Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All

Author Topic: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2  (Read 4605 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MattLee

  • Baron
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
  • Respect: +60
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #50 on: March 03, 2017, 11:55:06 pm »
+1

All my card links broke. Is the generator just going through some changes?

Mine too, lost a few dozen mocked up cards :(
Logged

Violet CLM

  • Baron
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • Respect: +99
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #51 on: March 13, 2017, 12:03:32 am »
+1

All my card links broke. Is the generator just going through some changes?
I'm sorry, I only just now saw this post. I tried some of the links from the first post in this thread and they seemed to be working... can you give me an example of a broken link that used to work but now doesn't?

(If they've since started working again, I would guess it was a temporary (and local?) DNS problem, since I switched my domain over to https at around the time of those posts and maybe the switching off of the http version happened for you before the redirect started working.)
« Last Edit: March 13, 2017, 12:09:38 am by Violet CLM »
Logged

McGarnacle

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1015
  • Shuffle iT Username: McGarnacle
  • So, ya like doughnuts, eh?
  • Respect: +508
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #52 on: March 13, 2017, 07:44:49 am »
0

All my card links broke. Is the generator just going through some changes?
I'm sorry, I only just now saw this post. I tried some of the links from the first post in this thread and they seemed to be working... can you give me an example of a broken link that used to work but now doesn't?

(If they've since started working again, I would guess it was a temporary (and local?) DNS problem, since I switched my domain over to https at around the time of those posts and maybe the switching off of the http version happened for you before the redirect started working.)

Hi Violet, thanks for helping out! Here is one of the malfunctioning links http://shemitz.net/static/dominion3/?title=Countess&description=Choose%20one%3B%20Trash%20a%20card%20from%20your%20hand%20and%20gain%20a%20card%20costing%20up%20to%20%241%20more%20than%20the%20trashed%20card%2C%20or%20%2B%20%242%20and%20put%20a%20card%20from%20your%20hand%20on%20top%20of%20your%20deck.&type=Action&price=%243&preview=&picture=https%3A%2F%2Fs-media-cache-

It added % btwn every word and then did not drop them, plus the image doesn't work.
Logged
This is exactly the kind of deep analysis I come to f.ds for. 

Forum Mafia Record
Town 1/2 50%
Scum 0/0 0%

Violet CLM

  • Baron
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • Respect: +99
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #53 on: March 13, 2017, 11:25:31 am »
+3

Okay, I see what's going on. For a simple, user-side fix you can make any of your links work again by replacing http at the beginning with https, e.g. https://shemitz.net/static/dominion3/?title=Countess&description=Choose%20one%3B%20Trash%20a%20card%20from%20your%20hand%20and%20gain%20a%20card%20costing%20up%20to%20%241%20more%20than%20the%20trashed%20card%2C%20or%20%2B%20%242%20and%20put%20a%20card%20from%20your%20hand%20on%20top%20of%20your%20deck.&type=Action&price=%243&preview=&picture=https%3A%2F%2Fs-media-cache-

This evening I'll see if there's something I can do on my end to make the old links work so you don't have to do that editing.

That said, you don't have a full URL for an image in that link, so I don't think that one's on me. You can see for yourself that it's just
Code: [Select]
https://-media-cache
« Last Edit: March 13, 2017, 12:03:01 pm by Violet CLM »
Logged

SettingFraming

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Shuffle iT Username: breppert
  • Respect: +281
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #54 on: March 13, 2017, 11:13:31 pm »
+1

I just wanted to pop in and say that this is a really great tool you've built.

Seems darn near feature complete, and excellently easy to use.
Logged
There are no masters, only those who have spent longer in the depths.

Violet CLM

  • Baron
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • Respect: +99
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #55 on: March 14, 2017, 07:49:50 pm »
+2

Thanks :)


Links to the old http domain should be working now, though your browser cache may get in the way and assume the old redirect style for specific urls. Try opening one of the links in a private/incognito window to prove the point until your browser catches on that something has changed.
Logged

MattLee

  • Baron
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
  • Respect: +60
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #56 on: March 15, 2017, 01:07:45 am »
+1

Thanks :)


Links to the old http domain should be working now

Yay! Thanks a bunch :D
Logged

McGarnacle

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1015
  • Shuffle iT Username: McGarnacle
  • So, ya like doughnuts, eh?
  • Respect: +508
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #57 on: March 15, 2017, 09:49:01 am »
0

Thanks :)


Links to the old http domain should be working now

Yay! Thanks a bunch :D

Me too. Great Job!
Logged
This is exactly the kind of deep analysis I come to f.ds for. 

Forum Mafia Record
Town 1/2 50%
Scum 0/0 0%

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Salvager
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
  • Respect: +27
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #58 on: September 08, 2017, 01:28:40 pm »
0

Hi, Violet,
Sorry if this has been asked before, but I was hoping that you could shed some light on the following:
1) There's a 'size' parameter on the URL, but I don't know what options I can put in there, and if so, what they do. I was kind of hoping to be able to get a card-sized image out (or maybe I'm too dumb to set my printer dpi to scale down the image while maintaining high quality.)

2) Is there any possibility that you will add the ability to have a second black-and-white image import for a set icon? Of course I can always paint one in. :)
Logged

Violet CLM

  • Baron
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • Respect: +99
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #59 on: September 09, 2017, 12:02:14 am »
+1

Sorry to get your hopes up with the "Size" parameter, it's just really poorly named. It actually controls whether your card is a card or an event or a weird double-sided thingy. When I tried printing, I fit multiple cards on a single page (six IIRC?) and made sure the page was 8.5x11 so I could easily derive the card sizes from there. I don't know what software or printer you're working, but in pixel terms the cards are about as big as the biggest scans I was finding.

Set icons are fairly low down the priority list but they're certainly something that should happen eventually. The trouble is I just haven't had much interest in working on this in some time. I'd open source it (I mean, it's already open source by virtue of being a static document, but I could do so explicitly) but I don't know if there's anyone around these parts who'd try picking it up.
Logged

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Salvager
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
  • Respect: +27
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #60 on: September 09, 2017, 11:37:48 am »
0

Makes sense to me, thanks for the reply.

I'm currently working on a python-based randomizer that supports custom cards. The dream would be to have a similar renderer to your system baked into it.
Logged

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Salvager
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
  • Respect: +27
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #61 on: October 13, 2017, 11:55:52 am »
0

So, I'm like really not an art/tech guy... but what's the output DPI like? I'm hoping for a 300 dpi output, at least.
Logged

Violet CLM

  • Baron
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • Respect: +99
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #62 on: October 15, 2017, 03:18:10 am »
0

Just about 600 by my math. Of course the card templates themselves are thrown together from various scans, so they're going to be a bit blurry, but that's the resolution your main images and text should be rendered at.
Logged

Neirai the Forgiven

  • Salvager
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
  • Respect: +27
    • View Profile
Re: Dominion Card Image Generator v1.2
« Reply #63 on: October 15, 2017, 06:36:28 pm »
0

Fantastic! Thanks for the reply.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All
 

Page created in 0.084 seconds with 21 queries.