Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 22 23 [24] 25  All

Author Topic: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread  (Read 70932 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Commodore Chuckles

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1059
  • Shuffle iT Username: Commodore Chuckles
  • Respect: +1363
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #575 on: June 23, 2019, 01:30:38 pm »
+3

Opponent did this, but it was still interesting:

j plays a King's Court.
j plays a Band of Misfits.
j plays a Farmers' Market.
j gets +1 Buy.
j adds 1 VP to the Farmers' Market pile.
j gets +$4.
j plays a Farmers' Market again.
j gets +1 Buy.
j takes 4 VP from the Farmers' Market pile.
j trashes a Farmers' Market.
j plays a Band of Misfits a third time.
j plays a Swindler.
j gets +$2.

I assume Band of Misfits could change into something else because it left play.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8073
  • Respect: +8863
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #576 on: June 23, 2019, 07:54:15 pm »
+1

Opponent did this, but it was still interesting:

j plays a King's Court.
j plays a Band of Misfits.
j plays a Farmers' Market.
j gets +1 Buy.
j adds 1 VP to the Farmers' Market pile.
j gets +$4.
j plays a Farmers' Market again.
j gets +1 Buy.
j takes 4 VP from the Farmers' Market pile.
j trashes a Farmers' Market.
j plays a Band of Misfits a third time.
j plays a Swindler.
j gets +$2.

I assume Band of Misfits could change into something else because it left play.

Yeah itís the classic BoM + Throne Room + Feast question basically. If you Throne Room a BoM normally, then Throne Room plays the BoM a second time except itís not a BoM anymore, so you canít choose a new card; youíre just playing that card. But if you use it on a one-shot, then when you play it again itís back to being a BoM again, so you choose a new card when you play BoM.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

faust

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2563
  • Shuffle iT Username: faust
  • Respect: +3537
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #577 on: June 25, 2019, 10:19:42 am »
+10

Nasty attack combo:


f plays a Storyteller.
f gets +1 Coin (from Training).
f gets +1 Action.
f gets +$1.
f plays a Relic. (+$2)
L moves -Card token to Draw Pile.
[...]
f plays a Legionary.
f gets +$3.
f reveals a Gold.
L discards 2 other cards and a Copper.
L skips a draw (because of Relic).
L moves -Card token to Token Limbo.
f plays a Militia.
f gets +$2.
f plays a Relic. (+$2)
L moves -Card token to Draw Pile.
Logged
Since the number of points is within a constant factor of the number of city quarters, in the long run we can get (4 - ε) ↑↑ n points in n turns for any ε > 0.

Chappy7

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 461
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chappy7
  • Respect: +496
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #578 on: June 25, 2019, 01:14:51 pm »
0

Nasty attack combo:


f plays a Storyteller.
f gets +1 Coin (from Training).
f gets +1 Action.
f gets +$1.
f plays a Relic. (+$2)
L moves -Card token to Draw Pile.
[...]
f plays a Legionary.
f gets +$3.
f reveals a Gold.
L discards 2 other cards and a Copper.
L skips a draw (because of Relic).
L moves -Card token to Token Limbo.
f plays a Militia.
f gets +$2.
f plays a Relic. (+$2)
L moves -Card token to Draw Pile.

Wow that hurts.
Logged

Commodore Chuckles

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1059
  • Shuffle iT Username: Commodore Chuckles
  • Respect: +1363
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #579 on: July 05, 2019, 12:41:57 am »
+1

C plays a Seer.
C draws a Copper.
C gets +1 Action.
C reveals 3 Curses.
C topdecks 3 Curses.
Logged

pubby

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 329
  • Respect: +512
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #580 on: July 25, 2019, 10:33:01 pm »
+3

Ruin pile had 7 ruined markets  8)
Logged

Gherald

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 450
  • Awe: +35
  • Respect: +888
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #581 on: August 03, 2019, 12:55:59 am »
+14

10 points ahead with one province remaining:
Quote
Turn 20 - Gherald
G plays an Ambassador.
G reveals a Province.
B reacts with a Trader.
B gains a Silver.
Logged
thank you for participating in this enrichment center activity

boris

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Respect: +30
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #582 on: August 04, 2019, 01:43:47 pm »
+4

Today I trashed a Province with Catapult reaching 8$ to grab the last Province and win with a one-point lead because of the curse from the Catapult.

It felt weird trashing a Province with Catapult.
Logged

spineflu

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 200
  • Play a spineflu from your hand twice.
  • Respect: +65
    • View Profile
    • my instagram, where i paint things
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #583 on: August 05, 2019, 09:44:15 am »
+3

Today I trashed a Province with Catapult reaching 8$ to grab the last Province and win with a one-point lead because of the curse from the Catapult.

It felt weird trashing a Province with Catapult.

thematically, it must have been an obscenely large catapult.
Logged
sometime-maintainer of the Weekly Design Contest trello

Commodore Chuckles

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1059
  • Shuffle iT Username: Commodore Chuckles
  • Respect: +1363
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #584 on: August 05, 2019, 08:22:37 pm »
0

Today I trashed a Province with Catapult reaching 8$ to grab the last Province and win with a one-point lead because of the curse from the Catapult.

It felt weird trashing a Province with Catapult.

thematically, it must have been an obscenely large catapult.

Using Catapult on Estates is already a regular thing, so... :P
Logged

Gherald

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 450
  • Awe: +35
  • Respect: +888
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #585 on: August 08, 2019, 05:25:46 pm »
+5

Sewers and Market Square on a board where the only trasher was...Old Witch ::)
Logged
thank you for participating in this enrichment center activity

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1462
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1713
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #586 on: August 24, 2019, 04:43:48 pm »
+4

inheritance plus capitalism:

e plays an Ironmonger.
    e draws a Copper.
    e gets +1 Action.
    e reveals an Estate.
    e topdecks an Estate.
    e gets +1 Action.
    e gets +$1.
    e draws an Estate.
Logged

tim17

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
  • Respect: +189
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #587 on: August 27, 2019, 10:29:27 pm »
+18

Started a turn with 7 captains in play and played them all as leprechauns.
Logged

Wizard_Amul

  • Alchemist
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
  • Respect: +30
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #588 on: August 27, 2019, 10:48:57 pm »
0

Started a turn with 7 captains in play and played them all as leprechauns.

Wow, that is a really great start to a turn. How many of the wishes and gold did you draw that turn?
Logged

tim17

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
  • Respect: +189
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #589 on: August 28, 2019, 01:12:36 am »
0

Started a turn with 7 captains in play and played them all as leprechauns.

Wow, that is a really great start to a turn. How many of the wishes and gold did you draw that turn?

I don't think I bothered getting around to them, I had a pileout anyway. Lord Voldebot wasn't putting up much of a fight.
Logged

Commodore Chuckles

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1059
  • Shuffle iT Username: Commodore Chuckles
  • Respect: +1363
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #590 on: August 30, 2019, 09:08:31 pm »
+1

C plays an Artisan.
C gains a Cursed Village.
C takes Haunting.
C receives Haunting.
C discards Haunting.
C topdecks a Cursed Village.
Logged

NoMoreFun

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1510
  • Respect: +1105
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #591 on: September 08, 2019, 01:56:10 am »
+6

I was able to afford a Province to win the game after a Black Market I played revealed a Patron (giving +1 Coffers)
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8073
  • Respect: +8863
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #592 on: September 08, 2019, 10:42:00 am »
0

I was able to afford a Province to win the game after a Black Market I played revealed a Patron (giving +1 Coffers)

I donít think I would have realized that that actually works; because the Patron isnít yours. But I see that itís no different than using Lurker to trash a Fortress thatís in the supply.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

ipofanes

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1388
  • Shuffle iT Username: ipofanes
  • Respect: +714
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #593 on: September 09, 2019, 03:34:04 am »
+1

I was able to afford a Province to win the game after a Black Market I played revealed a Patron (giving +1 Coffers)

I donít think I would have realized that that actually works; because the Patron isnít yours. But I see that itís no different than using Lurker to trash a Fortress thatís in the supply.

In the case of Lurker/Fortress you have to actively try it out while in this case it's something that just happens to you sooner or later.
Logged
Lord Rattington denies my undo requests

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2975
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3806
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #594 on: September 09, 2019, 04:06:49 am »
+4

This almost happened in a game I played, so it's definitely semi-interesting:

A game with Fleet and Experiment, ending with only two piles empty, neither of them Province or Colony.
Logged

ehunt

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1462
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1713
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #595 on: September 21, 2019, 01:19:08 pm »
+5

p plays a Treasure Hunter.
  p gets +1 Action.
  p gets +$1.
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
p plays a Treasure Hunter again. (Citadel)
  p gets +1 Action.
  p gets +$1.
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
  p gains a Silver.
    p gets +1 Coffers. (Guildhall)
« Last Edit: September 21, 2019, 01:21:18 pm by ehunt »
Logged

Commodore Chuckles

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1059
  • Shuffle iT Username: Commodore Chuckles
  • Respect: +1363
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #596 on: September 22, 2019, 09:00:27 pm »
+4

C plays an Ironworks.
C gains a Cemetery.
C trashes a Curse and 3 Coppers.
C draws a Watchtower.
C plays a Watchtower.
C draws a Fishing Village and a Dame Anna.
C shuffles their deck.
C draws a Copper, a Cemetery and a Haunted Mirror.
C plays a Dame Anna.
C trashes a Cemetery and a Haunted Mirror.
C discards a Fishing Village.
C gains a Ghost.
Logged

pubby

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 329
  • Respect: +512
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #597 on: September 24, 2019, 09:27:55 am »
+1

Play artisan, gain pillage
Play pillage, discard opponent's 1st city
Play artisan, gain soothsayer
Play soothsayer, opponent draws 1
Play artisan, gain pillage
Play pillage, discard opponent's second city
Opponent resigns
Logged

ipofanes

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1388
  • Shuffle iT Username: ipofanes
  • Respect: +714
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #598 on: September 26, 2019, 01:54:04 am »
0

The day before yesterday, after the second shuffle in turn 5, I held the cards in hand I had bought through turns 1 to 4.

Logged
Lord Rattington denies my undo requests

vishwathg

  • Navigator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
  • Respect: +87
    • View Profile
Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« Reply #599 on: September 26, 2019, 02:24:04 pm »
0

Opponent did this, but it was still interesting:

j plays a King's Court.
j plays a Band of Misfits.
j plays a Farmers' Market.
j gets +1 Buy.
j adds 1 VP to the Farmers' Market pile.
j gets +$4.
j plays a Farmers' Market again.
j gets +1 Buy.
j takes 4 VP from the Farmers' Market pile.
j trashes a Farmers' Market.
j plays a Band of Misfits a third time.
j plays a Swindler.
j gets +$2.

I assume Band of Misfits could change into something else because it left play.

Yeah itís the classic BoM + Throne Room + Feast question basically. If you Throne Room a BoM normally, then Throne Room plays the BoM a second time except itís not a BoM anymore, so you canít choose a new card; youíre just playing that card. But if you use it on a one-shot, then when you play it again itís back to being a BoM again, so you choose a new card when you play BoM.

This is obsolete because errata, right?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 22 23 [24] 25  All
 

Page created in 0.088 seconds with 21 queries.