Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Cost reduction  (Read 375 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MatthewCA

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect: +33
    • View Profile
Cost reduction
« on: February 07, 2017, 09:32:39 am »
0

If I play a bridge, all cards in the supply, and in my deck cost $1 less, but not less than $0. If I buy Ferry, a specific action supply pile costs $2 less to buy, but does the cost stay $2 less even when the card is in my deck. I own Adventures irl, but not online, and as someone who loves trash for benefit, I know this issue is going to come up soon.
Logged

LaLight

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 432
  • Shuffle iT Username: LaLight
  • Because I'm a potato
  • Respect: +424
    • View Profile
Re: Cost reduction
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2017, 09:35:38 am »
+1

If I play a bridge, all cards in the supply, and in my deck cost $1 less, but not less than $0. If I buy Ferry, a specific action supply pile costs $2 less to buy, but does the cost stay $2 less even when the card is in my deck. I own Adventures irl, but not online, and as someone who loves trash for benefit, I know this issue is going to come up soon.

yes, absolutely the same rule. Don't put Ferry token on Band of Misfits, it's a trap!
Logged
Wow where is all this LaLight love coming from all of the sudden?

Wins: M87, M85, M92, M98, RMM37, RMM39, BM24, M86, M94, M95
Losses: M88, M90, RMM38, NM8, NM9, M97, ZM23, NM10
Draws: RMM40
Lynched: M95, NM10
MVPs: RMM39
Mod/Co-mod: RMM37, M89, M93, M91, M96, RMM41, M98

Chris is me

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2042
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +2219
    • View Profile
Re: Cost reduction
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2017, 10:14:36 am »
0

Bridge originally had that randomly specific wording about "including cards in other player's hands" because it was the very first cost reducing card and it was seen as confusing during development or something. All cost reducing effects reduce card costs in all locations, and most do at all times.

The only exception I know of is that Peddler reduces its own cost during only the buy phase.
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

they/them

Jeebus

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 824
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +566
    • View Profile
Re: Cost reduction
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2017, 10:22:16 pm »
+3

Also Ferry only reduces the cost when it's your turn. If an opponent plays Rogue for instance, the card in your deck is not cost-reduced. Or if they play Governor to trash, the card in your hand has normal cost.

MatthewCA

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect: +33
    • View Profile
Re: Cost reduction
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2017, 07:58:18 pm »
+1

Also Ferry only reduces the cost when it's your turn. If an opponent plays Rogue for instance, the card in your deck is not cost-reduced. Or if they play Governor to trash, the card in your hand has normal cost.

Let me make sure I've got this right. If I buy Ferry and place my token on Kings Court, I can buy it for $5, I can remodel it into card costing $7 because it us my turn. If it gets Swindlered, I gain a card costing $7 that my opponent chooses, because it's not my turn.
Logged

ThetaSigma12

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1097
  • Respect: +821
    • View Profile
Re: Cost reduction
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2017, 08:03:15 pm »
0

Also Ferry only reduces the cost when it's your turn. If an opponent plays Rogue for instance, the card in your deck is not cost-reduced. Or if they play Governor to trash, the card in your hand has normal cost.

Let me make sure I've got this right. If I buy Ferry and place my token on Kings Court, I can buy it for $5, I can remodel it into card costing $7 because it us my turn. If it gets Swindlered, I gain a card costing $7 that my opponent chooses, because it's not my turn.
Yep.
Logged
If you have a fan card you want to be created, just post about it here! I'd love to take a look at it.

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8987
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +8825
    • View Profile
Re: Cost reduction
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2017, 08:06:48 pm »
+5

Also Ferry only reduces the cost when it's your turn. If an opponent plays Rogue for instance, the card in your deck is not cost-reduced. Or if they play Governor to trash, the card in your hand has normal cost.

Let me make sure I've got this right. If I buy Ferry and place my token on Kings Court, I can buy it for $5, I can remodel it into card costing $7 because it us my turn. If it gets Swindlered, I gain a card costing $7 that my opponent chooses, because it's not my turn.

Likewise, if you buy Ferry and place your token on King's Court and your Swindler hits your opponent's KC, you can Swindle it into a Duchy.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.1 seconds with 21 queries.