Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: +Tokens on Castles pile  (Read 989 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jamfamsam

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 687
  • Shuffle iT Username: jamfamsam
  • Respect: +1154
    • View Profile
+Tokens on Castles pile
« on: July 22, 2017, 01:43:22 pm »
+1

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.
Logged
"There is no extra charge for awesomeness..."

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7865
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8959
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2017, 01:46:33 pm »
+2

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Mic Qsenoch

  • 2015 DS Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1596
  • Respect: +3971
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2017, 02:12:31 pm »
+2

The general rule is that the types listed at the bottom of the randomizer determine the types of the pile. Castles are just "Victory - Castle".
Logged

singletee

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 807
  • Shuffle iT Username: singletee
  • Gold, Silver, Copper, Let's Jam!
  • Respect: +1290
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2017, 03:01:58 pm »
0

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7865
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8959
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2017, 03:25:33 pm »
0

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

The exception that proves the rule!
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9992
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +10110
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2017, 04:10:25 pm »
0

The exception that proves the rule!

That's not what that phrase means!
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The Twitch channel where I stream DominionThe YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's albums for free

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1041
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +756
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2017, 02:21:04 pm »
0

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

Well, technically, the Action card (Small Castle or Opulent Castle) that you gained with Seaway is no longer on top when you put the +1 Buy token on the pile. That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top, but that's never the case in a 2 player game since there is only one of each.

singletee

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 807
  • Shuffle iT Username: singletee
  • Gold, Silver, Copper, Let's Jam!
  • Respect: +1290
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2017, 04:20:35 pm »
0

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

Well, technically, the Action card (Small Castle or Opulent Castle) that you gained with Seaway is no longer on top when you put the +1 Buy token on the pile. That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top, but that's never the case in a 2 player game since there is only one of each.

Trader  ;)

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6464
  • Respect: +7114
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2017, 04:34:45 pm »
+2

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

Well, technically, the Action card (Small Castle or Opulent Castle) that you gained with Seaway is no longer on top when you put the +1 Buy token on the pile. That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top, but that's never the case in a 2 player game since there is only one of each.

Trader  ;)

I thought about this and almost said the same. But no. Based on the Blue Dog rule, if you reveal Trader in response to Seaway, you shouldn't still get the token.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6727
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +9077
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2017, 04:43:39 pm »
+1

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

Well, technically, the Action card (Small Castle or Opulent Castle) that you gained with Seaway is no longer on top when you put the +1 Buy token on the pile. That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top, but that's never the case in a 2 player game since there is only one of each.

Trader  ;)

I thought about this and almost said the same. But no. Based on the Blue Dog rule, if you reveal Trader in response to Seaway, you shouldn't still get the token.

And the token also doesn't go on the Silver pile.
Logged

majiponi

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 340
  • Respect: +260
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2017, 12:59:11 am »
0

Play Ambassador twice to put Opulent Castle and Small Castle (opponent has played Champion).

Seems like a kind of puzzles.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6464
  • Respect: +7114
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #11 on: July 28, 2017, 11:13:55 am »
0

Play Ambassador twice to put Opulent Castle and Small Castle (opponent has played Champion).

Seems like a kind of puzzles.

I think that does it!
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7865
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8959
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #12 on: July 28, 2017, 11:15:59 am »
0

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

Well, technically, the Action card (Small Castle or Opulent Castle) that you gained with Seaway is no longer on top when you put the +1 Buy token on the pile. That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top, but that's never the case in a 2 player game since there is only one of each.

Doesn't matter. +1 Buy token still goes on the Castle pile.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1041
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +756
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2017, 11:16:10 am »
0

Yeah, I thought about including the Ambassador thing in my first post, but decided it was a bit too far from the actual topic. ::)
Anyway, you don't have to return two Action Castles of course, as long as the top card is already an Action Castle.

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6464
  • Respect: +7114
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2017, 11:17:47 am »
+1

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

Well, technically, the Action card (Small Castle or Opulent Castle) that you gained with Seaway is no longer on top when you put the +1 Buy token on the pile. That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top, but that's never the case in a 2 player game since there is only one of each.

Doesn't matter. +1 Buy token still goes on the Castle pile.

Yes, but the question was if you could put a token on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top.

(I know that wasn't the intent of the question, but this is F.DS, pedantry is what we do.)
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9992
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +10110
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #15 on: July 28, 2017, 11:52:48 am »
+1

That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top

Otherwise you could say that the +1 buy token is on another Castle.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2017, 01:08:16 pm by Awaclus »
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The Twitch channel where I stream DominionThe YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's albums for free

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4130
  • Respect: +4525
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2017, 04:43:54 am »
0

That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top

Otherwise you could say that the +1 buy token is on another Castle.

(Insert Super Mario Bros reference here)

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9992
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +10110
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2017, 05:14:00 am »
+1

That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top

Otherwise you could say that the +1 buy token is on another Castle.

(Insert Super Mario Bros reference here)

That's the joke.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The Twitch channel where I stream DominionThe YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's albums for free

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4130
  • Respect: +4525
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2017, 07:14:44 am »
0

That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top

Otherwise you could say that the +1 buy token is on another Castle.

(Insert Super Mario Bros reference here)

That's the joke.

You didn't explain it.

trivialknot

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 465
  • Respect: +676
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #19 on: August 01, 2017, 06:28:20 pm »
0

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

Well, technically, the Action card (Small Castle or Opulent Castle) that you gained with Seaway is no longer on top when you put the +1 Buy token on the pile. That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top, but that's never the case in a 2 player game since there is only one of each.

Trader  ;)

I thought about this and almost said the same. But no. Based on the Blue Dog rule, if you reveal Trader in response to Seaway, you shouldn't still get the token.
This "puzzle" is hilarious.  You know, with 3+ players, there are 2 Small Castles and 2 Opulent Castles.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6464
  • Respect: +7114
    • View Profile
Re: +Tokens on Castles pile
« Reply #20 on: August 01, 2017, 09:46:19 pm »
0

Can one of the +Tokens be put on the Castles pile when one of the Action Castles is on top? For example Small Castle.

No

Yes? Seaway.

Well, technically, the Action card (Small Castle or Opulent Castle) that you gained with Seaway is no longer on top when you put the +1 Buy token on the pile. That could mean that there is another of that Castle still on top, but that's never the case in a 2 player game since there is only one of each.

Trader  ;)

I thought about this and almost said the same. But no. Based on the Blue Dog rule, if you reveal Trader in response to Seaway, you shouldn't still get the token.
This "puzzle" is hilarious.  You know, with 3+ players, there are 2 Small Castles and 2 Opulent Castles.

"but that's never the case in a 2 player game"
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.093 seconds with 20 queries.