Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?  (Read 556 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Philipp

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« on: February 03, 2018, 05:42:02 am »
+2

Hi! We have a question in regards to the card Hunting Party. Its first action is +1 Card, its second is +1 Action, and its third is an instruction that lets you gain new cards into your hand. So our question: Can the +1 Action be "held" and used on a new card one gains through the putting of extra cards into your hand, if an action is drawn?

It seems the Dominion base rules suggest to always apply instructions in order, which may mean that +1 Action would need to be done immediately, and thus cannot be done on the extra cards one would only draw in an instruction following it. But we felt maybe as Hunting Party is a 5 gold high-value card, it is intended that one can apply the +1 also to an extra action drawn with it. (Or maybe it can only be "held" if one cannot follow the instruction at first as one doesn't have an action card in deck, before drawing more?)

A similar question applies to the card Farming Village. We are unfortunately left with the German instructions, which might add some extra translation confusion at times (though it seems well-translated). We also checked the Wiki on this card but are still not 100% certain. Thanks!
« Last Edit: February 03, 2018, 05:43:05 am by Philipp »
Logged

dz

  • Scout
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Shuffle iT Username: DZ
  • Respect: +35
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2018, 05:52:43 am »
+3

If you're asking if you can play an Action card you drew through Hunting Party, then yes, but only after finishing Hunting Party's instructions. +1 Action means you may play another Action card this turn (when you're normally only allowed 1); it doesn't mean "play an Action card right now." And you are supposed to completely finish playing Card A before playing Card B (unless Card A's instructions literally say "play Card B" like Throne Room).

And for Farming Village, after you find an Action or Treasure from your deck, you may then play another 2 Action cards this turn. But only after finding that card.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2018, 05:56:04 am by dz »
Logged

Philipp

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2018, 05:58:26 am »
+1

Thanks! So to clarify, does that mean "+1 Action" or e.g. "+2 Actions" on any card with several instructions can always be used at *any* point in that card's turn, thus one needs to ignore the "do the instructions in order from top to bottom" from the base rules in regards to that (as the instruction to draw more cards is *below* the instruction to do +1 action)?

(Again, I have German rules, so I can't do very exact quote rules and there may be extra fuzziness introduced.)
Logged

dz

  • Scout
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Shuffle iT Username: DZ
  • Respect: +35
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2018, 06:05:13 am »
+2

Yes, if you wanna use that +1 Action, you use it later that Action phase. And if this helps clarify, here's what Dominion 2E rulebook says:

"+1 Action" - You may play an additional Action card this turn.
When this happens, it just adds to the number of Action cards you can play; you finish resolving the current card before actually playing more Action cards.
Logged

Philipp

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2018, 06:14:03 am »
0

Fantastic thanks!

That 2nd edition + English rulebook sounds very clear. Bookmarked for reference.
Logged

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7971
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +9180
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2018, 10:58:17 am »
+1

+1 Action does not mean "immediately play another Action card right now".  It means "once you're finished with what this card does, you can play another Action afterward".
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

crj

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 643
  • Respect: +750
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2018, 01:25:03 pm »
+1

Based on my experiences teaching Dominion to people, I'd say the clearest way to explain "+1 Action" is "Immediately add 1 to the number of Actions you may play this turn".

Also, people grasp what "+1 Action" does a lot better if you explain it at the same time as, and in the same way as, "+1 Buy".  The comparison is useful, because it's harder to make the mistake of thinking "+1 Buy" means you buy something there and then.
Logged

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3271
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2507
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2018, 02:41:31 pm »
+1

I also like to liken it to coins, too.  "Actions" is a currency that you use up when playing an action card.  "+N Actions" just adds that much to your Actions currency.
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

Watno

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2676
  • Shuffle iT Username: Watno
  • Respect: +2863
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2018, 03:12:18 pm »
+9

Is this one of those threads where we keep saying the same thing in slightly different words?
Logged

enfynet

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1682
  • Respect: +1142
    • View Profile
    • JD's Custom Clubs
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2018, 03:17:16 pm »
+2

Pedantic (adj) : F.DS users
Logged
"I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious."

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2847
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3509
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2018, 03:54:04 pm »
+6

Is this one of those threads where we keep saying the same thing in slightly different words?

It's one of those threads where each post is a paraphrase of a previous post.
Logged

Chris is me

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2428
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +2994
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2018, 03:57:38 pm »
+6

Is this one of those threads where we keep saying the same thing in slightly different words?

It's one of those threads where each post is a paraphrase of a previous post.

Along those lines, its sort of when each person decides to answer the question, but with their own spin on the verbiage used.
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

they/them

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10496
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +10897
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2018, 05:52:06 pm »
+1

Is this one of those threads where we keep saying the same thing in slightly different words?

Is this one of those threads where we keep saying the same thing in slightly different words?

It's one of those threads where each post is a paraphrase of a previous post.

Is this one of those threads where we keep saying the same thing in slightly different words?

It's one of those threads where each post is a paraphrase of a previous post.

Along those lines, its sort of when each person decides to answer the question, but with their own spin on the verbiage used.

Yes, this is a rules questions thread.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The Twitch channel where I stream DominionThe YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's albums for free

Chappy7

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 249
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chappy7
  • Respect: +324
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2018, 01:13:39 pm »
0

A card like throne room, however, requires you to play an action immediately, sort of like how you interpreted Hunting Party.  Several other cards also do this, such as Golem and Herald. These cards give you a conditional + action
« Last Edit: February 05, 2018, 03:17:38 pm by Chappy7 »
Logged

Philipp

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Re: Hunting Party: Can I postpone the +1 action until drawing cards?
« Reply #14 on: February 05, 2018, 01:30:08 pm »
0

Right, that's good to know! Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.155 seconds with 20 queries.