Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Changeling: rules bug?  (Read 513 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

crj

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 395
  • Respect: +501
    • View Profile
Changeling: rules bug?
« on: November 16, 2017, 01:23:05 pm »
+2

I see what the Changeling card says, and its intent is pretty clear.

However, the rulebook (which, by my understanding, takes precedence over the card text even if it's directly contradictory) says:
Quote
you cannot do it if the cost is neither more or less than $3

Um! Er. While the intent of that is also pretty clear, it doesn't say what it means. A card costing exactly $3 has a cost that is neither more or less than $3 and the rules therefore say you can't exchange such a card on gain for a Changeling. /-8
Logged

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3242
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2428
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2017, 02:24:53 pm »
0

I've always thought that it was Donald > Card Text > Rulebook.  Donald always tries interpreting rules confusion by looking at what the card says, not the rulebook.
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4564
  • Respect: +18272
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2017, 02:44:36 pm »
+6

I see what the Changeling card says, and its intent is pretty clear.

However, the rulebook (which, by my understanding, takes precedence over the card text even if it's directly contradictory) says:
Quote
you cannot do it if the cost is neither more or less than $3

Um! Er. While the intent of that is also pretty clear, it doesn't say what it means. A card costing exactly $3 has a cost that is neither more or less than $3 and the rules therefore say you can't exchange such a card on gain for a Changeling. /-8
Thanks, as always we will try to fix these things for future printings.

You can exchange a $3 for Changeling.
Logged

ConMan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1223
  • Respect: +1410
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2017, 05:36:06 pm »
0

The intent seems to be something closer to "You can't exchange for something whose cost cannot be directly compared with $3, such as Transmute (which costs a Potion) or Royal Blacksmith (which costs 8D)."
Logged

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6968
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +9095
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2017, 05:49:27 pm »
+1

What about:

Alchemist, Golem, Familiar: $3+P is more than $3
Fortune: $8+8D is more than $3

Search me why you would want a changeling instead, but hey, edge cases abound.
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

crj

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 395
  • Respect: +501
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2017, 06:49:38 pm »
+1

What about them? They cost more than $3, so there's no rules issue and you can definitely have a Changeling instead.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1041
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +756
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2017, 07:41:24 pm »
0

The intent seems to be something closer to "You can't exchange for something whose cost cannot be directly compared with $3, such as Transmute (which costs a Potion) or Royal Blacksmith (which costs 8D)."

I would go with: "A card with [P] or [D] in its cost doesn't cost $3 or more."
Doh, completely wrong, as pointed out by ThetaSigma12.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2017, 10:27:21 pm by Jeebus »
Logged

ThetaSigma12

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1431
  • Shuffle iT Username: ThetaSigma12
  • Respect: +1359
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2017, 07:43:20 pm »
+3

The intent seems to be something closer to "You can't exchange for something whose cost cannot be directly compared with $3, such as Transmute (which costs a Potion) or Royal Blacksmith (which costs 8D)."
I would go with: "A card with [P] or [D] in its cost doesn't cost $3 or more."

Doesn't something costing cost or more?
Logged
If you have a fan card you want to be created, just post about it here! I'd love to take a look at it.

crj

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 395
  • Respect: +501
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2017, 09:14:05 pm »
+3

"Cards only cost $3 or more if their cost includes at least 3 coins. Neither a potion cost nor any amount of debt cost makes a card cost $3 or more."
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1041
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +756
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2017, 10:33:16 pm »
+1

Here's how I've actually expressed it in my rules document (which I should have checked):

A card costing “ or more” must have a amount of 3 or more in its cost. The and amounts don’t matter.

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1372
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1500
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2017, 03:17:09 pm »
+3



Search me why you would want a changeling instead, but hey, edge cases abound.

curse pile is empty and opponent's swindler hits your familiar....

sorry
Logged

vishwathg

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Respect: +27
    • View Profile
Re: Changeling: rules bug?
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2017, 07:07:22 pm »
0



Search me why you would want a changeling instead, but hey, edge cases abound.

curse pile is empty and opponent's swindler hits your familiar....

sorry

You mean curse pile is empty and opponent's swindler hits your 3P card and gives you a familiar (a bit more to the point)
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.074 seconds with 21 queries.