Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Did the Rules Change for Torturer?  (Read 271 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Taco Lobster

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 288
  • Respect: +71
    • View Profile
Did the Rules Change for Torturer?
« on: August 31, 2017, 01:18:43 am »
+1

This is driving me crazy. I thought for sure that Torturer required your opponent to take a curse if they couldn't discard 2 cards (I think both isotopic and gokuworked that way). Did this change, and, if so, when? With the revised edition?

(Or, am I just wrong, and it never worked that way).
Logged

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6868
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +8850
    • View Profile
Re: Did the Rules Change for Torturer?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2017, 01:25:17 am »
+5

It never worked that way, but the 1st edition card wasn't worded as well as the new edition.
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

Taco Lobster

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 288
  • Respect: +71
    • View Profile
Re: Did the Rules Change for Torturer?
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2017, 01:38:42 am »
0

Thanks.  I could swear I used to build Torturer chains that would run out the curses once I got my opponent down to a single card, but that must be a death of Nelson Mandela type memory (or inception).
Logged

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9531
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +9295
    • View Profile
Re: Did the Rules Change for Torturer?
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2017, 03:15:40 am »
+1

Thanks.  I could swear I used to build Torturer chains that would run out the curses once I got my opponent down to a single card, but that must be a death of Nelson Mandela type memory (or inception).

Well, a lot of the time you will end up doing that in practice because the opponent isn't usually willing to discard their entire hand. But that depends on the opponent.

Asper

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3847
  • Respect: +4048
    • View Profile
Re: Did the Rules Change for Torturer?
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2017, 10:03:47 am »
0

Torturer makes you choose one of two options, and then you try doing that option. For the same reason, you don't have to discard when the Curses are out.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.082 seconds with 22 queries.