Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Patrol + Mill  (Read 671 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vassalhassle

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Respect: +2
    • View Profile
Patrol + Mill
« on: June 10, 2017, 10:34:50 pm »
+2

If I play a Patrol and one of the revealed 4 cards of my deck is a Mill (Action-Victory), do I put the Mill into my hand or onto my deck? Thanks
Logged

Skumpy

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
  • Shuffle iT Username: skumpy
  • Respect: +146
    • View Profile
Re: Patrol + Mill
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2017, 10:49:05 pm »
+2

If I play a Patrol and one of the revealed 4 cards of my deck is a Mill (Action-Victory), do I put the Mill into my hand or onto my deck? Thanks

Patrol: "Put the Victory cards and Curses into your hand" Mill is indeed a Victory Card, so it goes in your hand.

Think of Mill (and other similar Action-Victory cards like Nobles) as both Action and Victory, and do what the card instructions tell you to do. So if Patrol had said "Put the Actions and Treasures onto your deck, and the rest in your hand", then since Mill is an Action too, the Mill would have gone onto your deck. But Patrol doesn't say that, fortunately.
Logged
He is (and take this in a positive light Skumpy) eccentric, flamboyant and excessive at times. His posts are ones that cause people to look at him and say "huh?"

Vassalhassle

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Respect: +2
    • View Profile
Re: Patrol + Mill
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2017, 05:45:10 am »
0

Wouldn't this go against the function of the card to cycle through useless cards in your deck (such as Curses and Victory cards). If you don't have a remaining action, wouldn't you lose the chance to play the Mill?
Logged

Loempiaverkoper

  • Scout
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
Re: Patrol + Mill
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2017, 05:53:31 am »
+10

Wouldn't this go against the function of the card to cycle through useless cards in your deck (such as Curses and Victory cards). If you don't have a remaining action, wouldn't you lose the chance to play the Mill?

How the card plays out is just exactly determined by the rules and the card text. No consideration of what the card is 'meant to be useful for' needs to be taken into account. "the function" of a card is your interpretation of what it is useful for and will have to differ from kingdom to kingdom.
Logged

mameluke

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 355
  • Respect: +386
    • View Profile
Re: Patrol + Mill
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2017, 11:12:44 am »
0

Adding to the above, by the same logic, doesn't it go against the spirit of Smithy that it can draw three Action cards into your hand, without any way to play them?


Well, anyhow, this is why we have villages.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6422
  • Respect: +7026
    • View Profile
Re: Patrol + Mill
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2017, 11:40:01 am »
+2

Adding to the above, by the same logic, doesn't it go against the spirit of Smithy that it can draw three Action cards into your hand, without any way to play them?


Well, anyhow, this is why we have villages.

Well this is why Patrol is clearly just a nerfed Scout. With Scout, you could play it, drawing a bunch of Mills (or Nobles, or whatever), and then play those newly draw cards. Crazy powerful, it was like playing 3 Laboratories in a row! No wonder Donald had to nerf it for the second edition.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6701
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +9006
    • View Profile
Re: Patrol + Mill
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2017, 12:29:46 pm »
0

I miss the version of Patrol that was actually a buffed Scout.

Patrol: Action, $5
+1 Action
+$2
Reveal the top 4 cards of your deck, put the revealed Victory and Curse cards into your hand, and put the rest back in any order.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2017, 01:45:52 pm by LastFootnote »
Logged

Accatitippi

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1052
  • Shuffle iT Username: Accatitippi
  • Silver is underraided
  • Respect: +1560
    • View Profile
Re: Patrol + Mill
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2017, 12:58:31 pm »
0

I miss the version of Patrol that was actually a buffed Scout.

Patrol: Action, $5
+1 Action
+$2
Reveal the top 4 cards of your deck, put the revealed Victory and Curse cards into your hand, and discard the rest.

Cute!
I guess it was too weak? Is "discard" deliberate, or did you mean topdeck? :)
It's a hard life for 5$ silvers.
Logged

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6701
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +9006
    • View Profile
Re: Patrol + Mill
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2017, 01:45:24 pm »
+3

I miss the version of Patrol that was actually a buffed Scout.

Patrol: Action, $5
+1 Action
+$2
Reveal the top 4 cards of your deck, put the revealed Victory and Curse cards into your hand, and discard the rest.

Cute!
I guess it was too weak? Is "discard" deliberate, or did you mean topdeck? :)
It's a hard life for 5$ silvers.

Oops, I meant topdeck. Thanks!

Donald didn't want to have that and Minion in Intrigue.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.078 seconds with 21 queries.