Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]  All

Author Topic: New German Promo 'Abbruch'  (Read 6476 times)

1 Member and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10139
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (´。• ω •。`)
  • Respect: +10322
    • View Profile
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #100 on: December 11, 2017, 08:57:48 am »
0

That's why I wrote "just a Potion" (having Transmute and Vineyard in mind) and "just Debt" (having Engineer, City Quarter, Overlord, and Royal Blacksmith in mind).

Well that's not true either, Alchemist doesn't cost less (or more) than Duchy.
What is untrue in this statement "Cards costing just a Potion or just Debt do not cost $1 or more, so you gain no cards if you trash them." (in Dismantle context of course) - where "just X" means "no cost in coins, but in X only"?

Nothing.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The Twitch channel where I stream DominionThe YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's albums for free

ThetaSigma12

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1448
  • Shuffle iT Username: ThetaSigma12
  • Respect: +1395
    • View Profile
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #101 on: December 11, 2017, 09:31:11 am »
0

That's why I wrote "just a Potion" (having Transmute and Vineyard in mind) and "just Debt" (having Engineer, City Quarter, Overlord, and Royal Blacksmith in mind).
Well that's not true either, Alchemist doesn't cost less (or more) than Duchy.
What is untrue in this statement "Cards costing just a Potion or just Debt do not cost $1 or more, so you gain no cards if you trash them." (in Dismantle context of course) - where "just X" means "no cost in coins, but in X only"?

Sorry I get what you're saying now, I was thrown by the wording. I don't know how I'd word it, but I might just say "ignore potion and debt".
Logged
If you have a fan card you want to be created, just post about it here! I'd love to take a look at it.

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6741
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +9118
    • View Profile
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #102 on: December 11, 2017, 09:36:49 am »
+1

I haven't spotted a FAQ for this card, so I made this myself:

Quote
First you trash a card from your hand, if you have any. If the trashed card has any on-trashed abilities (like Hunting Grounds from Dominion: Dark Ages), or you have an on-trash Reaction such as Market Square (from Dominion: Dark Ages), you resolve them now. Then you check the cost of the trashed card, applying any cost-reducing effects, like that of Bridge (from Dominion: Intrigue) or Highway (from Dominion: Hinterlands) - if the card costs $1 or more, you gain a cheaper card and a Gold. The gained cards must come from the Supply. If there is no cheaper card in the Supply, you still gain a Gold (if available) and vice versa. Cards costing just a Potion (from Dominion: Alchemy) or just Debt (from Dominion: Empires) do not cost $1 or more, so you gain no cards if you trash them. If you do not trash a card, you gain nothing.

Too wordy?

Yeah, that's too wordy. Let me take a crack at editing it.

Quote
If there is no cheaper card in the Supply, you still gain a Gold (if available) and vice versa. Cards costing just a Potion (from Dominion: Alchemy) or just Debt (from Dominion: Empires) do not cost $1 or more, so you gain no cards if you trash them. If you do not trash a card, you gain nothing.
Logged

m_knox

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #103 on: December 12, 2017, 02:46:45 am »
0

Yeah, that's too wordy. Let me take a crack at editing it.

Quote
If there is no cheaper card in the Supply, you still gain a Gold (if available) and vice versa. Cards costing just a Potion (from Dominion: Alchemy) or just Debt (from Dominion: Empires) do not cost $1 or more, so you gain no cards if you trash them. If you do not trash a card, you gain nothing.

Add one sentence about the cost maybe? Changeling has similar one.

Quote
If there is no cheaper card in the Supply, you still gain a Gold (if available) and vice versa. You gain no cards if the trashed card costs less than $1, even if it normally costs $1 or more. Cards costing just a Potion (from Dominion: Alchemy) or just Debt (from Dominion: Empires) do not cost $1 or more, so you gain no cards if you trash them. If you do not trash a card, you gain nothing.

Logged

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7898
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +9029
    • View Profile
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #104 on: December 13, 2017, 01:48:14 pm »
+10

I got my copy of Dismantle today.  Scans of it, and the second edition versions of Envoy and Black Market, are now on the wiki.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6983
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +9151
    • View Profile
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #105 on: December 13, 2017, 04:43:23 pm »
+2

And I just played a game with it on ShuffleIt
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

enfynet

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1675
  • Respect: +1123
    • View Profile
    • JD's Custom Clubs
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #106 on: December 13, 2017, 07:58:33 pm »
+3

I just played a game with it on my card table!
Logged
"I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious."

greybirdofprey

  • Salvager
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • Respect: +43
    • View Profile
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #107 on: December 20, 2017, 05:47:16 am »
+2

Just got my Dutch one in the mail.
They gave it to me for complaining about translation errors to their customer service.
Logged

ipofanes

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1013
  • Respect: +431
    • View Profile
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #108 on: January 18, 2018, 06:58:20 am »
0

I can't say anything about Dismantle, but Nocturne translations were done by your fellow Dominion players, in-house, for Shuffle iT.  They could have gone with Teufelswerkstatt, but they felt Giftkuche was more evocative, and I agree with them.

Will the word "erhälst" also be seen on the printed cards?
Logged

Jimmmmm

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1693
  • Shuffle iT Username: Jimmmmm
  • Respect: +1868
    • View Profile
Re: New German Promo 'Abbruch'
« Reply #109 on: January 18, 2018, 12:11:25 pm »
+2

Quote from: The Secret History of the Dominion Promos
Altenburger also wanted the world champion for this coming year to get to make a card. We said no! We are willing to put their face on a card, that is as far as we will go. However, as it happens, Adam is the current world champion. So a world champion did get to design a card.

So Dismantle is AdamH reading the "Neat and potentially useful card interactions" thread?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]  All
 

Page created in 0.074 seconds with 21 queries.