Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Wharf - Worker's Village - Island win by the skin of my teeth  (Read 1223 times)

KenN

• Herbalist
  • Respect: +4
    • View Profile
Wharf - Worker's Village - Island win by the skin of my teeth
« on: February 12, 2012, 07:15:38 pm »

I am new to Dominion (since Christmas) and have been enjoying playing on Isotropic.  Here's a game I won by one point (good enough, right?)

http://councilroom.com/game?game_id=game-20120211-234624-fe31c636.html

Well, I wonder if I played this the best.  I never bought gold or silver.  In turn 11 I got a peddler and 7 copper. My wharves, villages and peddler got me 5 buys.  So I bought a province and the rest of the peddlers.

Here's the question:  Would this have played better if I had bought two islands instead of the province.  I would have been able to slide a province/estate out of the way.  On the other hand, we both bought provinces in each of the following hands, so I would have lost by one vp. 

What's the "best" play in this situation?

Also, my opponent and I were discussing the game afterwards.  I felt that Wharves won the game for me.  He said that he was not convinced.  It was so close, that really perhaps I won out of pure dumb luck? ;)

jonts26

• Margrave
  • Shuffle iT Username: jonts
  • Respect: +3671
    • View Profile
Re: Wharf - Worker's Village - Island win by the skin of my teeth
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2012, 08:02:40 pm »

Well right off the bat I will say that Worker's Village/Great Hall is usually a terrible, terrible opening. However, with the presence of Peddlers, it might actually be kinda good here. Though if I was playing it I would open Baronr/silver then buy wharves and worker's villages and no more money from then on, looking to mass peddlers and a couple KC's.