Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Temporum Rules Questions  (Read 616 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8152
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Let me tell you a secret...
  • Respect: +9512
    • View Profile
Temporum Rules Questions
« on: July 15, 2017, 12:06:28 am »
0

When I draw 2 cards for Age of Toys' effect, does that proc Explorer's coin gain?
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 02:39:43 am by Donald X. »
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5339
  • Respect: +21671
    • View Profile
Re: (Temporum) Explorer + Age of Toys
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2017, 02:39:10 am »
0

When I draw 2 cards for Age of Toys' effect, does that proc Explorer's coin gain?
Drawing 2 cards at Age of Toys will get you $2 from Explorer.
Logged

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5339
  • Respect: +21671
    • View Profile
Re: Temporum Rules Questions
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2017, 02:40:54 am »
+1

Well I blew it on editing the topic name. Maybe next time.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7828
  • Respect: +8662
    • View Profile
Re: Temporum Rules Questions
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2017, 04:01:16 am »
+1

When I draw 2 cards for Age of Toys' effect, does that proc Explorer's coin gain?

Way ahead of you. Like, over 2 years ahead.  ;D https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1304339/age-toys-and-explorer

Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

ThetaSigma12

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1671
  • Shuffle iT Username: ThetaSigma12
  • Respect: +1771
    • View Profile
Re: Temporum Rules Questions
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2017, 01:11:03 pm »
+1

When I draw 2 cards for Age of Toys' effect, does that proc Explorer's coin gain?

Way ahead of you. Like, over 2 years ahead.  ;D https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1304339/age-toys-and-explorer
Ninja'd...
Logged
My magnum opus collection of dominion fan cards is available here!

trivialknot

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 679
  • Respect: +1047
    • View Profile
Re: Temporum Rules Questions
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2017, 06:34:40 pm »
+1

Here's a rules question that came up in a game.  I visit Iron Age and score a card.  I rule 3 times, so I should get a discount of $6.  However, I'm scoring a card that only costs $4.  However, I have Tactician, and I use it to pay $4 more to advance an extra crown.

Do I pay $2 or $4?

There's a similar question regarding the interaction of Tactician and Pilgrims.
Logged

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5339
  • Respect: +21671
    • View Profile
Re: Temporum Rules Questions
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2017, 08:21:23 pm »
0

Here's a rules question that came up in a game.  I visit Iron Age and score a card.  I rule 3 times, so I should get a discount of $6.  However, I'm scoring a card that only costs $4.  However, I have Tactician, and I use it to pay $4 more to advance an extra crown.

Do I pay $2 or $4?

There's a similar question regarding the interaction of Tactician and Pilgrims.
Tactician can lower costs, which is changing the cost; so it must be that when you pay extra it's raising the cost (rather than letting you pay $ for an effect, unrelated to the cost). So the question then is which rule happens first, and I am going to say you apply all raises then all lowerings (no choice). So you pay $2.
Logged

ben_king

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 176
  • Shuffle iT Username: ben.king
  • formerly grsbmd
  • Respect: +580
    • View Profile
Re: Temporum Rules Questions
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2018, 10:16:44 am »
+1

I had an interesting rules question come up in a game last night.  We had Exodus active when P1 advanced all 10 crowns to time 4 (without advancing the extra crown), then P2 advanced all 10 crowns to time 4 (without advancing the extra crown either).  On P1's next turn, she changed history to make Exodus no longer active, but wasn't able to advance a crown.  Does the game end in a tie?

What if P1 had changed history (so Exodus wasn't active) and then forced P2 to retreat one crown?
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7828
  • Respect: +8662
    • View Profile
Re: Temporum Rules Questions
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2018, 10:55:05 am »
+3

I had an interesting rules question come up in a game last night.  We had Exodus active when P1 advanced all 10 crowns to time 4 (without advancing the extra crown), then P2 advanced all 10 crowns to time 4 (without advancing the extra crown either).  On P1's next turn, she changed history to make Exodus no longer active, but wasn't able to advance a crown.  Does the game end in a tie?

What if P1 had changed history (so Exodus wasn't active) and then forced P2 to retreat one crown?

You can only win on your turn. From the rules, the last thing you do on your turn is check to see if you have all 10 influence in Time IV. So P1 wins in this case; P2 could have won if they had made Exodus not active and still gotten all 10 to Time IV. It doesn't matter that P1 got there first; it matters who had it at the end of their turn.

Quote
4. Check for Victory
If the player’s 10[crowns] are all in Time IV, that player wins.
Otherwise, continue with the next player’s turn
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.084 seconds with 22 queries.