Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: note to self  (Read 1156 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1412
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1595
    • View Profile
note to self
« on: March 24, 2018, 11:17:22 pm »
+13

when it's late in the game and you draw two and you're like should I get an estate, first check if there is Baths
Logged

ThetaSigma12

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1521
  • Shuffle iT Username: ThetaSigma12
  • Respect: +1576
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2018, 07:58:31 am »
+3

when it's late in the game and you draw two and you're like should I get an estate, first check if there is Baths

And then fail to notice that all the tokens are already gone because your opponent noticed baths way before you did.
Logged
If you have a fan card you want to be created, just post about it here! I'd love to take a look at it.

Dingan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1090
  • Shuffle iT Username: Dingan
  • Respect: +1578
    • View Profile
    • Website title
Re: note to self
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2018, 02:28:10 pm »
0

when it's early in the game and you draw two and you're like should I get an estate, first check if there is Baths
Logged

jonts26

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2721
  • Shuffle iT Username: jonts
  • Respect: +3591
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2018, 02:41:23 pm »
0

In games with mission and baths, buying a mission is worth 2 points for $4 and a buy.
Logged

Fuu

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
  • Shuffle iT Username: Fuu
  • Respect: +78
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2018, 03:15:56 pm »
0

If you trashed your opponent's economy with multiple throned bandits, don't be afraid of the penultimate province rule. :(
Logged

Commodore Chuckles

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 338
  • Shuffle iT Username: Commodore Chuckles
  • Respect: +612
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2018, 10:10:40 pm »
+2

when it's a shelters game and you draw two with hovel and you're like should I get an estate, first check if there is Baths
Logged

teamlyle

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • Shuffle iT Username: La-Ya
  • Ah... German Hello?
  • Respect: +275
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2018, 11:09:44 pm »
+11

If you're thinking of playing your Necropolis on T1 "just for fun," first check if there is Arena.
Logged
"In your face." -Jacob
"Ooh. You just got burned." -Jack
"First place again, disciple!" -Ruikai
"Ugh... 399 cursors. Time to hack!" -Ben
"You gotta do your homework, dude!" -Yul
"Come on man, let the plat play." -The Plat
"It's nice to have a good 'in your face' every once in a while." -Jacob
"OBJECTION!!! The witness is being SUPER gross." -Phoenix Wright
"Milord, Inquisitor Fey sentences that burger to my stomach!" -Maya Fey
"Dude, I only had 4 cups of coffee this morning so I'm gonna crash." -Swi
"Okay, okay. My team name is: Team Lyle: the Advancing Armadillo." -Lyle
"Im sorry Cedric, we just have to do what we have to do to get me to be a op." -Paul
"Well, I prefer loyal people. I dont want anyone to be a La-Ya except for me." -La-Ya
"I don't play Monkey vs. Monkey. I'm too busy in pacifist mode, watching my buildings survive and thrive!" -Joshua
Lyle's mom: Are you guys going to play regular Dominion, or are you going to play cheat?
Lyle: Of course we're playing Cheat Dominion!

ackmondual

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 369
  • Respect: +233
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2018, 12:38:26 am »
+1

Don't get all that excited top-decking a Platinum.... when you're going to play Ghost that same turn!
Logged
Village, +2 Actions.  Village, +3 Actions.  Village, +4 Actions.  Village, +5 Actions.  Village, +6 Actions.  Village, +7 Actions.  Workers Village, +2 Buys, +8 Actions.  End Action Phase.  No Treasures to play.  No buy.  No Night cards to play

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8016
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +9240
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2018, 12:50:09 am »
+1

Don't get all that excited top-decking a Platinum.... when you're going to play Ghost that same turn!

Depends on how you're doing it.  Herbalist will be after Ghost.  If it's a Royal Seal effect, then yeah, that's kind of pointless.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

traces Around

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 264
  • Shuffle iT Username: tracer
  • Respect: +353
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2018, 01:40:14 am »
+5

If you're thinking of playing your Necropolis on T1 "just for fun," first check if there is Arena.

Just don't do it ever except rarely in case of Bonfire. People who play the dead Necropolis are what we call weird.

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10628
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +11073
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2018, 04:28:14 am »
+2

when it's a shelters game and you draw two with hovel and you're like should I get an estate, first check if there is Baths

And regardless of whether it's there, don't get the Estate.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The Twitch channel where I stream DominionThe YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's albums for free

LaLight

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 658
  • Shuffle iT Username: LaLight
  • Because I'm a potato
  • Respect: +828
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2018, 04:45:55 am »
0

when it's a shelters game and you draw two with hovel and you're like should I get an estate, first check if there is Baths

And regardless of whether it's there, don't get the Estate.

What if Shepherd is there tho
Logged
Wow where is all this LaLight love coming from all of the sudden?

Wins: M87, M85, M92, M99, M107, RMM37, RMM39, RMM44, RMM45, BM24, M86, M94, M95, M100, ZM24
Losses: M88, M90, RMM38, NM8, NM9, M97, M106, RMM46, RMM48, ZM23, NM10, M115, M108
Draws: RMM40
MVPs: RMM39, RMM44
Mod/Co-mod: RMM37, M89, M93, M91, M96, RMM41, M98, M101, M102, M104, M105, M109

jomini

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Respect: +682
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2018, 07:00:38 am »
0

when it's a shelters game and you draw two with hovel and you're like should I get an estate, first check if there is Baths

And regardless of whether it's there, don't get the Estate.

Unless you are able to Inherit something fun like Iw, Shepard, or Sir Martin. (Bonus points if you Inherit on T1/2 via Cursed gold). Or if you have a tight Upgrade deck. Or if you plan to Margrave -> Masq -> B-Crat -> Masq.

But yes, outside of edge cases, it is exceedingly rare to make that be more VP than a Duchy buy from the estate move.  Pretty much all the cases where you want to burn the Hov with an estate buy, you just want to buy estates regardless.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2018, 07:05:41 am by jomini »
Logged

faust

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2021
  • Shuffle iT Username: faust
  • Respect: +2821
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2018, 07:54:54 am »
0

when it's a shelters game and you draw two with hovel and you're like should I get an estate, first check if there is Baths

And regardless of whether it's there, don't get the Estate.

Unless you are able to Inherit something fun like Iw, Shepard, or Sir Martin. (Bonus points if you Inherit on T1/2 via Cursed gold). Or if you have a tight Upgrade deck. Or if you plan to Margrave -> Masq -> B-Crat -> Masq.

But yes, outside of edge cases, it is exceedingly rare to make that be more VP than a Duchy buy from the estate move.  Pretty much all the cases where you want to burn the Hov with an estate buy, you just want to buy estates regardless.
There's the case where you want to trash the Estate later anyway, but trashing Hovel first gives an extra Tomb point!
Logged
Since the number of points is within a constant factor of the number of city quarters, in the long run we can get (4 - ε) ↑↑ n points in n turns for any ε > 0.

jonts26

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2721
  • Shuffle iT Username: jonts
  • Respect: +3591
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2018, 09:30:47 am »
+6

If you're thinking of playing your Necropolis on T1 "just for fun," first check if there is Arena.

Just don't do it ever except rarely in case of Bonfire. People who play the dead Necropolis are what we call weird.

But clicking necro is easier than clicking end actions. I don't need to move my hand all the way to the right side of the screen.
Logged

Commodore Chuckles

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 338
  • Shuffle iT Username: Commodore Chuckles
  • Respect: +612
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2018, 01:41:10 pm »
+1

Don't get all that excited top-decking a Platinum....

You could have stopped right here, since topdecking a stop card is almost never a good idea.
Logged

Dingan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1090
  • Shuffle iT Username: Dingan
  • Respect: +1578
    • View Profile
    • Website title
Re: note to self
« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2018, 02:02:27 pm »
+10

Logged

O

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 834
  • Respect: +600
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2018, 02:17:55 pm »
+7

Don't get all that excited top-decking a Platinum....

You could have stopped right here, since topdecking a stop card is almost never a good idea.

This is perhaps the most egregious use of "almost never" yet.
Logged

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6897
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +9462
    • View Profile
Re: note to self
« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2018, 10:19:18 pm »
+2

Haunted Woods kills Night cards dead. I know it's common knowledge at this point, but apparently I need to be more careful.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.119 seconds with 20 queries.