Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)  (Read 533 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7573
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8378
    • View Profile
Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« on: February 21, 2017, 05:53:55 pm »
0

If I gain an Inn, and I have a Stash in my deck, do I get to look through my entire deck when I shuffle?
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6143
  • Respect: +6638
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2017, 06:01:20 pm »
+3

I would assume not. The wording in question here is "you may look through your remaining deck", right? To me, it seems clear that your "remaining deck" means "the cards not being shuffled". But I could be wrong.

Also, you definitely couldn't have in the first edition Stash, and the whole point of re-wording Stash was to give it its original functionality.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4195
  • Respect: +16402
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2017, 06:44:49 pm »
+4

If I gain an Inn, and I have a Stash in my deck, do I get to look through my entire deck when I shuffle?
No, "remaining deck" is the cards not being shuffled.
Logged

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2649
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +2932
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2017, 10:03:26 am »
0

What is the second-edition Stash text? I must have missed it.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6143
  • Respect: +6638
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2017, 10:12:15 am »
0

What is the second-edition Stash text? I must have missed it.

"When shuffling this, you may look through your remaining deck, and may put this anywhere in the shuffled cards."

I don't think it exists in any physical or virtual form at the moment; but the text was provided (I think by Seprix?) and is available on the Wiki.

Stash

*Edit* Woah, apparently the hover link actually shows a new Stash; even though the image on the wiki page is of old stash. Where did that new image come from?
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2649
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +2932
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2017, 11:37:58 am »
0

Okay, so "remaining deck" means 'the cards you would have drawn already, if the timing of shuffling hadn't been revised'?
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6143
  • Respect: +6638
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2017, 11:44:48 am »
0

Okay, so "remaining deck" means 'the cards you would have drawn already, if the timing of shuffling hadn't been revised'?

That's one of a few different ways to describe that same set of cards, yes.

For me, it's much simpler for me to think of it as "the cards in your draw pile that aren't being shuffled". In general, "remaining" means "outside whatever set was just mentioned". Since we're talking about shuffling, then the set being discussed is the cards being shuffled, so the "remaining" cards are those not being shuffled. And since it's limited to "remaining deck", it also excludes cards in play, set aside, etc.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2649
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +2932
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2017, 12:22:35 pm »
0

Okay, so "remaining deck" means 'the cards you would have drawn already, if the timing of shuffling hadn't been revised'?

That's one of a few different ways to describe that same set of cards, yes.

For me, it's much simpler for me to think of it as "the cards in your draw pile that aren't being shuffled". In general, "remaining" means "outside whatever set was just mentioned". Since we're talking about shuffling, then the set being discussed is the cards being shuffled, so the "remaining" cards are those not being shuffled. And since it's limited to "remaining deck", it also excludes cards in play, set aside, etc.

Oh for sure, but when I see "the cards in your draw pile that aren't being shuffled" I think 'what? but whenever you shuffle what you shuffle is your whole draw pile, right?' and I had to think about it for several minutes to remember the revision to shuffling timing and its implications.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6143
  • Respect: +6638
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2017, 12:57:25 pm »
0

Okay, so "remaining deck" means 'the cards you would have drawn already, if the timing of shuffling hadn't been revised'?

That's one of a few different ways to describe that same set of cards, yes.

For me, it's much simpler for me to think of it as "the cards in your draw pile that aren't being shuffled". In general, "remaining" means "outside whatever set was just mentioned". Since we're talking about shuffling, then the set being discussed is the cards being shuffled, so the "remaining" cards are those not being shuffled. And since it's limited to "remaining deck", it also excludes cards in play, set aside, etc.

Oh for sure, but when I see "the cards in your draw pile that aren't being shuffled" I think 'what? but whenever you shuffle what you shuffle is your whole draw pile, right?' and I had to think about it for several minutes to remember the revision to shuffling timing and its implications.

Ah yes, under first edition shuffling rules, second edition Stash wording would be weird and confusing.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7573
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8378
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2017, 12:59:53 pm »
0

*Edit* Woah, apparently the hover link actually shows a new Stash; even though the image on the wiki page is of old stash. Where did that new image come from?

Donald X sent me scans of the 2ndE promos along with 2ndE Prosperity cards.  Try deleting your image cache.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

ThetaSigma12

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1151
  • Respect: +842
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2017, 01:39:28 pm »
+7

*Edit* Woah, apparently the hover link actually shows a new Stash; even though the image on the wiki page is of old stash. Where did that new image come from?

Donald X sent me scans of the 2ndE promos along with 2ndE Prosperity cards.  Try deleting your image cache.
Please don't delete your image Cache, unless that card was removed in the 2nd edition of Hinterlands.
Logged
If you have a fan card you want to be created, just post about it here! I'd love to take a look at it.

iamsum1gr8

  • Herbalist
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Respect: +2
    • View Profile
Re: Stash + Inn (2nd edition)
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2017, 11:04:52 pm »
+1

It took me a long time to realise that the second edition wording on Stash makes it functionally identical to the first edition one, taking into account the change in shuffle rules.  We don't play with them in my playgroup because the original rules are so ingrained into our collective psyche (and no one owns second editions).
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.119 seconds with 20 queries.