mastermind - Action - $5
+1 Action
+1 Card
+1 Buy
At the start of Clean-up this turn, you may choose two cards you have in play. If you discard them from play this turn, put them on the bottom of your deck in any order.
-
Directly after resolving an Action, you may discard a card to play this.

This is pretty similar to

Quote
Still evolving Mastermind - Action - $5
+1 Action
+1 Card
+1 Buy
You may discard a card for +1 Action.
At the start of Clean-up this turn, you may choose two cards you have in play. If you discard them from play this turn, put them on the bottom of your deck in any order.

Not the same, but not all that different, either.

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • Respect: +85
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #260 on: September 12, 2018, 06:15:10 pm »
0

Quote
Still evolving Mastermind - Action - $5
+1 Action
+1 Card
+1 Buy
At the start of Clean-up this turn, you may choose two cards you have in play. If you discard them from play this turn, put them on the bottom of your deck in any order.
-
Directly after resolving an Action, you may discard a card to play this.

This is pretty similar to

Quote
Still evolving Mastermind - Action - $5
+1 Action
+1 Card
+1 Buy
You may discard a card for +1 Action.
At the start of Clean-up this turn, you may choose two cards you have in play. If you discard them from play this turn, put them on the bottom of your deck in any order.

Not the same, but not all that different, either.

If I'm catching your meaning, it's true that the card is a lot like "Worker's Village +1 Buy but only if you discard a card, + double sort of bad scheme" so the pricing question really rests on how good the scheming part is.

Further musing: it's both worse than scheme, since scheme controls when you're going to get the card back, and better, since it's more persistent so you can combo it, and also better because this can target any card that's in play, not just actions.

I have played around with leaving the wording as is, so that you can move any card you played all turn, and changing it so that you can only move cards you already had in play when you play Mastermind. The latter is weaker but has fun highlights when you play Mastermind during a different phase, something that you can do.

Of course there's the danger of a card that only shines if you know and can replicate weird edge cases.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2018, 06:22:42 pm by Neirai the Forgiven »
Logged

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • Respect: +85
    • View Profile
Re: (Art Reveals within!) Dominion: Antiquities
« Reply #261 on: September 13, 2018, 05:14:40 pm »
0

I played Still evolving Mastermind last night, it seemed to be in a pretty good place; I played it in a kingdom with a number of other villages (Bustling, Blessed, and Cursed, as well as Conclave -- random kingdoms are fun) and it seemed to be a good contender -- not a card you'd never buy against those cards, nor one you'd always buy against those cards, but one you'd buy a few of as well as more standard villages.

The set didn't have a lot of good payload cards, though, and in either case one game does not an adequate test make. But for now I'm pretty happy with it.

Edit: this was Still evolving Mastermind that chooses cards at Clean-up, rather than the idea of choosing cards immediately and then moving them at Clean-up. This was the more powerful version, and I think it felt okay that way.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2018, 05:15:53 pm by Neirai the Forgiven »
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11]  All
 

Page created in 0.077 seconds with 21 queries.