Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards  (Read 519 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

secret tunnel

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« on: October 07, 2017, 11:29:10 pm »
0

I came across something weird in an online match today. I don't know if it was a glitch, or if I'm confused about the rules.

I played a Band of Misfits as a Ratcatcher. It behaved as expected on that turn—I got my cantrip, and then the card went onto the Tavern Mat. But on future turns I was never offered the opportunity to call it. When I bought a real Ratcatcher, it worked as expected, and I could call it just fine after playing it, but my BoM just sat on the mat the whole game, with no opportunity to do anything with it.

I noticed that the card appeared on the mat as 'Band of Misfits', not as 'Ratcatcher'—which maybe is why the automated system didn't give me the choice to call it. But is this how it's meant to be? Does playing a BoM as a Ratcatcher take it out of commission for the rest of the game? BoM says it remains the chosen card "until it leaves play". Does going to the Tavern Mat count as leaving play? If so, there are some pretty weird interactions one might not expect, like the one I just discovered. Does playing BoM as a reserve result in a one-way trip to the Tavern Mat?

(If so, this kind of thing would be a cute Possession trick.)
Logged

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3181
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2354
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2017, 11:41:35 pm »
+4

BoM says "This is that card until it leaves play."  Once BoM has moved to the Tavern Mat, it has left play and ceases being a Ratcatcher.  BoM never says that you may call call it from the tavern mat so it's stuck there forever.
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

secret tunnel

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2017, 12:57:59 am »
0

Wow! Thanks for confirming.

Do we have an actual definition for what makes something count as "in play"?
Logged

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2689
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3053
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2017, 02:27:44 am »
+1

Wow! Thanks for confirming.

Do we have an actual definition for what makes something count as "in play"?

Yes, it's in the expansion rule books.

"Action cards and Treasure cards played face up into a play area are in play until they are moved somewhere else" is how Dark Ages puts it.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2017, 02:28:47 am by AJD »
Logged

Dominionaer

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
  • Respect: +25
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2017, 02:39:28 am »
0

Quote from: DOMINION (2nd Ed) rules page 7
"In play" - Being in a player's play area.
• Cards become "in play" when played, and usually stay there until discarded from play in Clean-up.
• Only played cards are in play; set aside cards, cards in the trash, in the Supply, in hands, etc., are not in play.

Edit: ninjad
Logged

Asper

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3930
  • Respect: +4190
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2017, 10:08:36 am »
+11

Yes, Band of Misfits and Overlord are very heavy drinkers. If you send them to a tavern, they'll never leave. You can actually see it if you look at Overlord - that red nose wasn't caused by too much tea, you know.

dane-m

  • Salvager
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • Shuffle iT Username: dane-m
  • Respect: +122
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2017, 01:09:09 pm »
+1

Quote from: DOMINION (2nd Ed) rules page 7
"In play" - Being in a player's play area.
• Cards become "in play" when played, and usually stay there until discarded from play in Clean-up.
• Only played cards are in play; set aside cards, cards in the trash, in the Supply, in hands, etc., are not in play.
I believe I'm right in saying that called cards are also in play.  That's a potentially important consideration when Peddler is in the kingdom.

Writing the above has caused something to occur to me.  Consider a scenario in which you have two buys and a Duplicate on the Tavern mat.  After your first buy, you call the Duplicate to get a second copy of the gained card.  Presumably that causes the price of Peddler to drop by 2 between the first and second buys.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6360
  • Respect: +6913
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2017, 03:32:10 pm »
0

Quote from: DOMINION (2nd Ed) rules page 7
"In play" - Being in a player's play area.
• Cards become "in play" when played, and usually stay there until discarded from play in Clean-up.
• Only played cards are in play; set aside cards, cards in the trash, in the Supply, in hands, etc., are not in play.
I believe I'm right in saying that called cards are also in play.  That's a potentially important consideration when Peddler is in the kingdom.

Writing the above has caused something to occur to me.  Consider a scenario in which you have two buys and a Duplicate on the Tavern mat.  After your first buy, you call the Duplicate to get a second copy of the gained card.  Presumably that causes the price of Peddler to drop by 2 between the first and second buys.

That's not the only time that can happen. If you buy a Mint or Mandarin with Crown in play, Peddler's cost will increase in between buys. Or with various Bonfire stuff.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Jeebus

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 899
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +612
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2017, 11:23:20 pm »
0

Yes, it's in the expansion rule books.

Also in the 2nd edition of the base game rulebook.

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2689
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3053
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2017, 01:26:01 am »
0

Yes, it's in the expansion rule books.

Also in the 2nd edition of the base game rulebook.

Oh, that's nice. Even though I think none of even the second-edition Dominion or Intrigue cards actually use "in play" as a mechanic.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 899
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +612
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2017, 10:18:59 am »
0

Oh, that's nice. Even though I think none of even the second-edition Dominion or Intrigue cards actually use "in play" as a mechanic.

Right, I should have also said that it's like this:
When it comes to 1st edition rulebooks, the base game rulebook doesn't have that rule, but all the expansion rulebooks do.
When it comes to 2nd edition rulebooks, it's the reverse; only the base game rulebook has it.

This is the case with several rules that only were in the expansion rulebooks earlier. So for people who only have the 1st edition rulebook and then get 2nd edition expansions, they will be missing several rules entirely.

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2689
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3053
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2017, 11:25:24 am »
0

Oh, that's nice. Even though I think none of even the second-edition Dominion or Intrigue cards actually use "in play" as a mechanic.

Right, I should have also said that it's like this:
When it comes to 1st edition rulebooks, the base game rulebook doesn't have that rule, but all the expansion rulebooks do.
When it comes to 2nd edition rulebooks, it's the reverse; only the base game rulebook has it.

This is the case with several rules that only were in the expansion rulebooks earlier. So for people who only have the 1st edition rulebook and then get 2nd edition expansions, they will be missing several rules entirely.

Well, that’s not so nice.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 899
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +612
    • View Profile
Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2017, 01:32:09 pm »
0

Yes, I see that the 2nd edition expansion rulebooks say this:

Players will need the Treasure cards, Victory cards, Curse cards, and Trash mat/card from either Dominion or Base Cards (or older editions of Intrigue) and the rules from Dominion to play with this expansion.

They should probably also have specified "the rules from the second edition (or newer) of Dominion". I would also have added a link to those rules at riograndegames.com.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.104 seconds with 20 queries.