Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Watchtower - Multiple Buys equals multiple gains?  (Read 233 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DooWopDJ

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Respect: +16
    • View Profile
Watchtower - Multiple Buys equals multiple gains?
« on: July 07, 2017, 02:25:46 pm »
0

In the Watchtower wiki Official Rules it states '... You may reveal Watchtower whether you gained the card due to buying it...'

Does that mean if a player has multiple buys, for each 'buy' that player can 're-reveal' the Watchtower card and decide whether to '...to either trash that card or put it onto your deck...'?

Additionally, if I buy a card that has a 'Trashing' effect, do I get the effect of the card that I just gained?  Example: Urchin, can I immediately trash the Urchin to get the Mercenary?
Logged

Robz888

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2521
  • Shuffle iT Username: Robz888
  • Respect: +3120
    • View Profile
Re: Watchtower - Multiple Buys equals multiple gains?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2017, 02:27:18 pm »
0

To your first question: yes.

To your second question: no.
Logged
I have been forced to accept that lackluster play is a town tell for you.

singletee

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 786
  • Shuffle iT Username: singletee
  • Gold, Silver, Copper, Let's Jam!
  • Respect: +1242
    • View Profile
Re: Watchtower - Multiple Buys equals multiple gains?
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2017, 02:37:59 pm »
0

You can't get a Mercenary by trashing a gained Urchin with Watchtower because Urchin doesn't have a when-trashed effect. It's a when-you-play-an-attack-card-while-this-is-in-play effect, whose effect is trashing the Urchin and gaining a Mercenary if you did so.

However, if you gain a card like Feodum that has a true when-trashed effect, you can trash it with Watchtower to trigger the effect and get the Silvers.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2017, 02:40:53 pm by singletee »
Logged

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2573
  • Respect: +2446
    • View Profile
Re: Watchtower - Multiple Buys equals multiple gains?
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2017, 02:42:21 pm »
0

On the other hand, if it's a card that actually does have a when-trashed effect (rats, fortress, squire, catacombs, sir vander, wow these are all from dark ages) then you DO get that effect. You could also then discard a market square for a gold.

EDIT: sniped by singletee's edit, and he thought of another card (feodum) with such an effect, also from dark ages; almost like trashing was a theme of that expansion.

EDIT2: Oh, and hunting grounds. There are more of these than I thought...
« Last Edit: July 07, 2017, 02:44:49 pm by liopoil »
Logged

aku_chi

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 371
  • Shuffle iT Username: aku chi
  • Respect: +628
    • View Profile
Re: Watchtower - Multiple Buys equals multiple gains?
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2017, 02:49:34 pm »
0

Cultist, Rocks, and Crumbling Castle also have an on-trash effect.
Logged

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6814
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +8749
    • View Profile
Re: Watchtower - Multiple Buys equals multiple gains?
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2017, 02:51:59 pm »
0

Cultist, Rocks, and Crumbling Castle also have an on-trash effect.

Out of interest, Rocks and Crumbling Castle both have when-gain and when-trashed effects.  Do you get both effects?  I believe the answer is yes.
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

Chris is me

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2093
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +2293
    • View Profile
Re: Watchtower - Multiple Buys equals multiple gains?
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2017, 04:56:06 pm »
+3

Cultist, Rocks, and Crumbling Castle also have an on-trash effect.

Out of interest, Rocks and Crumbling Castle both have when-gain and when-trashed effects.  Do you get both effects?  I believe the answer is yes.

Do you gain the card? Yes.
Do you trash the card? Yes.

It's unambiguous - both things happen, therefore you get both things.
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

they/them
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.065 seconds with 21 queries.