Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: throne room + engineer  (Read 451 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1332
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1436
    • View Profile
throne room + engineer
« on: January 30, 2017, 05:59:59 pm »
+2

If I throne room an engineer, I can't trash it twice to gain, right? (wording is identical to Mining Village and this is the original instance of the "lose track" rule). This appears to be allowed on Dominion Online.

cross-posted to shuffle it forum http://forum.shuffleit.nl/index.php?topic=1421.msg4551#new
Logged

Chris is me

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2042
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +2219
    • View Profile
Re: throne room + engineer
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2017, 06:08:58 pm »
0

Once again, the "if you do" rule takes precedence over any lose-track considerations. You didn't trash it a second time so you never get that card.
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

they/them

funkdoc

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 455
  • Respect: +392
    • View Profile
Re: throne room + engineer
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2017, 12:51:14 am »
+1

lol, Beyond Awesome found this exact same bug in our league match last weekend (and was even nice enough to undo the extra gain).  i mentioned it in their Discord but forgot to post on the forums, so thanks!

MatthewCA

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect: +33
    • View Profile
Re: throne room + engineer
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2017, 12:41:36 pm »
0

Once again, the "if you do" rule takes precedence over any lose-track considerations. You didn't trash it a second time so you never get that card.

This is why I don't prefer the wording on 2nd edition mining village. I feel like it's less clear that if you throne room it, you can't trash it twice for $2. The first edition was clearer.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6054
  • Respect: +6546
    • View Profile
Re: throne room + engineer
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2017, 12:58:28 pm »
0

Once again, the "if you do" rule takes precedence over any lose-track considerations. You didn't trash it a second time so you never get that card.

This is why I don't prefer the wording on 2nd edition mining village. I feel like it's less clear that if you throne room it, you can't trash it twice for $2. The first edition was clearer.

Well I agree with him removing "immediately" as that was just sort of weird, but otherwise, yeah, I agree with you. The trick I guess is to just know that in Dominion terms, "to" means "if you did".

Oddly enough, Engineer uses "if you did" instead of "to" even though Empires supposedly is all the new wordings.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2017, 12:59:42 pm by GendoIkari »
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7541
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8335
    • View Profile
Re: throne room + engineer
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2017, 11:07:55 pm »
+4

Related question: if I Throne Room an Overlord, picking, say, Embargo as the first emulation, trashing Overlord, then picking Band of Misfits as the second emulation, can I then emulate Engineer?  Since Band of Misfits says "play this as if it were an Action ... costing less than this", but Overlord is now in the trash, and not in play, thus doesn't turn into Band of Misfits, and thus still costs ?  This was brought up in a puzzle, and I'm not sure if it's correct or not.  Currently, Dominion Online implements it as you can emulate a card costing less than Band of Misfits, not Overlord.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Watno

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2575
  • Shuffle iT Username: Watno
  • Respect: +2678
    • View Profile
Re: throne room + engineer
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2017, 07:55:59 am »
+1

I believe that warrants a new thread.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.091 seconds with 21 queries.