Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All

Author Topic: The bad luck thread  (Read 5155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4626
  • Respect: +18596
    • View Profile
Re: The bad luck thread
« Reply #75 on: December 12, 2017, 03:06:06 am »
+2



Why does Mercenary's cost have to be 0...
It's so you can't get back Madman with Graverobber!

Wait, how would it be possible to get Madman with Graverobber? Aren't Madmen returned to their pile?
That is *also* so you can't get back Madman with Graverobber!

Getting back Madman with Graverobber was nuts. So Graverobber and Rogue only gain the $3-$6 range, and Madman costs $0. Hey Madman could return to its pile, that also does the trick. But what if there's some other card with this same problem, that that part won't work on? Let's just make all these hard-to-get things cost $0.

These days I recognize that for the most part it's best if cost relates to power level, even for un-buyable cards. But there are still good reasons sometimes to have a cost that doesn't relate so much. And there's Magic Lamp, costing $0, where Graverobber can't touch it.
Logged

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3253
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2450
    • View Profile
Re: The bad luck thread
« Reply #76 on: December 12, 2017, 11:44:21 am »
0

I'm trying to think...  Is there any way to use trashed Madmen repeatedly?  You could use Necromancer, but I think that would make the Madmen go back to its pile, and you could only use them once per turn.

EDIT: Never mind that first point, I just looked at the FAQ.
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

enfynet

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1675
  • Respect: +1123
    • View Profile
    • JD's Custom Clubs
Re: The bad luck thread
« Reply #77 on: December 12, 2017, 01:29:44 pm »
0

But now Lurker can pull any of those Actions from the Trash.
Logged
"I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious."

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4626
  • Respect: +18596
    • View Profile
Re: The bad luck thread
« Reply #78 on: December 12, 2017, 03:44:30 pm »
+6

But now Lurker can pull any of those Actions from the Trash.
As long as you aren't playing Madman, just trashing it and getting it back, I'm willing to let you have that fun.
Logged

Eran of Arcadia

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 221
  • Respect: +372
    • View Profile
Re: The bad luck thread
« Reply #79 on: January 08, 2018, 09:19:26 am »
+1

Well, I managed to get Moon's Gift twice in one turn with an empty discard pile. This after pulling Miserable from my first Cursed Village.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All
 

Page created in 0.096 seconds with 20 queries.