Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles  (Read 369 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6898
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +8907
    • View Profile
Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« on: September 26, 2017, 03:57:00 pm »
+1

So I'm pretty certain that if I buy Ferry, I can put it on Catapult/Rocks or Encampment/Plunder... as long as Catapult or Encampment is on top.

On ShuffleIt, I was unable to put Ferry on Small Castle, which is an Action-Victory.  Is this a bug, or does this only work for split piles rather than mixed piles?
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

dane-m

  • Salvager
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • Shuffle iT Username: dane-m
  • Respect: +122
    • View Profile
Re: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2017, 04:20:58 pm »
+3

So I'm pretty certain that if I buy Ferry, I can put it on Catapult/Rocks or Encampment/Plunder... as long as Catapult or Encampment is on top.
I believe that you can put it on the pile no matter which one is on top...

On ShuffleIt, I was unable to put Ferry on Small Castle, which is an Action-Victory.  Is this a bug, or does this only work for split piles rather than mixed piles?
...for the same reason that you can't put it on the Castles pile, namely that Ferry can be placed on an Action pile and the type of the pile is determined by the randomiser card for the pile rather than by the card that happens to be on top at present.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6360
  • Respect: +6913
    • View Profile
Re: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2017, 04:23:02 pm »
+3

An action supply pile is a pile whose randomizer card says "action". It is NOT a pile that has an action card on top.

From the Empires rulebook:

Quote
Some cards refer to the cost or types of a pile as if it is just one card. In these cases go with what is on the Randomizer card

And regarding Castles:

Quote
This pile is treated as a Victory - Castle pile, as per the Randomizer, despite the top card being a Treasure - Victory - Castle
« Last Edit: September 26, 2017, 04:24:24 pm by GendoIkari »
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6360
  • Respect: +6913
    • View Profile
Re: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2017, 04:35:43 pm »
+5

So.... something interesting just occurred to me. Is the Ruins pile an action-supply pile? The rules say to go by the randomizer card... but Ruins don't have a randomizer card.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6898
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +8907
    • View Profile
Re: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2017, 05:09:55 pm »
0

Thanks for the clarification everyone! :)
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7759
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8717
    • View Profile
Re: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2017, 05:31:05 pm »
0

Is the Ruins pile an action-supply pile?

Yes.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Gazbag

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Respect: +27
    • View Profile
Re: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2017, 05:33:11 pm »
0

So.... something interesting just occurred to me. Is the Ruins pile an action-supply pile? The rules say to go by the randomizer card... but Ruins don't have a randomizer card.
I played a game the other day where ruins was the Obelisk pile so yes?
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6360
  • Respect: +6913
    • View Profile
Re: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2017, 06:44:45 pm »
0

Is the Ruins pile an action-supply pile?

Yes.

This is certainly logical, but is it in the rules anywhere?
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6360
  • Respect: +6913
    • View Profile
Re: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2017, 06:45:29 pm »
0

So.... something interesting just occurred to me. Is the Ruins pile an action-supply pile? The rules say to go by the randomizer card... but Ruins don't have a randomizer card.
I played a game the other day where ruins was the Obelisk pile so yes?

Oh wow I never would have thought of that if I were playing Obelisk and a Looter IRL.

*Edit* I just saw that the rulebook FAQ for Obelisk specifically says that ruins can be chosen. I guess this suffices for the rule I was looking for... but it does still make me want to know what the definition of an action supply pile is. Is it any supply pile where either the randomizer says "action", OR every card in the pile says "action"?
« Last Edit: September 26, 2017, 07:32:43 pm by GendoIkari »
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4341
  • Respect: +17056
    • View Profile
Re: Ferry with Split/Mixed piles
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2017, 07:35:57 pm »
+4

*Edit* I just saw that the rulebook FAQ for Obelisk specifically says that ruins can be chosen. I guess this suffices for the rule I was looking for... but it does still make me want to know what the definition of an action supply pile is. Is it any supply pile where either the randomizer says "action", OR every card in the pile says "action"?
It's a supply pile where the randomizer says "action," or the Ruins pile or any future no-randomizer exceptions.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.091 seconds with 21 queries.