Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Poverty Hex  (Read 357 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sadetwei

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Poverty Hex
« on: December 18, 2017, 11:36:28 pm »
0

I bought a cursed village during the buy phase. Then, the hex I received was "poverty," which states that I must "discard down to three cards in hand." Since I have already played all my cards for the action and buy phases this turn, should this hex refer to the following turn, or will the hex simply have no negative effect?
Logged

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1402
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1590
    • View Profile
Re: Poverty Hex
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2017, 11:47:38 pm »
+3

You discard at the time the Hex is received -- which, as you point out, is rarely going to have any effect on you given that it's the buy phase already and you've played all your treasures -- Poverty is a pretty lucky Hex to draw when you're buying your Cursed Village.

As a general principle in Dominion, you just do what a card says literally, even if the result seems to go against the flavor of a card.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.08 seconds with 20 queries.