Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed  (Read 423 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

popsofctown

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5089
  • Respect: +2576
    • View Profile
Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed
« on: December 04, 2017, 05:38:01 pm »
+7

Online, if you Moat an Ambassador, and no copies are returned, you don't see what is revealed.

I was going to make a bug thread, but then I realized there's a left field interpretation of the rules where that is correct???  Maybe???
Logged
Also you probably are an expert if you buy two bureaucrats early.

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4564
  • Respect: +18272
    • View Profile
Re: Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2017, 05:51:37 pm »
+5

Online, if you Moat an Ambassador, and no copies are returned, you don't see what is revealed.

I was going to make a bug thread, but then I realized there's a left field interpretation of the rules where that is correct???  Maybe???
"Reveal a card from your hand" is how Ambassador starts. You reveal a card!
Logged

Drab Emordnilap

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1816
  • Shuffle iT Username: Drab Emordnilap
  • Luther Bell Hendricks V
  • Respect: +1834
    • View Profile
Re: Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2017, 06:51:57 pm »
+2

Online, if you Moat an Ambassador, and no copies are returned, you don't see what is revealed.

I was going to make a bug thread, but then I realized there's a left field interpretation of the rules where that is correct???  Maybe???
"Reveal a card from your hand" is how Ambassador starts. You reveal a card!

Maybe there is an argument to be made that, because of moat, you are unaffected by the attack, and having the card revealed to you is an effect of the attack.

I think it's a bad argument, though.
Logged

Jimmmmm

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1687
  • Shuffle iT Username: Jimmmmm
  • Respect: +1857
    • View Profile
Re: Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2017, 07:11:01 pm »
+4

Online, if you Moat an Ambassador, and no copies are returned, you don't see what is revealed.

I was going to make a bug thread, but then I realized there's a left field interpretation of the rules where that is correct???  Maybe???
"Reveal a card from your hand" is how Ambassador starts. You reveal a card!

Maybe there is an argument to be made that, because of moat, you are unaffected by the attack, and having the card revealed to you is an effect of the attack.

I think it's a bad argument, though.

By that bad argument, once you've Moated you have to close your eyes (and block your ears if the Attacker is announcing their actions) so the Attack can't affect you by making you witness what it does.
Logged

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3242
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2428
    • View Profile
Re: Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2017, 07:27:05 pm »
+3

Online, if you Moat an Ambassador, and no copies are returned, you don't see what is revealed.

I was going to make a bug thread, but then I realized there's a left field interpretation of the rules where that is correct???  Maybe???
"Reveal a card from your hand" is how Ambassador starts. You reveal a card!

Maybe there is an argument to be made that, because of moat, you are unaffected by the attack, and having the card revealed to you is an effect of the attack.

I think it's a bad argument, though.

By that bad argument, once you've Moated you have to close your eyes (and block your ears if the Attacker is announcing their actions) so the Attack can't affect you by making you witness what it does.

But closing your eyes and blocking your ears is an effect of them playing the attack card.

In fact, revealing the Moat is an effect of them playing the attack card!  Santa Claus now exists.
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

Jimmmmm

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1687
  • Shuffle iT Username: Jimmmmm
  • Respect: +1857
    • View Profile
Re: Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2017, 08:39:35 pm »
+1

I guess a vaguely important point here is that when you reveal a card, you are not revealing it to the other player/s, or interacting with them at all, you're adding the identity of that card to the set of public information, which is by definition available to all players at all times.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6459
  • Respect: +7112
    • View Profile
Re: Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2017, 09:03:33 pm »
+16

The other day my opponent played Torturer, and I revealed Moat but it didn't work. Despite Moat's promise that I wouldn't be affected, I still felt deeply hurt that my opponent would play a Torturer.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1041
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +756
    • View Profile
Re: Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2017, 11:17:23 am »
0

Yes, by that logic you shouldn't witness that your opponent draws 2 cards with Witch either. That information is just as public as a card being revealed.

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2753
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3219
    • View Profile
Re: Being so unaffected by Ambassador you can't see what is revealed
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2017, 12:05:57 pm »
+1

Ah, but you don't need to see that your opponent draws 2 cards with Witch—you know that they'll do that anyway; the card forces them to.

You don't get to see how many cards they drew with Scrying Pool though. :)
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.072 seconds with 21 queries.