Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: when does the action phase change to the buy phase?  (Read 436 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1340
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1443
    • View Profile
when does the action phase change to the buy phase?
« on: February 08, 2017, 04:58:27 am »
+3

Example: Sarah Crowns a Crown, first Crowning a Smithy, and draws only treasure. My understanding is that she cannot say "this is now my buy phase, and so I will use the second play of Crown on this Gold." Is this correct?

The wiki says further that if Sarah Princes a Crown (somehow), she cannot say at the start of her turn "this is now my buy phase, so I will Crown this Gold."

What is the precise rule for when her buy phase starts? (i.e. when does she have the power to say, "this is my buy phase.")

Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4230
  • Respect: +16538
    • View Profile
Re: when does the action phase change to the buy phase?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2017, 06:00:41 am »
+11

What is the precise rule for when her buy phase starts? (i.e. when does she have the power to say, "this is my buy phase.")
When there's nothing left unresolved and you don't want to do anything more in your Action phase.
Logged

Chris is me

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2099
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +2300
    • View Profile
Re: when does the action phase change to the buy phase?
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2017, 08:01:18 am »
0

Example: Sarah Crowns a Crown, first Crowning a Smithy, and draws only treasure. My understanding is that she cannot say "this is now my buy phase, and so I will use the second play of Crown on this Gold." Is this correct?

The wiki says further that if Sarah Princes a Crown (somehow), she cannot say at the start of her turn "this is now my buy phase, so I will Crown this Gold."

What is the precise rule for when her buy phase starts? (i.e. when does she have the power to say, "this is my buy phase.")

EDIT: I misunderstood, but no, you're still playing Crown in your Action phase. You are in the middle of resolving Crown 1, you can't switch phases while a card is being resolved. I don't know why she didn't just play the two Crowns separately?

The latter I believe is your Action phase as well, but that is less obvious to me. I remember reading that it was your Action phase somewhere though.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2017, 08:02:30 am by Chris is me »
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

they/them

ThetaSigma12

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1172
  • Respect: +854
    • View Profile
Re: when does the action phase change to the buy phase?
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2017, 08:02:35 am »
0

Example: Sarah Crowns a Crown, first Crowning a Smithy, and draws only treasure. My understanding is that she cannot say "this is now my buy phase, and so I will use the second play of Crown on this Gold." Is this correct?

The wiki says further that if Sarah Princes a Crown (somehow), she cannot say at the start of her turn "this is now my buy phase, so I will Crown this Gold."

What is the precise rule for when her buy phase starts? (i.e. when does she have the power to say, "this is my buy phase.")

EDIT: I misunderstood, but no, you're still playing Crown in your Action phase. You are in the middle of resolving Crown 1, you can't switch phases while a card is being resolved.

The latter I believe is your Action phase as well, but that is less obvious to me. I remember reading that it was your Action phase somewhere though.
Look at the bold.
Logged
If you have a fan card you want to be created, just post about it here! I'd love to take a look at it.

Cuzz

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 340
  • Shuffle iT Username: Cuzz
  • Respect: +470
    • View Profile
Re: when does the action phase change to the buy phase?
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2017, 10:08:50 am »
+6

Example: Sarah Crowns a Crown, first Crowning a Smithy, and draws only treasure. My understanding is that she cannot say "this is now my buy phase, and so I will use the second play of Crown on this Gold." Is this correct?

The wiki says further that if Sarah Princes a Crown (somehow), she cannot say at the start of her turn "this is now my buy phase, so I will Crown this Gold."

What is the precise rule for when her buy phase starts? (i.e. when does she have the power to say, "this is my buy phase.")
I don't know why she didn't just play the two Crowns separately?

Hoping to draw action from Smithy.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.059 seconds with 21 queries.