Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]  All

Author Topic: Simple Rules Questions  (Read 12577 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6823
  • Respect: +7665
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #100 on: February 02, 2018, 09:46:47 pm »
0

If the "lose track" rule doesn't apply here, how does it apply to anything?

Lose track has always stopped cards from being moved; and nothing else. Doesn't stop cards from being played; or having their cost checked; or anything like that. It does stop cards from being trashed; but only because the definition of "trash" is "to move to the trash from outside of the trash".
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

brokoli

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1103
  • Respect: +747
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #101 on: February 11, 2018, 06:03:21 pm »
0

Does the game ends after last player's night phase ?
Logged

Mic Qsenoch

  • 2015 DS Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1650
  • Respect: +4170
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #102 on: February 11, 2018, 06:07:46 pm »
+3

Does the game ends after last player's night phase ?
It ends after their cleanup, but yes that's after their night phase.
Logged

LibraryAdventurer

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1086
  • Shuffle iT Username: LibraryAdventurer
  • Respect: +842
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #103 on: February 21, 2018, 06:16:43 pm »
0

There are 6 Ghosts, which is clearly meant to be 1 per player. Does this mean it isn't possible to gain more than one Ghost with Exorcist?
(Is there only supposed to be one Ghost in the game per player, or is it a pile of 6 Ghosts regardless of number of players?)

singletee

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 843
  • Shuffle iT Username: singletee
  • Gold, Silver, Copper, Let's Jam!
  • Respect: +1455
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #104 on: February 21, 2018, 06:24:24 pm »
+1

There are 6 Ghosts, which is clearly meant to be 1 per player. Does this mean it isn't possible to gain more than one Ghost with Exorcist?
(Is there only supposed to be one Ghost in the game per player, or is it a pile of 6 Ghosts regardless of number of players?)

There are always 6 Ghosts. You are not limited to one Ghost. I think the number 6 was chosen so that in a 6-player game with Cemetery, each player would be able to gain one.

Edited to add: Also in 2- and 3-player, the Ghosts can be divided evenly among the players. This is probably slightly more relevant.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2018, 06:57:11 pm by singletee »
Logged

Chappy7

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chappy7
  • Respect: +342
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #105 on: February 21, 2018, 06:24:43 pm »
0

There are 6 Ghosts, which is clearly meant to be 1 per player. Does this mean it isn't possible to gain more than one Ghost with Exorcist?
(Is there only supposed to be one Ghost in the game per player, or is it a pile of 6 Ghosts regardless of number of players?)

I've had 2 Ghosts.
Logged

weesh

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 247
  • MOAR MAGPIES
  • Respect: +337
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #106 on: February 21, 2018, 06:25:48 pm »
0

There are 6 Ghosts, which is clearly meant to be 1 per player. Does this mean it isn't possible to gain more than one Ghost with Exorcist?
(Is there only supposed to be one Ghost in the game per player, or is it a pile of 6 Ghosts regardless of number of players?)

The only stacks that change with the number of players are victory/ruins/curse cards
Logged

Cave-o-sapien

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 784
  • Respect: +1419
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #107 on: February 21, 2018, 07:06:07 pm »
+2

http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=17955.0

Quote
it seemed like it would be nice if some other card got you a Ghost. I tried a few things, and one problem was, there weren't very many Ghosts. You didn't get very many with Exorcist, so there weren't very many; space was limited, even with 500 cards. So the new thing had to not make very many Ghosts. And well an Heirloom was perfect, it caps out at one per player. There were a couple quick versions of it and then it locked in. And got paired with Cemetery because of the Ghost angle and wanting to be on a trasher.
Logged

weesh

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 247
  • MOAR MAGPIES
  • Respect: +337
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #108 on: March 08, 2018, 10:26:01 am »
0

opponent plays a doom against me.
i've got diplomat in hand.

when do i choose to reveal?  before or after I know what the hex will be?
do i have the choice to draw before or after the hex applies (relevant for greed)?
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6823
  • Respect: +7665
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #109 on: March 08, 2018, 10:57:03 am »
+4

opponent plays a doom against me.
i've got diplomat in hand.

when do i choose to reveal?  before or after I know what the hex will be?
do i have the choice to draw before or after the hex applies (relevant for greed)?

You must choose to reveal Diplomat and do the drawing and discarding before the Hex is revealed.

The "First" in Diplomat's text means that you do it right when they've played the attack; before they've followed any instructions on the Attack.

This question used to come up a lot with reactions to attacks such as Pirate Ship and Minion, where the player can choose how to use the card. And in the same way, you must reveal Moat or another reaction before the player makes their choice.

As a side note; first edition Moat didn't have "First", but the rule was still the same. However, the wording was inconsistent with the way other "when" events happened, because "when X happens" in general means "as soon as X is done happening", but "when a player plays an attack" has always been an exception to this. Adding "First" to the reaction wording was meant to clarify this.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2018, 11:02:17 am by GendoIkari »
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]  All
 

Page created in 0.1 seconds with 22 queries.