Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7  All

Author Topic: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles  (Read 35064 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Chris is me

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2682
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +3346
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #125 on: May 19, 2016, 01:35:21 pm »
+3

I was playing a game with some proxy cards and came upon an interesting question. Someone had a hand of Crown, Gold, and Fortune. They Crowned Gold and then played Fortune. Crown doubled their money, does that mean Fortune doesn't trigger?

I'm 99% sure the answer to this is "Fortune does trigger" and the ability refers to cards that specifically double your current number of coins. Is this true?

Yes, Fortune triggers.
My question is, can you Crown Fortune? My assumption is no, because Fortune only allows you to double your coin once. Is that correct?

You can Crown Fortune, but you don't get more money than just playing Fortune normally.

Hey, at least you get another Buy this way! That sometimes matters!
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

pm me if you wanna do stuff for the blog

they/them

MattTV

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
  • Respect: +13
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #126 on: May 28, 2016, 07:59:50 pm »
+1

I think the split piles are my favorite of all the previews. The art could be a little better but I like the interaction between the cards.  I know I'll be digging for that fortune every game it's up. I mean you can't just ignore a 16 dollar treasure you don't even have to pay full amount for up front. That's one thing I've noticed with a lot of the cards shown is that there's more of a temptation to empty out the piles than racing to empty the province/colony piles. It motivates the alternative 3-pile ending which is always a plus; makes it different. Can't wait to see the rest :).
Logged

MattTV

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
  • Respect: +13
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #127 on: May 28, 2016, 08:02:54 pm »
0

BTW lets say i played 3 highways and used altar to gain a fortune (since it has a normal price as well) would I accumulate the debt of 8 dollars just from gaining that fortune or would I get it for free
Logged

Beyond Awesome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2934
  • Shuffle iT Username: Beyond Awesome
  • Respect: +2442
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #128 on: May 28, 2016, 08:10:50 pm »
+7

You can't gain it this way since debt is also in the cost. It's like cards that have potion in the cost.
Logged

Deadlock39

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1722
  • Respect: +1745
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #129 on: May 28, 2016, 10:41:48 pm »
+6

If you play Hero, and gain a Fortune, you do not gain the debt. It is only gained when buying

MattTV

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
  • Respect: +13
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #130 on: May 28, 2016, 11:38:57 pm »
0

You can't gain it this way since debt is also in the cost. It's like cards that have potion in the cost.
If you play Hero, and gain a Fortune, you do not gain the debt. It is only gained when buying
lol I'm trying to discern which one of you guys are right but I would guess that you can still gain a fortune through altar if it still has a normal price with the debt price as well. I mean i know you can't gain a card like royal blacksmith since it just debt but I don't know if the same applies to a mixed price card.
Logged

J Reggie

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 705
  • Shuffle iT Username: J Reggie
  • Respect: +1121
    • View Profile
    • Jeff Rosenthal Music
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #131 on: May 28, 2016, 11:50:21 pm »
+5

You can't gain it this way since debt is also in the cost. It's like cards that have potion in the cost.
If you play Hero, and gain a Fortune, you do not gain the debt. It is only gained when buying
lol I'm trying to discern which one of you guys are right but I would guess that you can still gain a fortune through altar if it still has a normal price with the debt price as well. I mean i know you can't gain a card like royal blacksmith since it just debt but I don't know if the same applies to a mixed price card.

They're both right. You can't gain a Fortune with Altar just like you can't gain a Familiar with Altar. You can gain a Fortune with Hero just like you can gain a Phil Stone with Hero. You don't get debt by gaining the Fortune with Hero.

MattTV

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
  • Respect: +13
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #132 on: May 29, 2016, 12:11:06 am »
+2

You can't gain it this way since debt is also in the cost. It's like cards that have potion in the cost.
If you play Hero, and gain a Fortune, you do not gain the debt. It is only gained when buying
lol I'm trying to discern which one of you guys are right but I would guess that you can still gain a fortune through altar if it still has a normal price with the debt price as well. I mean i know you can't gain a card like royal blacksmith since it just debt but I don't know if the same applies to a mixed price card.

They're both right. You can't gain a Fortune with Altar just like you can't gain a Familiar with Altar. You can gain a Fortune with Hero just like you can gain a Phil Stone with Hero. You don't get debt by gaining the Fortune with Hero.
Ohh I see so hero can gain it cause price doesn't matter but when price does come up everything else fails to gain it. alright that answers my question. thanks J Reggie.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1439
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1031
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #133 on: May 30, 2016, 08:51:42 pm »
+2

Ohh I see so hero can gain it cause price doesn't matter but when price does come up everything else fails to gain it. alright that answers my question. thanks J Reggie.

Royal Blacksmith's cost is $0+8D, so with 5 Highways in play you could Expand a Royal Blacksmith into a Fortune...

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8007
  • Respect: +8800
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #134 on: May 31, 2016, 12:36:51 pm »
+2

I was playing a game with some proxy cards and came upon an interesting question. Someone had a hand of Crown, Gold, and Fortune. They Crowned Gold and then played Fortune. Crown doubled their money, does that mean Fortune doesn't trigger?

I'm 99% sure the answer to this is "Fortune does trigger" and the ability refers to cards that specifically double your current number of coins. Is this true?

Yeah, the (faulty) logic that leads to Fortune not triggering would also say that if you play 2 Coppers and then Fortune, that Fortune does nothing, because the second Copper "doubled your money" by taking it from 1 to 2.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Dominionaer

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
  • Respect: +38
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #135 on: June 01, 2016, 05:02:10 am »
+1

I was playing a game with some proxy cards and came upon an interesting question. Someone had a hand of Crown, Gold, and Fortune. They Crowned Gold and then played Fortune. Crown doubled their money, does that mean Fortune doesn't trigger?

I'm 99% sure the answer to this is "Fortune does trigger" and the ability refers to cards that specifically double your current number of coins. Is this true?

Yeah, the (faulty) logic that leads to Fortune not triggering would also say that if you play 2 Coppers and then Fortune, that Fortune does nothing, because the second Copper "doubled your money" by taking it from 1 to 2.
Coppersmith!
Logged

Doom_Shark

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 325
  • Shuffle iT Username: Doom_Shark
  • Respect: +284
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #136 on: June 02, 2016, 12:43:12 am »
+2

I'm guessing I can't play Actions in my Buy phase if my +1 Action token is on Rocks?  But if I buy a Villa, I will have that extra Action when I revert to my Action phase?
Same goes for fortune, and the only thing so far about this card is how much the art sucks.
Logged
"I swear to drunk I'm not officer, God."
Generation 33 The first time you see this, copy it, add 1 to the generation number, and add it to your signature. (On any forum) Social experiment.

Elestan

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Respect: +425
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #137 on: June 02, 2016, 03:19:05 am »
+4

Yeah, the (faulty) logic that leads to Fortune not triggering would also say that if you play 2 Coppers and then Fortune, that Fortune does nothing, because the second Copper "doubled your money" by taking it from 1 to 2.
Coppersmith!

Coppersmith does not double your money.  It makes Copper yield +$1.
Logged

Witherweaver

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6476
  • Shuffle iT Username: Witherweaver
  • Respect: +7838
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #138 on: June 02, 2016, 05:36:34 pm »
+3

Playing no $ generation during your Action phase (with no Durations) also doubles your money!
Logged

trivialknot

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 682
  • Respect: +1053
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #139 on: June 02, 2016, 07:17:39 pm »
+4

I just realized that Gladiator (as well as several other preview cards) showcase the new use of "they" pronouns.  People in my household are pretty hyped about the pronoun change.
Logged

Witherweaver

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6476
  • Shuffle iT Username: Witherweaver
  • Respect: +7838
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #140 on: June 02, 2016, 07:27:03 pm »
+10

I just realized that Gladiator (as well as several other preview cards) showcase the new use of "they" pronouns.  People in my household are pretty hyped about the pronoun change.

I bet those bastards are.
Logged

Chris is me

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2682
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +3346
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #141 on: June 03, 2016, 12:08:59 pm »
0

I just realized that Gladiator (as well as several other preview cards) showcase the new use of "they" pronouns.  People in my household are pretty hyped about the pronoun change.

This change has made pretty much everyone I play Dominion with who isn't male (actually, the majority of people I play Dominion with) very happy.
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

pm me if you wanna do stuff for the blog

they/them

Witherweaver

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6476
  • Shuffle iT Username: Witherweaver
  • Respect: +7838
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #142 on: June 03, 2016, 01:00:42 pm »
+3

I just realized that Gladiator (as well as several other preview cards) showcase the new use of "they" pronouns.  People in my household are pretty hyped about the pronoun change.

This change has made pretty much everyone I play Dominion with who isn't male (actually, the majority of people I play Dominion with) very happy.

I bet those bastards are.
Logged

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11177
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +11858
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #143 on: June 03, 2016, 03:39:54 pm »
+1

I just realized that Gladiator (as well as several other preview cards) showcase the new use of "they" pronouns.  People in my household are pretty hyped about the pronoun change.

This change has made pretty much everyone I play Dominion with who isn't male (actually, the majority of people I play Dominion with) very happy.

Didn't make any males happy?
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The Twitch channel where I stream DominionThe YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's albums for free

Eran of Arcadia

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 266
  • Respect: +488
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #144 on: June 03, 2016, 03:46:25 pm »
+1

I'm indifferent, and so's my wife.
Logged

drsteelhammer

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1526
  • Shuffle iT Username: drsteelhammer
  • Respect: +1462
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #145 on: June 03, 2016, 03:47:56 pm »
+1

I just realized that Gladiator (as well as several other preview cards) showcase the new use of "they" pronouns.  People in my household are pretty hyped about the pronoun change.

This change has made pretty much everyone I play Dominion with who isn't male (actually, the majority of people I play Dominion with) very happy.

Didn't make any males happy?

Only the bastards
Logged
Join the Dominion League!

There is no bad shuffle that can not be surmounted by scorn.

Seprix

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5590
  • Respect: +3605
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #146 on: June 03, 2016, 05:27:20 pm »
0

One bastard goes in, and another comes out.
Logged
3/4ths retired

dbclick

  • Scout
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Shuffle iT Username: dbclick
  • Respect: +57
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #147 on: June 05, 2016, 02:12:06 am »
+5

Does Catapult's Treasure type check happen before or after the trashed card lands in the trash? (since an Estate inheriting Crown would revert back to a non-Treasure once in the trash)
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5378
  • Respect: +21879
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #148 on: June 05, 2016, 02:18:02 am »
+2

Does Catapult's Treasure type check happen before or after the trashed card lands in the trash? (since an Estate inheriting Crown would revert back to a non-Treasure once in the trash)
After.
Logged

mail-mi

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1184
  • Shuffle iT Username: mail-mi
  • Come play some Forum Mafia with us!
  • Respect: +1219
    • View Profile
Re: Empires Previews #2: Split Piles
« Reply #149 on: June 05, 2016, 03:00:50 am »
+6

Does Catapult's Treasure type check happen before or after the trashed card lands in the trash? (since an Estate inheriting Crown would revert back to a non-Treasure once in the trash)

Of all the obscure rules questions i have seen, this wins the title of most obscure. Congratulations.
Logged
I currently imagine mail-mi wearing a dark trenchcoat and a bowler hat, hunched over a bit, toothpick in his mouth, holding a gun in his pocket.  One bead of sweat trickling down his nose.

'And what is it that ye shall hope for? Behold I say unto you that ye shall have hope through the atonement of Christ and the power of his resurrection, to be raised unto life eternal, and this because of your faith in him according to the promise." - Moroni 7:41, the Book of Mormon
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7  All
 

Page created in 0.094 seconds with 24 queries.