Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Defiled Shrine / Gathering / Temple interaction  (Read 1549 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

crj

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 992
  • Respect: +1075
    • View Profile
Defiled Shrine / Gathering / Temple interaction
« on: June 07, 2016, 01:30:40 pm »
+2

I think, as usual, the correct behaviour can be determined by a literal reading of the rules, but it feels a bit peculiar so I thought I'd check.

Defiled Shrine's setup step only puts 2VP on each non-Gathering Action Supply pile, but gaining an Action moves VP from its pile to the Shrine even if it is a Gathering, yes? When there's a Defiled Shrine around, you can gain a Farmer's Market and thereby postpone playing existing FMs trashing themselves for VP? Curious interaction!

So then, when you gain a Temple, you take all the VP from the Temple Supply pile, and also move 1VP from the Temple Supply pile to the Defiled Shrine? And, as usual, you get to choose which happens first?

Presumably you choose to collect VP before failing to move one to the Shrine. Unless you're Possessed. Or engaged in some nightmarish metagame where you want to give Alice an incentive to gain a Curse before Bob does...
Logged

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9145
    • View Profile
Re: Defiled Shrine / Gathering / Temple interaction
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2016, 01:47:28 pm »
+2

If you're possessed, you probably still (get forced to) choose to take VP tokens for yourself first, since your possessor gains those instead of you.
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5137
  • Respect: +21063
    • View Profile
Re: Defiled Shrine / Gathering / Temple interaction
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2016, 04:38:47 pm »
+1

Defiled Shrine's setup step only puts 2VP on each non-Gathering Action Supply pile, but gaining an Action moves VP from its pile to the Shrine even if it is a Gathering, yes? When there's a Defiled Shrine around, you can gain a Farmer's Market and thereby postpone playing existing FMs trashing themselves for VP? Curious interaction!

So then, when you gain a Temple, you take all the VP from the Temple Supply pile, and also move 1VP from the Temple Supply pile to the Defiled Shrine? And, as usual, you get to choose which happens first?
Yes.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7372
  • Respect: +8191
    • View Profile
Re: Defiled Shrine / Gathering / Temple interaction
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2016, 04:42:07 pm »
+1

Also note the interaction with Aqueduct here; as Aqueduct puts VP tokens on Silver and Gold piles. And if you have Defiled Shrine, Aqueduct, and Crown, then Defiled Shrine will place VP tokens on Crown, which will cause Crown to interact with Aqueduct.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.105 seconds with 23 queries.