Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: autoplay gotchas  (Read 1552 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1481
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1760
    • View Profile
autoplay gotchas
« on: January 24, 2018, 11:52:31 pm »
0

Autoplay is great. Occasionally, it is terrible.

This sounds like one of those puzzles, but I discarded a Faithful Hound with an Inn the other day after having drawn my thin deck, planning to draw it back with a cantrip, and it got set aside; I needed it to trigger my Magic Lamp (maybe it was Leprechaun) and lost. (It's not a true gotcha in that I also could have discarded some other stuff, had I been smarter).

Any other autoplay problems? I've turned autoplay off for the travelers; making the decision matters too often.

I suspect it's healthiest to play with most of the autoplays off, except Crown, Changeling, and Coin of the Realm. The problem is that you don't realize "hey, this is one of those boards where I might not always reveal my Moat" until your opponent plays the attack you didn't want to reveal Moat to.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2018, 11:59:00 pm by ehunt »
Logged

traces Around

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 320
  • Shuffle iT Username: tracer
  • Respect: +434
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 12:28:27 am »
+1

It was Lamp and don't worry I already had that game wrapped up, although I would have been fine with an undo.

Please keep as much reaction autoplay on as possible, if not for you for your opponent who no longer needs to wait multiple times during their turn.

faust

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2752
  • Shuffle iT Username: faust
  • Respect: +3836
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 02:09:07 am »
+4

You definitely need to be careful. Traveller exchanges are also tricky. Recently I had a board where I wanted to keep those Treasure Hunters...

Then there are several missing automplay options that are relatively harm-free, like "always reveal" for Gladiator/Explorer.
Logged
Since the number of points is within a constant factor of the number of city quarters, in the long run we can get (4 - ε) ↑↑ n points in n turns for any ε > 0.

popsofctown

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5477
  • Respect: +2848
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2018, 08:59:16 am »
0

I don't have Faithful Hound on autoplay since missing the reshuffle doesn't feel like an edge case to me.

If there are four cards left in your deck, and card counting tells you none of them are actions (or worse, it's Mountebank and three coppers), you don't want to set it aside, you want to discard it so it can connect with a village.

If you have an empty deck and are militia-discarding from a hand of Peddler, Silver, Silver, Estate, Doggie, that also seems like a bad time to set him aside.
Logged

Chris is me

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2734
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +3431
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2018, 01:23:51 pm »
+2

I didnít realize settings persist between separate games. I miss the MMF modís take on this feature which put autoplay on the screen more directly. I think there should be a little dot or star or something any time a pile is configured to do something other than the default.
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

pm me if you wanna do stuff for the blog

they/them

Cave-o-sapien

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 886
  • Respect: +1663
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2018, 02:30:00 pm »
0

I didnít realize settings persist between separate games.

Wait. They do what, now?
Logged

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7202
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +10017
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2018, 02:41:55 pm »
+1

I didnít realize settings persist between separate games.

Wait. They do what, now?

They shouldn't persist if you change them mid-game.
Logged

Cave-o-sapien

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 886
  • Respect: +1663
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2018, 02:44:42 pm »
0

I didnít realize settings persist between separate games.

Wait. They do what, now?

They shouldn't persist if you change them mid-game.

That matches my experience. That's why I was confused.
Logged

Chris is me

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2734
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +3431
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2018, 03:30:33 pm »
0

I didnít realize settings persist between separate games.

Wait. They do what, now?

They shouldn't persist if you change them mid-game.

I was interpreting ďturn them off for the travelersĒ as ďoh, I have to remember to turn these off, because they default onĒ, I did not think they did? Was concerned I didnít notice...
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

pm me if you wanna do stuff for the blog

they/them

Mic Qsenoch

  • 2015 DS Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1688
  • Respect: +4301
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2018, 03:41:28 pm »
+6

At the risk of saying something that everyone already knows, but in the interest of not seeing this go on:

In the "Options" tab there are default autoplay settings that you can customize for your personal enjoyment and persist from game to game.

When you change autoplay options in the middle of a game (by right clicking on whatever card), they do not persist to the next game.
Logged

ackmondual

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 460
  • Respect: +292
    • View Profile
Re: autoplay gotchas
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2018, 11:35:11 pm »
+2

Play All...
Silver
Silver
Silver
Copper

... !! Now I can't buy a Grand Market!  >:(
« Last Edit: February 08, 2018, 12:47:07 am by ackmondual »
Logged
Village, +2 Actions.  Village, +3 Actions.  Village, +4 Actions.  Village, +5 Actions.  Village, +6 Actions.  Village, +7 Actions.  Workers Village, +2 Buys, +8 Actions.  End Action Phase.  No Treasures to play.  No buy.  No Night cards to play
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.124 seconds with 21 queries.