Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Basilica/overpay  (Read 1061 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2688
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3036
    • View Profile
Basilica/overpay
« on: March 14, 2017, 09:13:26 pm »
+3

So if you have $5, and you buy (for example) a Doctor, you can pay $3 for the Doctor leaving you with $2, take your VP from Basilica, and then overpay the Doctor, thus using up all your money but still scoring Basilica points?
Logged

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7757
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8714
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 09:16:28 pm »
+3

My guess is the Basilica and overpay effects have the same timing, and you can choose which happens first, since they both say "when you buy".
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Dominionaer

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
  • Respect: +25
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 06:33:11 am »
0

Hmm. I thougt always, if you overpay, you pay the whole amount at once (here 5$). The above posts indicates that you can first pay the cost (here 3$) then buy for that amount and than say "i overpay (it) by X (here 2$)".

The rules say
Quote
to overpay, a player has to actually pay more than the cost.
So i tend to you pay the whole and therefore can't use the overpaid amount for Basilica. But probably Donald will contradict me.
Logged

Chris is me

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +2500
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2017, 10:12:41 am »
0

That rule isn't specifying that overpay and pay occur at the same time. The verbiage you quoted is just specifying that in order to overpay, you have to actually spend at least 1 coin (or Potion).
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

they/them

jamfamsam

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 675
  • Respect: +1115
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2017, 01:06:04 pm »
0

I don't think you buy Doctor for $3 and then have money left to overpay with. I think you say you are buying Doctor for 5 and therefore have overpaid by 2 and so the 2 was never left around for Basilica.
Logged
"There is no extra charge for awesomeness..."

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6358
  • Respect: +6910
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2017, 01:23:53 pm »
+1

I don't think you buy Doctor for $3 and then have money left to overpay with. I think you say you are buying Doctor for 5 and therefore have overpaid by 2 and so the 2 was never left around for Basilica.

No, overpay is an on-buy effect; something you do after buying the card (but before gaining it).
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4338
  • Respect: +17049
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2017, 03:53:26 pm »
+13

So if you have $5, and you buy (for example) a Doctor, you can pay $3 for the Doctor leaving you with $2, take your VP from Basilica, and then overpay the Doctor, thus using up all your money but still scoring Basilica points?
Yes.
Logged

Asper

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3913
  • Respect: +4162
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2017, 08:24:26 pm »
0

Donald X has confirmed that "overpay" is mechanically equivalent to "when you buy this, you may pay". Just as a bit of extra info.

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6358
  • Respect: +6910
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2017, 09:43:22 pm »
+1

Donald X has confirmed that "overpay" is mechanically equivalent to "when you buy this, you may pay". Just as a bit of extra info.

I mean, that actual wording is written on every overpay card. So you really don't even have to think of it as a new mechanic at all, or as "overpaying for the card". Doctor could have just as easily have been written "When you buy this, you may pay 1 or more . For each you paid, look at the top card of your deck; trash it, discard it, or put it back."

Of course calling it "overpay for this" instead of "pay" sounds neater/cleaner.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Doom_Shark

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 238
  • Shuffle iT Username: Doom_Shark
  • Respect: +158
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2017, 10:28:15 pm »
+2

Donald X has confirmed that "overpay" is mechanically equivalent to "when you buy this, you may pay". Just as a bit of extra info.

I mean, that actual wording is written on every overpay card. So you really don't even have to think of it as a new mechanic at all, or as "overpaying for the card". Doctor could have just as easily have been written "When you buy this, you may pay 1 or more . For each you paid, look at the top card of your deck; trash it, discard it, or put it back."

Of course calling it "overpay for this" instead of "pay" sounds neater/cleaner.

Not to mention that the way it is actually implemented allows you to overpay for stonemason by P
Logged
"I swear to drunk I'm not officer, God."
Generation 33 The first time you see this, copy it, add 1 to the generation number, and add it to your signature. (On any forum) Social experiment.

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6358
  • Respect: +6910
    • View Profile
Re: Basilica/overpay
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2017, 11:14:32 am »
+1

Donald X has confirmed that "overpay" is mechanically equivalent to "when you buy this, you may pay". Just as a bit of extra info.

I mean, that actual wording is written on every overpay card. So you really don't even have to think of it as a new mechanic at all, or as "overpaying for the card". Doctor could have just as easily have been written "When you buy this, you may pay 1 or more . For each you paid, look at the top card of your deck; trash it, discard it, or put it back."

Of course calling it "overpay for this" instead of "pay" sounds neater/cleaner.

Not to mention that the way it is actually implemented allows you to overpay for stonemason by P

You can overpay for Doctor by also. It just doesn't do much.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.118 seconds with 21 queries.