Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)  (Read 2013 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Chthonic Caiman

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Respect: +46
    • View Profile
Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« on: July 09, 2016, 03:14:30 pm »
+46





+ 5 other Kingdom Cards

Note: I don't keep track of number of Actions. Every time you gain a Villa, you get +1 Action. I usually Play 1 Villa and Buy 1 Villa per buy phase iteration, so I gain net actions that I am not using.

3 C + Necropolis + Something :
  - Use Baker Token for 1 coin (1 coin, 1 buy)
  - Buy Borrow (2 coin, 1 buy)
  - Buy Travelling Fair (0 coin, 2 buy)
  - Buy Alms for Villa (0 coin, 1 buy) -> Return to Action Phase (0 coin, 1 buy) 
      - [ I didn't play money, so I can Alms. This is fairly interesting in Villa + Alms games, since you can always start with extra actions and +1 money ]
  - Play Villa (1 coin, 2 buy). End Actions
  - Play 3 C (4 coin, 2 buy)
  - Buy Advance on Necropolis -> Gain a Fortress -> Top deck with Travelling Fair (4 coin, 1 buy)
  - Buy Mission (0 coin, 0 buy)
  - End Turn

(9 Fortress + 9 Villa left)

Draw Fortress + 3 cards (because of Borrow Token). Note that worst case you have a Hovel + OG in this hand, so you have at least one copper (in this case, you would have had 4 copper in the first hand, and optimized a little bit more). We'll assume the hand is Fortress + C + Hovel + OG.

Mission Turn (I only buy events):
   Play 1 C (1 coin, 1 buy)
   Buy Borrow (2 coin, 1 buy)
   Buy Advance on Fortress -> Gaining a BV + Villa -> Returning Fortress to Hand + Putting Villa in Hand -> Returning to Action Phase (2 coin, 0 buy)
   (9 Fortress + 9 BV + 8 Villa left)
   Play 1 Villa (3 coin, 1 buy)
      - End Actions
   Buy Advance on Fortress -> Gaining a BV + Villa -> Returning Fortress to Hand + Putting Villa in Hand -> Returning to Action Phase (3 coin, 0 buy)
   (9 Fortress + 8 BV + 7 Villa left)
   Play 1 Villa (4 coin, 1 buy)
      - End Actions
   Buy Advance on Fortress -> Gaining a BV + Villa -> Returning Fortress to Hand + Putting Villa in Hand -> Returning to Action Phase (4 coin, 0 buy)
   (9 Fortress + 7 BV + 6 Villa left)
   Play 1 Villa (5 coin, 1 buy)
      - End Actions
   Buy Seaway -> Gaining a Villa -> Putting +1 Buy on Villa + Putting Villa in Hand -> Returning to Action Phase (0 coin, 0 buy)
   (9 Fortress + 7 BV + 5 Villa left)
   Play 1 Villa (1 coin, 2 buy)
      - End Actions
   Buy Advance on Fortress -> Gaining a BV + Villa -> Returning Fortress to Hand + Putting Villa in Hand -> Returning to Action Phase (1 coin, 1 buy)
   (9 Fortress + 6 BV + 4 Villa left) 
   Play 1 Villa (2 coin, 3 buy)
      - End Actions
   Buy Advance on Fortress -> Gaining a BV + Villa -> Returning Fortress to Hand + Putting Villa in Hand -> Returning to Action Phase (2 coin, 2 buy)
   (9 Fortress + 5 BV + 3 Villa left) 
   Play 1 Villa (3 coin, 4 buy)
      - End Actions
   Buy Advance on Fortress -> Gaining a BV + Villa -> Returning Fortress to Hand + Putting Villa in Hand -> Returning to Action Phase (3 coin, 3 buy)
   (9 Fortress + 4 BV + 2 Villa left) 
   Play 1 Villa (4 coin, 5 buy)
      - End Actions
   Buy Advance on Fortress -> Gaining a BV + Villa -> Returning Fortress to Hand + Putting Villa in Hand -> Returning to Action Phase (4 coin, 4 buy)
   (9 Fortress + 3 BV + 1 Villa left) 
   Play 1 Villa (5 coin, 6 buy)
      - End Actions
   Buy Advance on Fortress -> Gaining a BV + Villa -> Returning Fortress to Hand + Putting Villa in Hand -> Returning to Action Phase (5 coin, 5 buy)
   (9 Fortress + 2 BV + 0 Villa left) 
   Play 1 Villa (6 coin, 7 buy)
      - End Actions
   Buy TF x 3 (0 coin, 10 buys)
   Buy Advance x 10, Gaining (BV + Patrician) x 2 + 3 Patrician + 5 Emporium, Gaining 10 VP.

   Villa, Border Village, Patrician/Emporium are out.

Note that Patrician/Emporium, weren't necessary, just that you needed something to give you and your opponent a difference in points (e.g. Great Hall would work). A fun one would be if Witch was a Kindgom, in which case you would buy a TF a turn earlier (to allow you to top deck), and then gain a few witches, top decking them, and then playing them to curse your opponent, before running out the witch pile.

You could also use a landmark here (such as +1 VP for trashing) and the net effect would be the same.

Probability of Winning on 1st turn for Player 1 is ~42% (Probability Necropolis in 1st hand = 50%. Probability Necro + OG + Hovel (which means 2 copper in 1st hand) is 1 / 2 * 4 / 9 * 3 / 8 = 1 / 12. 1 / 2 - 1 / 12 ~= .41666666... = Probability Necropolis AND not both OG/Hovel)

1) Can you increase the probability of winning on first turn?
2) Can you reduce # of events used (maybe independent of 1) )? Ideally, I'd like this down to 2 events.
3) Max # of piles emptied on turn 1? Lots of shenanigans here.
3) [Stretch] Can you remove the use of Mission? I'd like to think no.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2016, 06:37:56 pm by Chthonic Caiman »
Logged

Seprix

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5115
  • Shuffle iT Username: Seprix
  • Weed Whackers Will Return
  • Respect: +2591
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Blog
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2016, 03:48:32 pm »
+13

Cthonic means pertaining to the underworld. Caiman pertains to a lizard. This user is Cthonical Chameleon!

I feel like I solved the real puzzle.
Logged

AdrianHealey

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2244
  • Respect: +760
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2016, 03:55:52 pm »
+7

I too feel it's more appropriate to congratulate Seprix.
Logged

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1333
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1438
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2016, 02:46:36 am »
0

+1, don't understand how you can Alms for Villa though
Logged

markusin

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3043
  • I also switched from Starcraft
  • Respect: +1634
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2016, 09:14:53 am »
0

+1, don't understand how you can Alms for Villa though

You don't play any Coppers during your first buy phase, so you can buy Alms to gain Villa, returning you to your action phase. Alms has a one-per-turn limit however.
Logged

Infthitbox

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 317
  • Respect: +436
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2016, 02:16:06 pm »
+1

You can cut Alms out of the equation by stipulating that your starting hand is 4C + Necro. In that case, you don't Alms for Villa, but have 6 coins total, allowing you to TFair + Advance/Fortress + Mission directly. This leaves an extra Villa in the supply for the Mission turn, which means you get to "the end" with 7 coins and 8 buys, which... doesn't help you to cut anything else out I don't think.

EDIT: You can also gain a BV on turn 1 with your Fortress, which means there's one less to get in the last step. Not sure if that's helpful at all either.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2016, 02:20:12 pm by Infthitbox »
Logged

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1333
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1438
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2016, 04:37:24 pm »
0

+1, don't understand how you can Alms for Villa though

You don't play any Coppers during your first buy phase, so you can buy Alms to gain Villa, returning you to your action phase. Alms has a one-per-turn limit however.

Aren't there coppers in play though, in the stated solution?

EDIT: I can't read and should consider taking up Ascension puzzles :-)
« Last Edit: July 11, 2016, 04:39:00 pm by ehunt »
Logged

Limetime

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1194
  • Shuffle iT Username: limetime
  • Respect: +973
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2016, 07:53:42 am »
+1

I wonder if lurker can improve this.
Logged

Mic Qsenoch

  • 2015 DS Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1487
  • Respect: +3538
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2016, 12:29:16 pm »
+5

I wonder if lurker can improve this.

Turn 0 win!
Logged

Seprix

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5115
  • Shuffle iT Username: Seprix
  • Weed Whackers Will Return
  • Respect: +2591
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Blog
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #9 on: November 01, 2016, 10:07:29 am »
+2

I wonder if lurker can improve this.

Turn 0 win!

You underestimate Celestial Chameleon.
Logged

Davio

  • 2012 Dutch Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4733
  • Respect: +3300
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2016, 10:24:07 am »
0

Maybe in a 6-player game, the 6th player can get all sorts of Ambassadored / Masqueraded stuff and win by not playing a single card or win by default because he still has his 3 Estates and the rest has nothing.
Logged

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea

navical

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Respect: +136
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2016, 10:41:01 am »
+1

Maybe in a 6-player game, the 6th player can get all sorts of Ambassadored / Masqueraded stuff and win by not playing a single card or win by default because he still has his 3 Estates and the rest has nothing.
2 player game, the first player does the above (but with some non-VP-giving pile rather than Patrician/Emporium), with Wall as a Landmark; the second player wins without having a turn.
Logged

Holger

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 383
  • Respect: +178
    • View Profile
Re: Turn 1 (1.5 Win)
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2016, 07:31:11 am »
+2

Maybe in a 6-player game, the 6th player can get all sorts of Ambassadored / Masqueraded stuff and win by not playing a single card or win by default because he still has his 3 Estates and the rest has nothing.
2 player game, the first player does the above (but with some non-VP-giving pile rather than Patrician/Emporium), with Wall as a Landmark; the second player wins without having a turn.

Wall isn't even necessary, with no VPs in either deck the second player wins due to the tiebreak rule (having one turn less).
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.09 seconds with 26 queries.