Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11  All

Author Topic: How high can you go  (Read 12500 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

-Stef-

  • 2012 & 2016 DS Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1521
  • Respect: +3959
    • View Profile
How high can you go
« on: June 22, 2016, 04:39:49 pm »
+24

We're playing a weird variant of two player Dominion where all the piles are of infinite size.

The challenge in this puzzle is to set up a turn (you get full control over all shuffles and both players) in a kingdom (you get to choose it) that gains you as many cards as you can.
Let's call the number of cards you can gain X.

However, there is a restriction. In order for your solution to be valid some number Y has to exist (which is bigger than X, you can choose whatever you like) that is impossible to reach using your kingdom. So you claim "Y cannot be reached using my cards" and then someone else gets to use your kingdom, uses perfect shuffle luck and all the time in the world to set up his magic turn, and still cannot reach your number Y.


You have to use the basic victory cards and treasures, but apart from that you can use any kingdom size you like with any number of events and/or landmarks. In case you want to use piles that aren't all the same card (like ruins, or Catapult/Rocks, or knights, or...) use the regular rules to generate a pile, then use multiple copies of the entire pile.
This applies to all the piles, even the ones that usually have a unique feel like prizes or black market cards.
Logged
Join the Dominion League!

funkdoc

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 470
  • Respect: +410
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2016, 05:02:34 pm »
+13

it may help u to imagine donkey kong giving out the challenge

JW

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 534
  • Shuffle iT Username: JW
  • Respect: +878
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2016, 05:08:06 pm »
+6

Kingdom is just Squire. Play 2 for +2 Actions, then 3 for +2 buys. So X=7, Y=8.

Taking an early (and temporary) lead!
Logged

Deadlock39

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1652
  • Respect: +1615
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2016, 05:11:22 pm »
+3

Kingdom is just Squire and Village. Play 4 Villages, then 5 Squires for +2 buys.  X=11, Y=12.

Stealing JW's early (and temporary) lead!

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9162
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +8938
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2016, 05:13:24 pm »
0

Is this thread now a Necro Wars variant with gaining instead of necroing?

JW

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 534
  • Shuffle iT Username: JW
  • Respect: +878
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2016, 05:13:32 pm »
+2

Kingdom is just Squire, Village, and Tactician. Play Tactician the previous turn. Play 10 Villages, then 10 Squires for +2 buys. Tactician gives another +Buy. X=22, Y=23.

Taking the lead back from Deadlock39!
Logged

-Stef-

  • 2012 & 2016 DS Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1521
  • Respect: +3959
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2016, 05:14:20 pm »
+3

Kingdom is just Squire. Play 2 for +2 Actions, then 3 for +2 buys. So X=7, Y=8.

Taking an early (and temporary) lead!

It's amazing!

oh dang, forgot to add meta-rules:
  • You win if your claim stands for 48 hours.
  • If you feel like it you can add your solution in spoiler tags, or you can wait until the 48 hours pass by
Logged
Join the Dominion League!

singletee

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 785
  • Shuffle iT Username: singletee
  • Gold, Silver, Copper, Let's Jam!
  • Respect: +1239
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2016, 05:16:27 pm »
+3

Kingdom is just Squire, Village, and Tactician. Play Tactician the previous turn. Play 10 Villages, then 10 Squires for +2 buys. Tactician gives another +Buy. X=22, Y=23.

Taking the lead back from Deadlock39!

Shamelessly stealing this and adding Travelling Fair to give 5 more buys. X=27, Y=28.

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2571
  • Respect: +2442
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2016, 05:26:20 pm »
+3

Kingdom is just Tactician, Bank, platinum/colony, Travelling Fair. Play tactician the previous turn, play 5 platina, play 5 banks for 25 + 6 + 7 + 8 + 9 + 10 = 65 coins. Buy 32 traveling fairs, and you have your original buy and a tactician buy for 34 buys. X = 34, Y = 12345
Logged

Aleimon Thimble

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 569
  • Shuffle iT Username: Aleimon Thimble
  • Respect: +575
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2016, 05:31:50 pm »
+2

Kingdom: Squire, Tactician / Travelling Fair, Lost Arts, Seaway, Training

Put +Action, +$ and +Buy tokens on Squire. Play Tactician, next turn, draw a hand of 10 Squires. Play all 10 Squires for +Buys, you now have 32 buys and $20. Buy Travelling Fair 10 times. X = 42, Y = 43.
Logged

schadd

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 783
  • Shuffle iT Username: schadd
  • lockjaw
  • Respect: +1099
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2016, 05:35:46 pm »
0

tactician, bank, haunted woods, crossroads, p/c, travelling fair


(x,y) = (75, 420)
Logged
I thought you thought it was a slip because I said 'Jake's partners' instead of 'Roadrunner7671.'
4-5

i'll come runnin, if you love me today

Watno

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2578
  • Shuffle iT Username: Watno
  • Respect: +2681
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2016, 05:43:36 pm »
0

Kingdom is Tactician, Bank, Crown, Gladiator, Capital, Bank, Travelling Fair. Play Tact previous turn, then play Capital->Crown->Crown(x2)->Crown(x2)->Crown(x2)->Capital(x2)->Bank(x2)->Bank(x2)->Bank(x2)->Fortune.
This gives +4 buys, (+6+12+14+16+18)*2=132 coins. Buy 66 Travelling fairs, so +70 buys, +1 from tact, +1 initial, so 72 buys
X=72 Y=73 (probably Y is higher, but if it is, I don't win anway.)
Logged

math

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 281
  • Respect: +175
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2016, 05:44:42 pm »
+1

Kingdom is just Tactician, Bank, platinum/colony, Travelling Fair. Play tactician the previous turn, play 5 platina, play 5 banks for 25 + 6 + 7 + 8 + 9 + 10 = 65 coins. Buy 32 traveling fairs, and you have your original buy and a tactician buy for 34 buys. X = 34, Y = 12345

Shamelessly stealing this, but adding Haven. The previous turn, start with a Tactician in play and play 8 havens that each set aside Bank, then Tactician (discarding your last card). Total of 181 coins for 5 Platina and 13 Banks. Buy 90 Traveling Fairs, plus your original buy and a Tactician buy for 92 buys. X=92, Y=92^92.

This doesn't work; with an infinite Haven pile, you can gain an arbitrarily large number of cards if you build long enough.
Turn A: Play 3 Havens and a Tactician.
Turn B: 13 card hand.  Play 11 Havens and a Tactician.
Turn C: 21 card hand.  Play 19 Havens and a Tactician.
Repeat as long as desired, then draw a bunch of Banks on the last turn.

schadd is currently winning.
Logged

singletee

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 785
  • Shuffle iT Username: singletee
  • Gold, Silver, Copper, Let's Jam!
  • Respect: +1239
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2016, 05:47:34 pm »
0

Tact squire throne embargo tfair x=567 y=568

Derp
« Last Edit: June 22, 2016, 05:52:55 pm by singletee »
Logged

math

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 281
  • Respect: +175
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #14 on: June 22, 2016, 05:50:54 pm »
+3

Tact squire throne embargo tfair x=567 y=568

With infinite Curse and Embargo piles, Embargo doesn't work either.
Logged

Aleimon Thimble

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 569
  • Shuffle iT Username: Aleimon Thimble
  • Respect: +575
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2016, 05:52:51 pm »
0

Kingdom: Crossroads, Haunted Woods, Bank, Tactician / Travelling Fair / Colonies, Shelters

With Necropolis you can get an extra HW in, which gives you a 19 card hand next turn, which gets you up to $200, so 100 Travelling Fairs. X = 102 (can't we just leave out Y?)
Logged

schadd

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 783
  • Shuffle iT Username: schadd
  • lockjaw
  • Respect: +1099
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2016, 05:53:00 pm »
0

tactician, bank, haunted woods, crossroads, p/c, travelling fair


(x,y) = (75, 420)
add royal blacksmith, capital, fortune, remove p/c, x becomes exactly 400 (it's like woooooow)






y thus remains 420
Logged
I thought you thought it was a slip because I said 'Jake's partners' instead of 'Roadrunner7671.'
4-5

i'll come runnin, if you love me today

schadd

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 783
  • Shuffle iT Username: schadd
  • lockjaw
  • Respect: +1099
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2016, 05:54:38 pm »
+2

tactician, bank, haunted woods, crossroads, p/c, travelling fair


(x,y) = (75, 420)
add royal blacksmith, capital, fortune, remove p/c, x becomes exactly 400 (it's like woooooow)






y thus remains 420
shelters, lmao. (487, 69420)
Logged
I thought you thought it was a slip because I said 'Jake's partners' instead of 'Roadrunner7671.'
4-5

i'll come runnin, if you love me today

schadd

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 783
  • Shuffle iT Username: schadd
  • lockjaw
  • Respect: +1099
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #18 on: June 22, 2016, 05:57:29 pm »
0

tactician, bank, haunted woods, crossroads, p/c, travelling fair


(x,y) = (75, 420)
add royal blacksmith, capital, fortune, remove p/c, x becomes exactly 400 (it's like woooooow)






y thus remains 420
shelters, lmao. (487, 69420)
oh god, border village/gain cache. you have to optimize that v. travelling fairs. sounds too much harder than adding numbers together.
Logged
I thought you thought it was a slip because I said 'Jake's partners' instead of 'Roadrunner7671.'
4-5

i'll come runnin, if you love me today

Deadlock39

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1652
  • Respect: +1615
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #19 on: June 22, 2016, 06:02:26 pm »
+2

tactician, bank, haunted woods, crossroads, p/c, travelling fair


(x,y) = (75, 420)
add royal blacksmith, capital, fortune, remove p/c, x becomes exactly 400 (it's like woooooow)






y thus remains 420
shelters, lmao. (487, 69420)
oh god, border village/gain cache. you have to optimize that v. travelling fairs. sounds too much harder than adding numbers together.

But if you add Border Village, we can draw unlimited cards with Royal Blacksmith, so we probably don't have to worry about that one.

Cache is $5 for 3 gains though, so that is cheaper than 3x Travelling Fair, so it is better until you have less than $5.

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2571
  • Respect: +2442
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #20 on: June 22, 2016, 06:23:54 pm »
0

I believe that I can gain 1841274 cards, and the minimum Y has to be higher still. The kingdom isn't optimized at all either. Should I post it? Really worried that I missed a way to get arbitrarily many gains in this kingdom...
Logged

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2571
  • Respect: +2442
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #21 on: June 22, 2016, 06:25:06 pm »
0

Kingdom is just Squire. Play 2 for +2 Actions, then 3 for +2 buys. So X=7, Y=8.

Taking an early (and temporary) lead!

It's amazing!

oh dang, forgot to add meta-rules:
  • You win if your claim stands for 48 hours.
  • If you feel like it you can add your solution in spoiler tags, or you can wait until the 48 hours pass by
I think I'd have a better chance of winning by posting a different solution, because there are lots of trivial ways to improve mine.
Logged

schadd

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 783
  • Shuffle iT Username: schadd
  • lockjaw
  • Respect: +1099
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #22 on: June 22, 2016, 06:26:02 pm »
+1

I believe that I can gain 1841274 cards, and the minimum Y has to be higher still. The kingdom isn't optimized at all either. Should I post it? Really worried that I missed a way to get arbitrarily many gains in this kingdom...
man, we were having a moment
Logged
I thought you thought it was a slip because I said 'Jake's partners' instead of 'Roadrunner7671.'
4-5

i'll come runnin, if you love me today

schadd

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 783
  • Shuffle iT Username: schadd
  • lockjaw
  • Respect: +1099
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #23 on: June 22, 2016, 06:33:25 pm »
0

oh heck. does it have talisman? if not i think talisman would be pretty good
Logged
I thought you thought it was a slip because I said 'Jake's partners' instead of 'Roadrunner7671.'
4-5

i'll come runnin, if you love me today

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2571
  • Respect: +2442
    • View Profile
Re: How high can you go
« Reply #24 on: June 22, 2016, 06:34:40 pm »
+1

oh heck. does it have talisman? if not i think talisman would be pretty good
brb, adding extra digits to my solution.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11  All
 

Page created in 0.085 seconds with 21 queries.