Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All

Author Topic: Simple Rules Questions  (Read 8076 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jeebus

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 984
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +700
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #75 on: September 03, 2017, 12:12:34 pm »
0

It is exactly and literally what the card says, "at the start of your turn". So after a Militia attack, you'll normally have 8 cards.

J Reggie

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 598
  • Shuffle iT Username: J Reggie
  • Respect: +885
    • View Profile
    • Jeff Rosenthal Music
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #76 on: September 03, 2017, 01:02:08 pm »
0

Compare the wording on tactician with the wording on expedition. They are different; getting militia'd after an expedition leaves you with three cards.

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7832
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8865
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #77 on: September 03, 2017, 01:59:24 pm »
0

Hence why it's usually not a good idea to venture on an Expedition if Ghost Ships are prowling the seas.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

weesh

  • Alchemist
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
  • MOAR MAGPIES
  • Respect: +73
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #78 on: September 14, 2017, 10:39:59 am »
0

is a -1 card token completely punked by "draw to X" like library?  or will you only draw to X-1?
Logged

Jeebus

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 984
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +700
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #79 on: September 14, 2017, 10:41:34 am »
+5

is a -1 card token completely punked by "draw to X" like library?  or will you only draw to X-1?

The former. Library will draw you up to 7.

ConMan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1210
  • Respect: +1380
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #80 on: September 14, 2017, 07:29:31 pm »
+4

is a -1 card token completely punked by "draw to X" like library?  or will you only draw to X-1?

The former. Library will draw you up to 7.
And it will clear your -1 Card token at the same time (or technically it will do that first).
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6410
  • Respect: +7012
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #81 on: September 16, 2017, 12:05:05 pm »
+1

is a -1 card token completely punked by "draw to X" like library?  or will you only draw to X-1?

The former. Library will draw you up to 7.
And it will clear your -1 Card token at the same time (or technically it will do that first).

Though if you have 7 or more cards when you play Library, nothing will happen; you won't get rid of the token.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

rubikbeggar

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Shuffle iT Username: mistgun
  • Respect: +9
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #82 on: September 16, 2017, 02:27:02 pm »
+1

And that's normal in an algorithmic sense of the game :
while player.hand.size < 7:
    player.draw()

And if player.hand.size ≥ 7, it does nothing.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2017, 02:28:05 pm by rubikbeggar »
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6410
  • Respect: +7012
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #83 on: September 16, 2017, 09:29:16 pm »
0

And that's normal in an algorithmic sense of the game :
while player.hand.size < 7:
    player.draw()

And if player.hand.size ≥ 7, it does nothing.

Correct, though unfortunately for computer science people, the card uses "until", which could imply the much less common "do until" loop:

Do
    player.draw()
Loop Until player.hand.size = 7

This is of course wrong, and if it were right, then playing Library while you already had 7 or more cards would draw your deck.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

crj

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 341
  • Respect: +433
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #84 on: September 17, 2017, 02:56:55 pm »
0

Gosh. By a strictoverly-pedantic reading of the card text (old or new) and FAQ, Library draws your entire deck if you play it with eight cards in hand. I'd not noticed that before.
Logged

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6698
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +8993
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #85 on: September 18, 2017, 11:14:47 am »
0

Gosh. By a strictoverly-pedantic reading of the card text (old or new) and FAQ, Library draws your entire deck if you play it with eight cards in hand. I'd not noticed that before.

No. In Dominion-land, if you have 8 or more cards in your hand, you have 7 cards in your hand. You just also have additional cards. Unless it says "exactly", there is an implied "at least".
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6410
  • Respect: +7012
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #86 on: September 18, 2017, 11:25:26 am »
+4

Gosh. By a strictoverly-pedantic reading of the card text (old or new) and FAQ, Library draws your entire deck if you play it with eight cards in hand. I'd not noticed that before.

No. In Dominion-land, if you have 8 or more cards in your hand, you have 7 cards in your hand. You just also have additional cards. Unless it says "exactly", there is an implied "at least".

How many months of the year have 28 days?
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

infangthief

  • Alchemist
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
  • Shuffle iT Username: infangthief
  • Respect: +100
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #87 on: September 18, 2017, 11:30:09 am »
+7

Gosh. By a strictoverly-pedantic reading of the card text (old or new) and FAQ, Library draws your entire deck if you play it with eight cards in hand. I'd not noticed that before.

No. In Dominion-land, if you have 8 or more cards in your hand, you have 7 cards in your hand. You just also have additional cards. Unless it says "exactly", there is an implied "at least".

How many months of the year have 28 days?

3.

Well, I mean any number between 1 and 12 is a correct answer to this isn't it? If 12 months have 28 days, then 3 months do...
Or did you mean "Exactly how many months of the year have 28 days?"
« Last Edit: September 18, 2017, 11:32:44 am by infangthief »
Logged

crj

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 341
  • Respect: +433
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #88 on: September 18, 2017, 10:01:42 pm »
+3

No. In Dominion-land, if you have 8 or more cards in your hand, you have 7 cards in your hand.
...except for in the contexts where you have 7 cards in your hand if you have 7 or fewer? Militia's "Each other player discards down to 3 cards in his hand." by a similar (again, let me stress, pedantic) reading might be construed as meaning people have to keep discarding until they have exactly 3 cards in hand, or they can discard no more because their hand is empty. It would certainly make Militia a more powerful attack!
Logged

infangthief

  • Alchemist
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
  • Shuffle iT Username: infangthief
  • Respect: +100
    • View Profile
Re: Simple Rules Questions
« Reply #89 on: September 19, 2017, 01:40:40 am »
+3

No. In Dominion-land, if you have 8 or more cards in your hand, you have 7 cards in your hand.
...except for in the contexts where you have 7 cards in your hand if you have 7 or fewer? Militia's "Each other player discards down to 3 cards in his hand." by a similar (again, let me stress, pedantic) reading might be construed as meaning people have to keep discarding until they have exactly 3 cards in hand, or they can discard no more because their hand is empty. It would certainly make Militia a more powerful attack!

Or alternatively a much weaker attack? Yes boss, I have discarded down and now I have 3 cards in hand... and these other ones.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All
 

Page created in 0.069 seconds with 21 queries.